Fiction logo

Raiyah's Last Hope

The story of finding an unlikely friend.

By CosmicAngelPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

It was a brisk morning when I left for work. Even though the sun was out there's still a chill in the air. By the time I had arrived at work I was shivering, but at least the sun was getting a little warmer now. The grass around the building was damp with melting ice. I wasn't the first staff member to arrive today, and it already looked busy in the drop off area. I had only managed to walk through the staff entrance and unzip my jacket when Delilah came running to me to let me know of a new dog, we had in our stray's block. She explained to me that this new dog was at the far end of the block and was only to be handled by the highest members of staff. I asked why but she didn't have an answer, just mumbled something about aggression and had to leave me to go answer the phone. I'd been working at this kennels for nearly 10 years now and we had never had a stray come in that was off limits for majority of the staff, this alone had me curious and wanting to meet the little guy.

After signing in and grabbing my kennels polo shirt I went straight out to the stray's block. My first job of every day was to feed and medicate all the strays anyway, so I needed to be out this way. I entered the stray block and was greeted by the multiple dogs barking and wagging their tails. This was the reason I loved my job so much. I made my way down to the last block, confused as to why I wasn't hearing growling already if this dog was as aggressive as Delilah had made out. I kept my distance from the gate as I first introduced myself. Checking his cage door, I noticed he didn't have a name and had multiple warnings signs and even a sheet taped up blocking the pen from view. This made me even more curious as id never met a dog that needed to be blocked from all views. I slowly made my way to the door and pulled the sheet away. I've never been this shocked at what was sat at the back of this cage.

Inside was the most beautiful dog I had ever seen; his body was mostly black with a few grey streaks running across his sides and his muzzle and patches around his eyes were also grey. That wasn't the most shocking part though, the dog inside this cage was absolutely huge, he was easily as tall as my chest! His paws were so large, and his head was even bigger than mine. Why was this magnificent creature locked in here. Surely somebody would be missing him. I hadn't realised until now but the whole time I've been stood here looking at him he hasn't growled or showed any sign of aggression. Maybe they had put the warnings on the wrong cage? Regardless, something deep inside me made me want to go in his cage with him and meet him properly.

I looked around and saw that Delilah and Jake were stood a few cages down looking surprised. I waved at them and then moved forwards to open his cage up. I've never seen those two staff members move so fast before, my hand had just touched the lock and they left the building entirely. That should have worried me, but I was too excited to meet this dog that it didn't sink in until later that day how dangerous this actually was. I pulled the lock back and took in a deep breath, readying myself, then pulled open the cage door and walked in. The dog hadn't moved yet, just stood at the back watching me intently. I walked a few steps forward and then stopped, reaching my hand out so he could come to me if he wanted to. "I'm Raiyah, what's your name beautiful boy?" I asked in a soft voice. He hesitated for a few seconds and then stepped forwards, pushing his head up against my hand as he made a small whimpering sound. We stood like this for a few minutes before i started to move my hand, stroking him slowly and gently at first but as i felt him relaxing against me I fussed him a little harder.

I must have stayed in that cage just stroking him for at least 30 minutes before I asked him if he would like to go on a walk. He glanced up at the lead hung just outside of his cage, just like he had understood me. I opened the cage door back up and grabbed the collar and lead. The collar was so big i wondered if i could wear it as a belt! I hooked it round his neck and clipped the lead to it, stepping back and admiring how beautiful he was again before turning around and walking out the cage. He followed me, slowly at first but after a couple minutes he sped up and was walking alongside me. I could see at least 4 staff members stood at the door we had just came out of, watching in shock as we walked around the first field slowly. He was so gentle and walked perfectly beside me, this dog had been trained at some point, that was becoming clear. It confused me though that id been told how aggressive this dog was but yet he was so loving and affectionate towards me since the moment I entered his cage. We walked for thirty minutes before I decided to take him back in. Once he was back in his cage, I fed him and then carried on with my daily duties, it quickly became apparent that I would be doing his full care while he was with us.

