Fiction logo

Qin Dynasty Band

Chapter 5

By Ann Published 2 years ago 7 min read

Lao Pan is going to attend the wedding of his friend's daughter today. The restaurant is not far from me.

Lao Pan was a very ordinary middle-aged man, with gleaming hair and a shy belly. He wore the T-shirts and slacks that he and his wife had bargained for in the street shop. His shoes were painted foggy.

In fact, Lao Pan is not simple, he graduated from the second or third batch of college students at China University of Geosciences, majoring in archaeology. Almost all the college students in that era were truly the proud son of heaven, and Lao Pan was the outstanding one among them. If he had kept going in his major, we would certainly have seen him on TV today for salvaging the "Nanhai No.1". Unfortunately, Lao Pan did not resist the temptation of the tide of the 1990s. I thought that he could be as reckless as a crab by virtue of his ability. After losing several times, he became as timid as a bastard. In my opinion, he lost money entirely on his own: he abandoned his profession and followed two Fujian men to make watches.

It was only after 2000 that he returned to collecting and identifying antiques, earning an erratic but barely comfortable monthly income. He works as my assistant manager for no salary but takes a 2% commission on the appraisals.

Lao Pan handed me a "jade river", I put the knife on the coffee table and took it and lit the fire. Before I started talking, Lao Pan's eyes were already on the knife -- an ancient knife of the Warring States period attracted a person with deep archaeological skills. He picked up the knife, stooped as if he had been punched, and took off his glasses with one hand as if he were about to dive into it.

I quickly grabbed a pocket, interrupt said: "fruit knife, what to see?" Old Pan put his two smoke-yellow fingers to my nose. "Give it to me!" I noticed a slight tremor in his voice. I put Jing Ke knife out in the air threw two times, with a joking tone said: "You don't think this is an antique?"

Lao Pan seemed puzzled by me at last. Wiping the sweat from his forehead, he smiled mockingly and said, "Maybe I'm nervous. How can you have anything from the Warring States Period? Although the pattern and texture are similar, there is no oxidation at all. I was wrong."

Playing with the knife, I asked casually, "If there really is an ancient sword from the Warring States Period, how much can it be sold for?" Lao Pan adjusted his glasses and said in a mocking tone, "If you sell things from the Warring States through your hands, no matter to whom you sell them, you have broken the law. If you go out, I am afraid I will never see you again in my life. The state has stipulated that ancient objects before 1795 are strictly prohibited from leaving the country.

I said: "Let's say play, you give a price."

"Let me put it this way: a vase from the Ming Dynasty can be sold for 15 million pounds at Christie's auction in the UK, leaving aside the behind-the-scenes operation there, of course. In Hong Kong, a knife made by the Emperor Qianlong can be sold for 40 million Hong Kong dollars, whether Qianlong himself has ever seen this knife is not mentioned. A gold-plated sword used by Napoleon is worth more than 50 million RMB..."

I interjected: "If it is the dagger Jing Ke used to stab the king of Qin..."

Old Pan glanced at me, stood up and said, "Enough with you. I've got to go."

After the old Pan left, I stared at Jing Ke's knife straight speechless, mind only one idea: this to be changed into coins, do not know how many times can hit me to death......

In fact, I am not stupid, long thought of even Jing two silly students on the body of the most shameful place a hair, in theory can be counted as cultural relics, but I also vaguely feel the risk of taking this article, Lao Pan's words completely eliminated my idea, do not say the law is not illegal, if really want to flow to foreign countries, I do not have to wait for thousands of years directly guilty. As the general manager of the "No. 1" pawnshop, it is OK to make a little money by hiding the truth from others. However, when I was a child, my school also paid for the movie Yuanmingyuan.

