Feast logo

My favourite summer food!

Even if I can't join in the challenge I wanted to write up my favourite summer food too!

By CosmicAngelPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I find summer so difficult, my body cannot handle heat and I always feel so drained. Even with fans on and a pool out it was too hot to function. Ice lollies dripping and children struggling to enjoy themselves because its too warm will always haunt my memories. The amount of times me or a sibling passed out from heat stroke was ridiculous. Not to mention the sunburn that you could still feel a week later. I’ve always enjoyed those late summer nights though, the ones where everyone comes over to have fun in the back. A bouncy castle for the special occasions or some water pistols for the other times. The promise of a barbeque as it sizzles away trying to light. That will always be my favourite summer food! It didn’t matter whether it was a massive barbeque that could cook more food than could be eaten and with so much variety of food or just a small throwaway one with just burgers and hotdogs. Every time we popped to Tesco’s of a Friday afternoon and grabbed burger buns we knew it would be one of those magical nights. My favourite barbeque food has always been those spicy strips of pork. The ones where the juices drip down your hands as you eat and each bite burns because you have no patience to wait for it to cool down. The burgers and sausages were always amazing as well even if they were the exact same ones you eat every single week, somehow barbequing them makes them taste so much better. I remember so many summer nights spent with the music playing and the barbeque burning away nicely that I think it will always be my most favourite time of year. It sure beats those days having the same old bland food that you come to expect when living from pay packet to pay packet. I don’t think I could name a single food I disliked on those nights even when there was so much choice you ate way to much. Summer for me will always taste just like those barbequed sausages and burgers. Even when they were burnt they were so much better than just regular sausages. I remember vividly the amount of times me and my siblings chose a barbeque over any takeout’s that were offered. I remember the summer holidays being filled with barbeques and sandwiches, being able to eat so much of an evening that you didn’t start to feel hungry until lunch time the next day. Every year the variety got better and more foods were added to the barbeque. It got to the point where we had to cook food in the ovens as well as there was just so much food and the barbeque didn’t cook fast enough. I laugh now but those days were definitely the best days of my childhood and are days I fondly look back on now I’m grown and have children of my own. I always thought getting all that food put together looked easy and cooking it on the barbeque made so much sense but since trying to have one of those evenings myself I realise just how much effort goes into making it a memorable night. I don’t quite know how my parents did it week after week and made it look easy. Even as an adult I still enjoy those rare get togethers with my family and showing my own children just a little piece of my childhood. Even if I never learn how to barbeque that well I know that will be one of my fondest memories for a lifetime.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

CosmicAngel

I enjoy writing erotic stories, some of which are from my own fantasies and some from other peoples fantasies. I enjoy taking a rough idea of a fantasy and bringing it to life with my words.

I also enjoy writing down my thoughts and feelings

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.