Fiction logo

Good Vibrations

Misplaced Challenge Entry No. 1

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 3 min read
12
Good Vibrations
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Okay, this is really not my fault.

I am now in a very different spot than I’m used to (buzz). And I really did not expect the screaming and the trip through the air like that (buzz buzz). So dark, too…

So (buzz), why is this my fault?

Most of the noises I hear are quite pleasant, so such screaming really threw me off. Usually, the thing that you all call screaming is just a cry of pleasure. And my job is just to sit there (buzz buzz buzz).

Guess I still have the energy to work.

Guess that someone made a big (buzz) mistake.

Seriously, after all this time, you’d think she’d be more careful with me.

No, no… She watches another movie, finishes another bottle (buzz) and its back to work with me. All night that time (must have been a bad day at work)…

Maybe that is an excuse?

No, I won’t (buzz buzz) do that.

You have a family. You have a husband who is often away from home (nice place, too), and makes a lot of money (buzz).

And you have a very young and curious son.

Did she know that it was Show and Tell Day at his school? Even I knew that when I overheard the conversation in their bedroom (not everything is muted under a bed, even when I have my own box). And the boy was not wrong to think that he was taking something special with him (buzz).

“Magic,” he said. “The box says, ‘Magic’.”

Oh dear, oh dear (buzz)…

Still going…

At least he treated me well. Never took me out of my box...until he had to. Never woke anyone up. Never told them…what he was doing (buzz).

Really silly of them to behave like that. It was hard to be exposed to that much light, anyway. But to have to be treated so ridiculously in front of all of those (buzz) faces… A Harry Potter fan with the wrong wand, but he was not wrong. They should really apologize for this one.

Really…

Well, I guess I’m on my way home. Recognized the perfume and the face (probably thinks that I cannot tell); she seemed upset with all of the nonsense that was really all about me.

And I wonder about the boy.

He was an innocent in all this and did not deserve to be embarrassed in front of all of his friends and that simpleton of a teacher (wonder if she has one; most likely, yes). He was just showing them me at my best (buzz buzz). And he really thought it was magic...

I’m still on, I notice (buzz buzz). The boy slammed the door as she told him to go up to the room (guess no one noticed).

We are still heading back to what I hope is my box (where did it go?). More vibrations around me than I'm used to... And we aren't moving. Why are we here.

No box, no box, no (buzz) box... Does she know that I need it? Does she care?

At least she's...well, well...

She really is (buzz buzz buzz) something else.

All in the middle this and she needs me more than ever. Radio seems to have inspired her to take things back.

That song works right now (I am picking up good - buzz buzz - vibrations; she's got all the excitations).

I wonder if anyone can see us (noticed the darkness on the windows). And here we go again.

Just like magic

(buzz buzz buzz...)

In the dark...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Short StorySatireLoveHumor
12

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Hahaahah!!! I can't!!! This is too good!! I love this story and your amazing sense of humour!! So clever and too brilliant!!! 😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I wonder what will be next, what could possibly beat this one. Hmmm~ Thinking cap on. Very creative.

  • Oh, I'm feelin' this one, Kendall. To be a fly on the wall of that classroom, lol!

  • Mason Darnielle4 months ago

    really enjoy the style of dialogue

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    LOL...this was soo good. Well executed and funny. I felt sorry for the poor lad though. and for the poor vibe. Well played, sir. Well played.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Feel like this should have gone under horror.

  • Hahahahahahahhahahaha did you read Paul's one for this challenge? His misplaced item was a knife but I'm convinced it's a dildo. I even told him that in the comments. You sir, took it a step further and actually wrote about a dildo! Hahahahahahahah brilliant!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    LOL!!! Too humorous!!!🤣🤣🤣

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    it's the teacher's fault for having a show and tell time.😈😜🌭

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Well, oops!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.