Fiction logo

Pigs in Sheep’s clothing: a wolf’s tale

L.C. Schäfer's Fucked up fairy tale challenge

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 15 days ago 2 min read
3
Pigs in Sheep’s clothing: a wolf’s tale
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The restaurant that the two brother pigs started was an instant hit: shawarma with a twist. Meat on a stick.

Not my cup of tea.

I could smell the caliginous clouds of the smoked meat settling in my over-sized nostrils from the chimney like a vaccum. It made me feel nervous for some odd reason. That burnt, raw smoke smell.

Gourmands raved and ranted: “The first of its kind, a new iteration of a classic dish with fresh butchered goodness.”

Those damn foodies and their love of eating freshly dead meat that still moo-ed on the plate.

I was a newly designated detective of my precinct. I had been working my way up the ranks for about a year trying to make a change in the way society saw me. Saw us.

“The first wolf dectective Franklin Big! What a time to be alive!” Our sheep Chief of police yelled in a boisterous tone as my colleagues clinked tall boys that glistened the coldness of the brew sweetly.

They all wanted to eat at that stupid restaurant after drinks to celebrate.

“I gotta get home. I have some stuff that I gotta do,” I lied, my sharp fang’s dangerously grinning at the mostly vegetarian cast that made up my entire precinct. I could see I made them uncomfortable. No one ever asked to be my partner or friend. They all smiled falsely as I left the bar without protest.

Wolves have a nasty reputation of being big and bad. Maybe they should check their stats and see that there are also veggie options for murder. And love, too, as it turns out.

I was actually seeing someone but it was a secret.

But I had to investigate something first. There had been scary reports of many wolves being kidnapped.

I used my in with the family and snuck my way in the restaurant after closing.

Then I saw it.

Garbage bags full of wolf tails, incisors and guts. I’ll blow the lid of this place. Pigs that eat us wolves. What a story. But, I had to go home first to tell my boyfriend about his nasty, murderous brothers.

The third pig brother is my lover.

———

Here is the link to the Fucked Up Fairy Tale challenge.

My good friend Dharshee created a crazy good submission to this challenge! Check it out

If you enjoyed my story, check out one of my other messed up fairy tales that is longer than this one.

MicrofictionLoveHorrorFableCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 14 days ago

    I had a friend tell me a story about 3 little wolves and a mean pig 🐷 on Saturday she'd read. I am on both of their sides. Wolves usually don't eat pigs and pigs will eat anything really. Even their owners! Squeal!

  • JBaz14 days ago

    Great little twist, Wolves always get a bad wrap, it is those innocent types you have to watch out for.

  • Whoaaaa, this was bloody brilliant! Pigs that eat wolves and the fact that the wolf's lover was the third pig brother! Lol, I never saw that coming! Gosh you nailed this challenge! Also, thank you so much for the shoutout! So kind of you! 🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.