Fiction logo

Playground

Misplaced Challenge Entry No. 2

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 3 min read
15
Playground
Photo by James Kovin on Unsplash

At least it's warm here...

You wouldn't think I'd care about such things, but it is nice to have a change in scenery, and in temperature, too.

It is very warm on this spot of ground. And what a beautiful day to finally get some freedom and be able to just rest for a moment.

Now, I would usually not complain about such things. I know that I am supposed to be part of a team and should expect to be discarded and forgotten once my job is done, but when you get a moment like this, you tend to enjoy it.

I just wish I did not have to hear all of that noise.

Strange to think about it now, but I really hate all of the noise we are usually connected to (I know about some of your media and how you think we are supposed to sound). Ironic, right? I could not do my job if I did not arrive with a great chorus of sounds. You hear about things called 'silencers', but that is nonsense. Nothing we do ever stays that quiet.

And neither do you.

Look, I take no responsibility for where we end up and what we get used for. A job is a job, and it would be pretty silly if we never made ourselves known. Just having our home around and pointing it at people seems to me a pretty week option. I know that there was a reason why we were used today. I just hope that you all understand that.

And I hope you know that we can hear all of your lies and fantasies.

This is a terrible day for us all, you say. We need to end the scourge of gun violence in our society, I have heard. Well, yes, I agree, I really do. You should end this violence. You should go out of your way to make sure that you have less terrible days with the results of our work.

None of that is on me.

And I had better make some sort of confession about this...incident.

I've been found.

In what must be one of the most pleasant spots for me after such work, I have been picked up and placed in the pocket of what must be a young child (it is filled with the odor of candy, bubble gum, and mud). The child has decided that I needed to be brought to a warmer place...and safer spot...

'Mine,' was all he said. And then, when there seemed to be a pause in your investigation, he took me away.

Just poor parenting on someone's part... It seems as though the child has decided to take a souvenir from the day and that it does not matter that there is still all that talk about 'evidence' and 'motives' (you humans really do care about things that are irrelevant). You will get yourself into such a fuss over this that you will attack us...as if we are the problem that needs to be handled.

A very sad thought...

I suppose I should wonder if this child is at all connected to the stories I have been hearing from a distance. All I can get from this spot is talk about loss and how mothers and fathers want to now have armed guards in classrooms, teachers carrying guns, and politicians to pass real laws...

Utter nonsense.

I know you too well, even after just a brief moment outside of my home. I know that you will not do much. I have so many brothers and sisters and too much interest in me and my kind. You might think we are not aware of this, but we are very aware of what you want. You made us - so many of us - and we are not going anywhere.

But at least I have another warm spot.

At least I have another fan.

True?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

HorrorShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofiction
15

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Impressive & loved the message!!!

  • This is heavy Kendall. Very well written and moving.

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    Everything has been well put and your work screams 'Nothing But the Truth'. This was nice!

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Original take and well-written. Good work on this one!

  • Gosh this was so terrifying! You blew my mind!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Now it's my turn to say... This one's gonna haunt me for a while. Well done in painting a shocking picture of the truth.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    WOW! This was mighty powerful Kendall! Well done!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    What an unusual take on the challenge! I liked it.

  • Freshman year of college I was helping a friend with some yard work. I found a loaded shotgun shell out in the middle of the lawn. I put it in my breast pocket thinking I'd figure out what to do with it later. That evening, I stood in the parking lot of our dorm with a rifle pointed right at that pocket with an angry young man three sheets to the wind determined to use it.

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Interesting perspective. I grew up with guns in the house but never felt the need to own one. Been in some dicey situations and never wished I had one. I don't think it's mental illness, I think it's a lack of connecting with others. Good work Kendall!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Deep thoughts

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.