Fiction logo

Price or Reward

A Ravenswood Short

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 months ago 8 min read
Like
Price or Reward
Photo by Edge2Edge Media on Unsplash

To the Members of Ravenswood Council:

It began slowly, the impact of those who had done this to me, they had said that it was buried within me or could have been a sleeper within, either case, it was passed down by blood, so they say. Though upon the rise of the last twenty years it had only grown within more and more powerful with each breath I took. I am now powerless against the onslaught of the tyrannical mind that possesses me. I am alone in all the nightmares that I see before me.

My name is irrelevant, my plight however, I consider highly important, this in itself is more of an obligation then a cause or folly of purpose. I believe in the idea that causality can falter, and I can make it happen. Just a simple choice on whether to or not. They took me for granted whence they added the features inside my mind. The Price of Evil. Now it is my turn to show them all what it is that they had done to me and thusly, my plight, my fight to prove my existence, my fight that none shall ever endure the horrors that I have seen, my fight to rid the world of Pandorica and all Her B.S. from opening the box… our curse, I am the cure and resolve.

I found myself one day wondering over the Valley of the Lost, here I came upon a man standing before the Tombs of the Grateful Dead, he had an umbrella open, though the rain had stopped falling hours ago and it was bright and sunny, he was dressed in black, from head to toe, even his hat was black. The small tuff of grey that protruded from the liner where the hat could not cover was the only hair visible. I was going to walk past him while paying my respect, but as I was growing nearer to the Tomb, he turned and looked at me as if expecting me.

“My name is Thomas,” he said to me, his eyes heavy with tears, he seemed to had been recently crying, though unsure of why, these men had died centuries ago and the Tomb that he stood before was all that remined of memory, “I have been waiting for you. You sure took your time getting here.” He spoke once I grew nearer and seemed to try to invoke a smile upon his joke. He handed me a letter after shaking my hand, for someone to shake hands was more of a forgotten gesture and only used for those who truly mean no harm. His smile then came across as genuine and not even a small hint of malice or intent of harm. I smiled back in reply.

“That letter is from a place that can help you. I am just a messenger and know nothing of your cause, I, like you, am just a Soldier following orders. Read the letter when your ready and decide for yourself the actions to resolve your conflict. Good day to you sir.” He said then tipped his hat and once more took my hand in his and shook it, then turned and walked away. A bright and wonderous mist overtook the area and upon its leave, he was gone. As if he was not real. Nor that of the mist that overtook him. However, the letter, I was still holding it in my hand. My mind was now in a rally against me and at the same time just as confused as I was. Was that man, Thomas a mirage, was he real or fiction, yet the letter I held was real, how did he just vanish?

The letter was rolled neatly and tied with a small yellow ribbon with a seal that looked like a small flying bird. I could not tell the kind, but it looked like an important seal. Then the thought it hit me like a ton of bricks, why would someone of any importance want me to read this or wanted me? Those type of people that believe themselves important only USE people like me and there is not any sort of respect or gratitude from those types. They just take what they want and care nothing for people like me, that is why nations from the old world made the poor fight for them. A promise of a new and better… Bullshit! That simple. I was about to toss the letter onto the ground but something inside me forbade it and wanted me to open the letter, break the seal and read it. Why the urge I had no idea. It seemed to me then that there was a minor disagreement, and they were talking amongst themselves as if I were not there. Assholes. They’re inside my head, and they are ignoring me, I guessed then that they were bored with me, or this letter had them more entranced to where they’d argue as if I was not there or their host.

While the arguing continued a small black bird landed on the top of the monument and cawed at me as if it was telling me to trust it, as if the bird was speaking, this in turn made the voices that I had been cursed with give notice and silence themselves, then they ordered me to open the letter and to listen to the raven that spoke. They said they knew the bird, as if it were an old friend. They began speaking to the Raven directly through some kind of old telepathy that I had no idea that I possessed, however it was, the Raven and the voices seemed to get along, sadly, I was not privy to the conversation they held, that in itself was even more weird to me, they are my curse and also imaginary, yet able to communicate without me, trying to explain it here makes me sound more and more insane with that, but I speak true, yet I am not sure how to explain more or clearly enough.

The rolled parchment that I held, as they had explained to me, was not technically a letter that I would be familiar with, it held within it a summons, as if I were but a Nobel Knight of legend or lore. It was for me to open and read, follow the directions inside of it and then, I would be able to have a chance at changing things for myself and for those whom to suffer as I have. Since everyone was on board with this decision, I removed the seal binding the letter and began to read it, here I will write what it spoke of:

Instructions:

1) Traveler, you have found yourself in a place unknown or forgotten, as you are now reading this, WE summon you and in great need of your service. Reading this and understanding that you are not alone is step one. Two through four are written below and are to be followed to the letter, otherwise you will be lost for all eternity and no way to return to yourself.

2) Place this atop the Tomb of the Grateful Dead and recite the words aloud:

a. “I, (your name), am here.”

3) Upon the Stone that shines in the darkness, touch the center, and walk through the opening.

4) You’ll have your chance in the Town of Ravenswood, if you do not cross through the portal within ten seconds it will seal itself once more and you will not be able to conquer your issues and you will suffer for all time.

The letter gave me a bad feeling; however, I did as it instructed me as the ones inside my mind wanted freedom as well and if doing this will give US the freedom we all want, then the letter will be followed to the T.

I can tell you this, as I crossed the purple and blue spiraled portal, I was taken to a large community that welcomed me with open arms and now as I am in the beginning stages of my travels, I am writing this for the Council to follow and will keep them updated as I traverse the wilderness to where Pandora made the arrangement and opened the Box. From what I was told by the Oracle who too was expecting me, I am within a ten-day walk. I somehow speak the language automatically, as if I were a native and thus far, only the Oracle knew I was from another time and place, she did however give me warning:

“As you suit your battle with well intent and meaning, as you sit here with me alone and know the secrets that the Priests here try to hide, you and I sit alone and talk, I give warning to your cause, as it will affect all of time, space, and each reality in whole. Though Nobel Knight you are in service to MAHN, I give you that. Causality will fracture. You have been warned.” Then she finished up by saying, “Yes, my visions that are provoked by the uprising steam from the vats I sit above are forced, however, my gift from the gods are like yours. You do this and my gift of sight and visions will retire or entangle themselves into a more fierce state. I am like you. We, and others like us, are the same and all of us want what you can do. But please, beware of the possibilities, if you think of only yourself, you will fracture causality and all of us could and will be affected by your choice.” She then rose and left me.

Walking out and arriving where I am, I write to you as required.

I will return. Just worried the Price is not Worth the reward.

- Lional

Short StoryPsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.