Fiction logo

Rhapsody View Farm

A Quiet Winter's Day

By C. H. RichardPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
17
Rhapsody View Farm
Photo by Robert Thiemann on Unsplash

Squeak! The screen door blew open. It then smashed shut with a gust from the Nor’easter. I caught sight my wife’s eyes roll, her head turned in disgust to remind me that it was another thing, I had procrastinated fixing in our forty-two years of marriage. I looked out the kitchen window to deflect.

“Shouldn’t be any You Tubers out in this weather!”

She stood stirring beef stew. The aroma filled the old farmhouse which had been called Rhapsody View Farm by some on-line celebrity. Since then, we had hundreds of people flocking to take pictures, blocking the road, and asking where the public bathroom was. All kinds of weather. Mostly young fools, but today it was just me and my sweet Ellenore.

I looked out the window again. “Are you kidding me?” Off in the distance there was a what do they say? GenZ? Phone pointed at the house in the middle of a blizzard.

“You want bread?”

Squeak! The screen door slammed.

Ellenore threw her spoon on the stove. “That’s it!”

“What?”

I watched her walk the hall and grab the shotgun!

“No! He's just a kid!”

It was too late! The blast shook the house.

I sat staring as my wife marched into the kitchen followed by GenZ who was trembling.

“Sit! You want bread?”

I looked out the kitchen window to see the screen door scattered in pieces across the snow.

thrillerMicrofictionHumor
17

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Yaks, don’t mess with Ellenore.

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Fabulous storytelling! I loved every word of this!

  • Great entry. I was swept away with the twist!

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Ha Ha! You had me worried there. I thought the obvious so great sleight of hand. Well done! Loved it

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Oh damn! That went from zero to one hundred in a blink. Loved it!!

  • Marie Sinadjan2 months ago

    Oh what a twist! Good one!

  • That hit with a bang, excellent take on the challenge

  • Ashley Shiflett2 months ago

    Oh my gosh. What a ride. Loved it!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    ThT was quite a twist. Lol. Well done..

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Ellenore fixed that screen door and the kid probably peed his pants. Fantastic story!!!! Loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Hahahahahahahahhaha I love Ellenore! I would have loved her more of she had shot the kid instead, lol!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Squeaking things are torture. Thank goodness she's more tolerant of YouTubers! Funny!

  • Lolololololol! I so love this! Ellenore's my new hero.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Ha ha ha She is a no BS type of person. If you want something done you have to do it yourself. And I have a feeling no one will argue.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    What a woman!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.