At noon steamed stuffed bun they only have a 20-minute meal break, usually I closed the door and went to her to have a bite to eat in the street. Today I asked her to bring back a jin of steamed stuffed bun. When the steamed stuffed bun came back, the Emperor Qin Shihuang was watching "Meteor Garden" with gusto, the steamed stuffed bun nodded to him as a greeting, and then hurriedly found a bench to sit down and let her eat. Watch TV will have to go back immediately, TV play in the temple and the three people as well as Hua Ze class and fir vegetables, when the advertisement breaks, the steamed stuffed bun stands up, with the emperor Qin Shi Huang said: "Fat man, I come back in the afternoon you tell me the result ah -"

My most sweat is not this, Qin Shi Huang he actually with a more authentic Taiwan accent said: "Well, you are very wordy ye."

I have been next door in glass Jing Ke dragged to my room to eat steamed stuffed bun. At present, neither of these two people has caused me much embarrassment. Jing Ke is a silly man, and he is too shy to ask questions about curious things. The things in my room are enough for him to study for half a year.

What I am most afraid of now is winning fatty and Jing Ersilly which day suddenly understand too strong, know that he was shabu, will take out my anger, especially Qin Shi Huang know I secretly called him win fatty all the time.

I put the clothes they had changed into at the bottom of the cupboard, and after a year I had to let them take all of them with me. I confess that my biggest fear of not exchanging them for money was that I was afraid of getting into trouble. As far as I know, the international black forces selling antiques are no worse than those selling drugs and arms. And with this piece of brick in my hand, I'm afraid I'm in a lot of trouble. Of course, I have to say, "I am very wordy", I really do not want to lose China's treasure abroad, and I suggest you just keep this in mind.

Jing Ke that knife was washed by me after the toolbox, the most dangerous place is the safest.

Baozi will be on the early shift this week, that is, at 10 o 'clock and leave at 4 o 'clock in the afternoon. In fact, it will be around 5 o 'clock. If it is a night shift, it will be 4 o 'clock in the afternoon and it will be after 11 o 'clock in the evening. The steamed stuffed bun never asked me to pick her up on the night shift, not because she was very "alert", steamed stuffed bun in the iron school dormitory, she grew up fighting with the children on the railway, belong to the "Jianghu children", she had whistled at the teacher in the first year of junior high school, unfortunately, she did not know before whistling that it was newly transferred to teach them English, Fortunately, the boy did not hear it. Unfortunately, their teacher, an old lady, did. Steamed stuffed bun on a number of years to learn two lines of poetry: plum blossom fragrance from the bitter cold and let the wind and rain.

Today, she carried a large basket of vegetables. She washed a cucumber, cut half of it and handed it to Qin Shi Huang. She chewed the other half and said, "What happened in the end?

After I told him about the TV series, he was surprised and asked me why I watched it when I knew it was fake. I could only say that it was the same as his amusement watching beautiful women dancing in six countries.

Jing Ke has found his favorite, an old semiconductor radio, the simple fool had always thought that the sound inside it was made by the imprisoned man, he spent the afternoon trying to communicate with the people inside.

There are two people around me, I feel it is necessary to inoculated the steamed stuffed bun, I pulled her in the pool, pretend to help her wash dishes, said: "The two brothers reaction is a little behind." I told her gently, "Not from our generation." The steamed stuffed bun said: "That big man and you seem to be less than a few years old, fat at most more than 40."

I scratched my head and said, "Rock 'n 'roll, has not been praised, stimulated the head is not good."

As soon as I said that, the bun understood. I haven't dared tell her yet that these two are staying here for a year.

When the meal was ready, the steamed bun asked Qin Shi Huang at the table, "What is your surname, fat brother?" After I explained what it meant, Qin Shi Huang said cheerfully, "Hungry is called Ying Zheng." Steamed stuffed bun eyes turn to Jing Ersilly at that time, he had a brainwave, first said: "I call Jing Ke."

The bun paused for a moment and then laughed: "It's really creative. What's the name of your band?"

My forehead sweat, quickly for them to answer: "Qin Dynasty."

Fantasy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AWritten by Ann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.