Fiction logo

Power of the Spark

The stars of the void

By NatalijaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Power of the Spark
Photo by Paul Volkmer on Unsplash

I walk alone, through the ruins of our modern era. Our reality reduced to a state of decay, consumed by the earth and her wavering emotions. Consumed and spat out, for we became consumers instead of peacemakers. Sudden, unforeseen change, has left me to face the fall of our tower. And now all that is left, is the debris of our moral lusts, haunted by ghostly winds carrying the clouds, weeping tears of the heavens.

The echos of society scream their rehearsed resentment toward the current state of the world. They scream in terror, throbbing in the agony of what was once ‘us’.

I wonder, wether their yells mute the knowing of their true involvement in the coming of our collapsed foundation. They ran, chasing pretty shiny things, and lost their sight of humanities sustainable prosperity. The short term was their desire, unable to admit and now crippled by the pain of their own doing, stuck to face the true product of their wants.

The world as we know it is lost, and what I find is the confirmation that we were apart of the larger scheme, unable to hold ourselves together any longer. How I long to hold my mothers hand. All I want now is her, though, when she was here her life too was filled with pain and suffering much prior to this dystopia. A spark within my heart, tells me of times she worked day and night, broken and alone to provide for us. Despite this truth, she viewed this dissonance as a way back to the source of truth, for she did this all for my sister and I. Her sorrow, broke her heart wide open, where she never left us behind and gave us nothing but love. An owl flys above me, I wonder what the parliament say of this. I think nothing, the group of owls must judge on the premise of their higher perspective. Why judge humanity, for we already judged ourselves. Left with the destruction of our doing. Now I walk through empty quiet chambers, though the trail of pain left behind.

We were offered vastness, only to become that of greed. What must I do to bridge the gap of now, then and what shall be. Where is the power to heal this wound, my mother is no where in sight. Whose kiss will heal my wound now, for God has decorated the skies with all the people i once loved. The weight of our selfishness cuts me deep, and my cherished loves are gone . Where do I go from here, for I have no where left to go. Fallen street signs, shattered vehicles and rusted structures are all that are in sight… is it true our advancements were all for nothing? A spark within tells me of the divine comedy that is, the irony of our creations now meeting destruction. The irony of our want replaced with need… I hope it rains tonight I am so thirsty.

A golden heart locket, gifted to me from my mother rests at my chest. My heart beats feeling the cold heart now around my neck. My last memory of her. All I own now to remember the past is an empty heart shaped locket, just like the hollow organ of my heart, both filled with void.

Lost with no direction to turn I reach the sandy shores of the great ocean. I lay and rest on the sand facing the horizon, looking for my silver lining.

That night I dreamt of a time when I was a star, divinely protected and directed wavering to the cosmic symphony. I wake to the crashing of waves and the warmth of the sun on my face. The sun, instills a current of blessing through my heart, where sparks fly and light waves fill my sight. With the sudden moment of gratitude, my eyes spot an abandoned boat. I surrender to what has become, my longing for my mothers love drives me forward towards my destiny. I shall sail the seven seas, living with the conditions of the gods. Following the star over the horizon where I hope to find what lies in the chambers of my heart. The salt water purifying my vision, maybe then I shall find the keys.

So I can for once understand, why we did do this to ourselves.

~ Thank you Mama

Classical

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NWritten by Natalija

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.