Fiction logo

Please Find me

Was it Worth it?

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
8
Please Find me
Photo by Torsten Dederichs on Unsplash

Cold. The only lingering thought in my mind.

I huddled my knees to keep them close to my body. I almost feel like I’d lose them if I let go now. I’m stuck in this position. I can’t move until they find me. I won’t.

With every minute that passes, I feel stiffer and stiffer. With every moment that passes, I know the end is near. Is this how I go out? Among the cold and white?

I’ve been here far too long. My only companion was my breath, floating out of me periodically. I envied it. It can escape and disappear into the ether while I sit here and wait for my end.

My companion was no more. I couldn’t afford to lose heat, so I began breathing slowly. My breath is now barely visible.

The sensation of frost was steadily creeping up my body. Snow covered my shoes, and my toes inside were sluggish. I can’t afford to stay here much longer.

God, please let it just end!

I’m now regretting this decision. Was it even worth it? What did I gain from doing this? Nothing but pain. As I contemplate this moronic decision of mine, something solid hits the back of my head and knocks my woolly hat off.

“Got you! You’re out!” shouted Ben

I quickly get up and rub the back of my head furiously. “HEY! You packed that too tight! It hurt!”

“Whatever, loser!” Ben taunted me as he ran off and continued seeking.

Short StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionAdventure
8

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Those winter games of hide & seek could get bitter, lol.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Excellent twist at the end! I was thinking that this guy was a goner for sure. “It can escape and disappear into the ether while I sit here and wait for my end.”- is such a good line, contrasting the disappearing breath against their confinement. Nice😊

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Nice twist! Well written.

  • Hahahahahhahahahaha your ending made me laugh! It was all so serious and then BAM! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I thought your MC was a goner for sure!!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Way to steer us away from the truth of the situation. I of course thought the predicament was dire. You got me! 😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.