Two weeks passed by very quickly and during that time I had fallen in love with this beautiful boy. I had named him Baxter, after calling him by many names that was the first one, he responded to. I arrived earlier at work today as I wanted to spend some more time with Baxter, as his two weeks were up, he would be going up for adoption tonight and I was sure he would find a new home very quickly. When I went into his cage, he seemed different, it was like he was on edge, but not from being nervous, he seemed excited. We got his collar and lead on and headed outside; it was starting to warm up more now, so I wanted him to have a good walk before the heat got too much for him. While walking around the field I noticed a shadow in the nearby woods, it looked like a man's shadow, but I couldn't see clear enough to be sure. Baxter could sense something as well; he was very jittery and for the first time since we met, he started pulling on his lead. He was too big and strong for me to stop him and soon he was bounding up to the outside fence near where the shadow was last. I ran after him, calling his name but not too loud as I don't want to scare him. I caught up with him just before he got over the gate, pulling him back a little and asking him to stop. He glanced over at me and then back to the shadow, pulling again before letting out a long whine. My heart was racing now as the shadow moved towards us until the man was stood right in front of me, just the gate between us now.

Baxter pushed the gate open with his nose and slinked through the gap created with perfect ease, only stopping when he reached the man. The man started to rub under Baxter's chin, not seeming to frighten the dog even though he seemed terrified of everybody else here but me. I stayed quiet and waited for the man to direct his attention to me. He seemed strangely familiar, but I couldn't put my finger on where I knew him from. He finally stopped stroking Baxter and looked up at me, introducing himself as Maxwell. It took a few seconds to match that name to a face I'd seen recently. I confusedly asked Maxwell how this was possible, the place id seen his name and face was in the news recently, and the news had said he had died. I have never been so confused before; this man was claiming to be somebody who had died just two weeks ago. How can that be? Maxwell reached out a hand to me, I stepped back, and he smiled, telling me to take his hand so he could prove to me that he is who he says he is. I slowly lifted my hand, moving to place it in his, but it slipped straight through his, blurring his hand for a few seconds. He was a ghost. I don't even believe in the paranormal but stood just in front of me was an actual ghost.

He explained that Baxter was his dog and he had run away after Maxwell had died. It has taken Maxwell the whole two weeks to trace and find him. He also explained that Baxter was not normally good with people and had only ever shown love and affection to him and one other person since he brought him home. I was surprised but also silently pleased that Baxter had chosen me as a person he liked. I still didn't truly believe that Maxwell was a ghost, but I was starting to question other things in my life that may prove that ghosts are real. Me and Baxter carried on meeting Maxwell daily, each time we met I believed a little more. After another week I accepted that ghosts really do exist and I was slowly falling for one. Baxter seemed the happiest I had seen him since meeting him three weeks ago and Maxwell and I had so much in common. I was wrong about Baxter finding a new home quickly though, everybody that met him quickly changed there minds about wanting to adopt and after another week of failed adoptions I put my name forward. I had promised I wouldn't adopt any of the dogs that I cared for at work but Baxter needed a home and I realised I wanted a companion too.

After a few days the adoption went through and I got to bring Baxter home with me, Maxwell came with us but after only 30 minutes at mine he called me over. He was fading, how could he be going already when I'd only had one month with him, how was this fair! He explained that his final wish had been for Baxter to be safe and now he knew he would be he could move on. I didn't like that idea one bit, but I couldn't stop him from going. I needed to focus on Baxter now, I needed to make sure he was happy and loved. I missed Maxwell every day but Baxter soon became everything I had needed in a companion. We spent every day together and he even came into work with me. He was fantastic with all the dogs he met and was a great way to test if other dogs could be rehomed into family's that already had pets. Slowly my heart healed from losing Maxwell and I put all my love and energy into Baxter. He very quickly became my best friend and I'm so grateful that he found me that day in the kennels.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

CosmicAngel

I enjoy writing erotic stories, some of which are from my own fantasies and some from other peoples fantasies. I enjoy taking a rough idea of a fantasy and bringing it to life with my words.

I also enjoy writing down my thoughts and feelings

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.