Fiction logo

Ravens and the Cougar

#snowmicro Snowshoeing in Mt Rainer

By Andrea Corwin Published 3 months ago 1 min read
12
Cougar in Snow 61928

Ravens tipped me off.

Four feet of fresh snowpack, and I was sweating heavily. I had entered Mount Rainier grounds on a forest service road to trek in the backcountry at low altitudes. I had no desire to create or be caught in an avalanche, so I would snowshoe amongst the huge trees, away from the rivers.

I saw a raven flying low over the road, and he followed me as I cut into the trees. Using animal tracks, I followed a route I had traversed in the past. The weight of the snow in the branches was worrisome to a certain degree, but there was little wind.

Snow drifted four feet up the trunks of trees, and my peripheral caught a Douglas Squirrel sneaking into a tunnel in the snow. Watching for a minute, I saw it bound up the trunk and leap to another tree.

Entering a clearing, a dark mound was on the snow, and ravens were cawing from the trees. Something dead, but what? I approached with caution, scanning the area constantly.

The ravens were watching over the remains of an elk. As I got closer, a male cougar leaped up, facing me. Snarling, it stared at me; I froze. Make yourself big. He’s enormous, two hundred pounds.

Snarling, he stared; I held his gaze. He bit another chunk off, eyes on me.

“GO ON NOW!” I shouted, poles overhead, waving. “GET!”

I took a deep breath as he bounded away and disappeared into the trees.

thrillerMicrofictionAdventure
12

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin - All Rights Reserved.

Using content without written permission is prohibited

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Karen Coady about a month ago

    Beautiful beings interacting in a supporting way. Loved the gentle way the animals were described and not hurt

  • Michelle Liew2 months ago

    Whoa! The wildest animals we get here are monkeys! Dramatic, Andrea.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This was a thrilling read. Well done.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I always wondered what I would do if I came across a big animal on one of my many walks. This was a great piece.

  • I hope the next line would read I backed slowly away before I turned and headed back the way I came. Great story. I loved the lines Make your self big. He’s enormous, two hundred pounds

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Fab! I did one about a snow leopard. What is it about big cats that makes them so great for stories 😁

  • Thanks for commenting. Freezing is good in many instances. 🫣

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    That was scary. I often wonder what I'd do if I encountered a wild animal that can harm me. I'd probably just freeze with fear.

  • ema2 months ago

    Wow, so exciting and scaring, love your story!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Yikes. Great story, definitely scary moment.

  • Karen Coady 3 months ago

    Hood story and amazing the gorgeous cougar left the carcass.

  • Omgggg this was soooo freaking terrifying! Such an intense story! I loved it!

  • Bonnie Bowerman3 months ago

    Yikes! Enjoyed this!

  • Katie Erdman3 months ago

    Whoa! That would be super scary! I remember seeing videos of people meeting a cougar on the trail.

  • oooh I found a typo in my subtitle, sorry! Mt Rainier. Apparently I can't fix that with the 'quick edit.'

  • John Cox3 months ago

    OMG! What haven’t you done in your life! Face to face with a cougar? Whoa! Great storytelling! You could write a book titled My Wild Alaska. Amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.