Fiction logo

Roulette Russe

A game of chance. Of life and... well, you know...

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
8
Wikimedia Commons: Still from the film The Night Club, 1925, photographer unknown

Midnight. Spinning the chamber, my doubts must have been amplified by the tense expression on my face, though I tried to disguise my disquiet. I thrust the barrel end against my temple, looking my antagonist directly in the eye. I squeezed the trigger – CLICK!

Nodding, a barely perceptible, deathly grin briefly animating his face, he took the revolver from my hand. I would have liked my grip to have been steady, but I could feel it waver, as could my opponent.

Pointing the weapon at his own frontal lobe, he immediately pulled back on the trigger – CLICK! Before I could take the gun from his hand, he drew it back, looking me directly in the eye.

"We could end this now, you and I," he said. "Save a life for the Emperor. For the Fatherland. Let us agree to end our dispute and shake hands."

"Allez au Diable!"

I wrenched the iron instrument from his unwilling grasp to take it into my own right hand. Looking again directly into his gaze, I lifted the revolver to the side of my head, roughly in line with my eyes, and hesitated but a moment. It was enough to confirm his suspicion of my wavering determination. I hesitated no more – CLICK!

Three chambers tested. Three left to try. Again, he took the weapon and, touching the barrel to his temple, squeezed the trigger without a moment's hesitation – CLICK!

We locked gaze. I reached forward but he again held back.

"This is the final round," he said. "We have both proved our honor and our courage. Let us end it now, I implore you." He said it without fear and without hesitation. He spoke as if genuinely concerned that this abysmal affair should not end in bloodshed.

I too, now felt calm. Resigned to whatever fate the revolver had waiting for us. If the ball and powder were in the next chamber, he would win and I would die. If the next chamber was empty and the live round in the final chamber, we would know before he took the weapon. I had no doubt he would finish the duel and his own life without hesitation. Though I hated the sight of him, I could not impugn his honor or his courage in any way. If I survived the next pull on the trigger, his death was certain. If I died, it would no longer matter.

"There is only one way to end it," I said, with finality.

This was it. With obvious reluctance he held the pistol out to me, grip first. I took it firmly and, glancing up at the clock as I pressed the barrel one last time into my forehead, noticed the minute hand wavering, before shuddering over to the first minute of the new morning. I squeezed the trigger at that same moment.

CLICK!

Looking across the table I see him jump at the sound. See his face dissolve into a mass of tears. Was I wrong? Was he now scared to play out his part to the end?

"Oh Claude!" he says. Oh Claude, Claude, Claude... Mon frère... Mon beau petit frère... Would that I could take your place. Would that the fatal chamber had been mine."

I rise up above him. What can he mean? What is he talking about?

Following his tearful gaze, I see a man sprawled forward before my horror-stricken brother, Antoine. The man's cranium is shattered, a sticky red and gray ooze spreading across the surface of the table.

I look down upon my own

blood and brain-spattered corpse.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

thrillerShort Story
8

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    I don't like those clicks....terrible game, but very well written!

  • Whoaaaa, this was so fast-paced, intense and suspenseful! I held my breath so many times as I was reading this! Loved the shocking ending!

  • John Cox18 days ago

    Very suspenseful! Reminds me of the Incident at Owl Creek.

  • Very interesting. Well written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.