Fiction logo

Picking up the pieces of happiness

Some people say that happiness is very simple. Yes, happiness is not necessarily grand and amazing, happiness is joy, the simple joy of discovering the beauty of life

By Celia R MuellerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Picking up the pieces of happiness
Photo by Fernanda Greppe on Unsplash

  Some people say that happiness is very simple. Yes, happiness is not necessarily grand and amazing, happiness is joy, the simple joy of discovering the beauty of life, which can be touched by just reaching out. With a heart that never grows old, a calm attitude, and a positive mindset, happiness can be picked up everywhere.

  Happiness can be a touch of warmth in cold winter.

  I remember when I was a child, there was a very cold winter. At that time, my thin body could not resist the cold, and my hands were red with cold. The mother beside me noticed my embarrassment and held my hand with her gentle and slender hands while putting my other hand into her equally warm pocket. My mother was like an angel, with a smile on her face, and my hand was wrapped in the warmth of maternal love that permeated my skin and flowed throughout my body, warmer than the best down jacket on my body. With a tinge of warmth lingering on my heart, I picked up happiness in my mother's pocket.

  Happiness can be a ray of sunshine in the early morning.

  In the summer, after a day of classes, I ate all the knowledge in my head all day long and went home with a tired head, and fell asleep. The next morning, I was still asleep when I saw a ray of sunshine through my sleepy eyes. I suddenly lost all sleep, my heart inexplicably rose a kind of joy. It was the joy of being able to enjoy the true glory of nature in the middle of the city, and the joy of having finished resting and having a fulfilling day. Thanks to nature, I am happy for this day, and I have picked up the happiness of nature's gift from the early morning sun.

  Happiness can also be a sweetness in the blandness of the day.

  After coming home from school, I saw my family again after a long absence, and my mind was pulled out from the heavy homework to welcome the warm hugs of my family. My grandfather, who was always serious and stereotypical, also showed a smile and started to peel an apple for me seriously as usual. As soon as I got home in the evening after a week of studying, I chewed on this apple and found it incredibly sweet. The human palate is so easily satisfied, and the mind is just as easily satisfied as the palate. I picked up the happiness of the good life from the sweetness of the apple.

  Happiness is very simple, a touch of warmth, a ray of sunshine, or sweetness, as long as you have a positive attitude and a peaceful mind, you can pick up happiness in ordinary life!

Plum Mountain loves" that thing

Now every time I hear the sound of the bell, I can't help but think of the situation when everyone was scrambling to rehearse for the school song competition ------

When the bell in my ears was no longer the cheerful and relaxing music, but a song I couldn't hear much of the lyrics to, I didn't care much, just took it as a reminder and rested in the melody as usual. It wasn't until one day when the announcement was made for everyone to attend the school song rehearsal at the athletic field in the afternoon during the 3rd and 4th periods that I just realized that this song that I heard every day was our school song.

The biggest problem was that we hadn't taken music class since the beginning of the semester, and we hadn't even read the most basic lyrics. During the first rehearsal stood there and didn't know what to do, and in the end, we could only hum along with the melody, but not a word.

The second rehearsal was at the basketball court, and despite the hot sun and the irritating heat, everyone still stood there meticulously and rehearsed seriously.

After this time, there were several more hard rehearsals, and the results were better than each other, however, the date of the competition was getting closer and closer.

To further stimulate everyone's enthusiasm for the competition, the principal also invited himself to send a message, saying that as long as our school song competition could achieve first place in Liandu District, the day the results came out, we would be free of homework for one day! This is better than the effect of stimulants, everyone's interest in rehearsal increased, full of energy, the atmosphere is incomparably exhilarating, as expected of the principal, immediately seized the lifeblood of the students, we are like a hungry lion encountered a delicious food generally, eyes glowing with excitement!

Finally, on the day of the competition, the whole school, teachers and students came together, dressed neatly, the teachers also put on the red scarf, looking refreshed, and also in the center of the field set up a flame graphic, which is our school emblem but also reflects the enthusiasm of everyone like a fire, everyone did their best, singing, in my opinion, everyone to avoid a day of homework is also quite hard. In the end, the students showed the best result since the rehearsal, no matter what the result is, we are satisfied with the process, so it doesn't matter if we win or lose.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Celia R Mueller

Read a million books, travel a million miles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.