Fiction logo

President Monroe Remembers the Crossing of the Delaware

On December 25, 1821 - 45 years later.

By Ava MackPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
'Washington Crossing the Delaware' by Emanuel Leutze (The Metropolitan Museum of Art)

We rank and file were kept ignorant. It was not for us to contemplate the meaning of war. We only knew its motions: "walk," "at ease," "to arms."

And we knew it would be a miserable night. The wind wailed; the sleet stung; the snow chilled to the bone. The Delaware ran black and fathomless as the Styx. Ice gnawed at its banks.

We crossed slowly and silently in the Durham boats and learned our mission on the other side: a surprise attack on Trenton at dawn.

As I prepared to march, I glimpsed our General stooped over a fire, his cloak wrapped close about him. Sometimes he watched the boats' progression, sometimes the fire. Flurries tumbled into the flames, evaporating with a puff and hiss. Destiny weighed heavily on his snow-dusted shoulders. His thoughts were of the motions and meanings of war.

His officers gathered around him. General Washington spoke, but I heard not, for he spoke softly, even in those days. It was General Knox who replied, "My dear General, the Rubicon was crossed in July. The die was cast long before this night. There is no turning back, remember: victory or death."

That "or" cast over me like a shadow, for I was grievously wounded at Trenton. But I lived. We were victorious. I have carried the scar and these affecting memories with me all my life. For those men and this country, I would brave it all again - the snow, the bullet, the long night.

MicrofictionHistoricalAdventure
8

About the Creator

Ava Mack

Poetry and little thoughts

Boston, MA

https://www.instagram.com/avamariemack/

https://www.instagram.com/ava.booked/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was wonderful, Ava. well done.

  • This was incredibly well written. Excellent entry into the challenge

  • Leslie Writes3 months ago

    Wow, this is such a strong immersive piece. So well done!

  • Thank you for this piece of history, love your words and the image and great challenge entry

  • Abody N. Eiid4 months ago

    I really enjoyed reading that ❤️, and I hope you 'll read my stories and rate me on them because I care about your opinion🥰💝

  • Skyler Saunders4 months ago

    This story reads with the intensity of all the might and fury of war. Through the snow scenery, the depiction of fictional elements intermixed with history allows the reader to immerse themselves in the story. Continue with these works.

  • Ava Mack (Author)4 months ago

    Author’s Note: This is a work of fiction based on historical facts. This is not a historical text or any part of historical text. I knew I wanted to write my snow micro about Washington’s crossing of the Delaware on Dec 25, 1776, but I recently learned that future US President James Monroe was also there as an 18 year old lieutenant and wounded the next day at Trenton. I thought Monroe’s POV as President and Commander in Chief looking back many years later would be an interesting take on the well-known story and the challenge. I enjoyed writing it, I hope you enjoyed reading it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.