Fiction logo

Time to contemplate

Epilogue: Telltale Crimson Trail

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 27 days ago Updated 27 days ago 2 min read
5
Detail from photo by Beat Ruest via Wiki Commons

Sitting in the interview room I was surprised that Stevie had agreed to see me. She arranged for the private chat on the pretext of 'further investigations.'

Read Telltale Crimson Trail from the beginning

"Wanted to say how sorry..."

"Sorry you got caught!"

"I just didn't think it through, Stevie."

"You can call me Detective Nichols."

"I really wish I knew how to say how much I regretted what I put you though."

"Yeah, me too! I don't have all day."

"It was all too much. After Julie died and then my little brother got caught up in the whole drugs shebang..."

"Guess it runs in the family."

I let that go.

"He was hijacked for a bag of coke. Couldn't pay it back. They made an example of him. McCafferty was the executioner. He took his time finishing it... But you know all of that."

"Yeah, I read it, after I had put two and to together. Where did you think it would get you... your little revenge killing?"

"Like I said, I hadn't thought it through."

"You'd thought it through enough to cave McCafferty's head in and then try to make it look like another gangland killing. Whoever heard of a gang execution by snowball?"

"Yeah, well..."

"And then you tried to get yourself shot by the patrol boys. What kind of a warped mind wants to pass on that kind of responsibility?

"Will you visit me?"

"Go to hell, inmate."

"I will," I said to her departing back, as the guard let her out.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Telltale Crimson Trail is a crime thriller, written in 12 x 250-word episodes. Part 1 was originally written for a Vocal Challenge but the story became a challenge in itself, when several other creators agreed to contribute their own alternative continuation storyline, to see where the action might lead. Two of these alternatives were awarded top stories. I will shortly be announcing the winner of that competition. You can see each of these entries, alongside the original 12-part run here: Crimson Web

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

thrillerSeriesPsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction
5

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran26 days ago

    You already know that I don't like Stevie. This made my hatred for her even more hahahahahaha.

  • Mark Graham26 days ago

    In a way this is a good way to end a story.

  • Lamar Wiggins26 days ago

    Well... Stevie is a b*tch 😅😅😅. I know it's her job to uphold the law and now sees him a criminal, but her responses are brutal. I guess he deserves it on some level. I enjoyed the epilogue, Ray!

  • Mackenzie Davis27 days ago

    Awesome epilogue! Looking forward to the winners post! This was such a fun series, Ray.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.