Fiction logo

Phoenix rising!

Past life ends. New life begins.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
4
Created by DALLE*2

"Firestorm, aren't you supposed to be extinct or something, from a seriously, really long time ago. How is it possible that you are here now in 2023"?

"How can I be extinct, if every time that I die, I get reborn from my ashes. I have no idea who came up with that story. We phoenixes just know how to keep to ourselves and hide away from the prying eyes of the world".

"I know. It was just sheer luck that I ran into you here in Paradise. Had I not gotten lost when my Aircar ran out of gas in this uncharted part of the world, I would not have met you all". I answered.

"Don't you want to go back to your people, Mayella. You have been here a while. And I did show you how to make petrol for your car out of the manure and plants on this island".

"Would you be in a hurry to go back if you were me. You know what the world is like. This is Paradise, maybe not paradise as we imagine it in the version in Heaven, but this is as close as it gets to that. Plus, my family knows that I am on vacation, they won't be worried right now".

Aircars had just recently been invented, and I had been quite eager to take mine on a trip over the Great forests of Arabasia. When the Aircar stalled, it started falling. From out of nowhere, a great flock of phoenixes took hold of the car and gently guided it to the ground. I am over my awe and disbelief and now enjoy the company of these beautiful creatures. I have been here for three days, and spent the whole time exploring the island and eating the delicious fruits and edible plants that abound everywhere. The water is so pure, it tastes like the nectar of the Gods. At least that is how I imagine godly nectar would taste.

"Firestorm, now that I am all acclimated to your island, can you tell me some more about the life of a phoenix".

"I would be glad to. But first you must promise never to divulge the existence of this place to anyone. Humans are not known for their ability to preserve the sanctity of nature". Firestorm sounded nostalgic, as if he were remembering a past time, when his life was not the paradise that it is presently.

"You have no need to ask Firestorm. Paradise on earth must remain hidden from normal existence. I shall take it to my final rest. That is a promise".

"Good. What would you like to know".

"Everything". I answered eagerly.

The Large phoenix stared off into the distance, as if seeing civilizations of distant past. He stood up straight, fluffed and preened his wings, then made himself comfortable, before beginning.

"Everyone thinks that phoenixes are mythological. That there is only one of our kind in the world. Yes, we do live for 500 or more years and then die by burning to ashes on a pyre of our own making, ignited by the sun. We then arise anew from the ashes.

I have been reborn so many times, seen so many civilizations come and go, that I can fill an entire city with volumes of historical and dramatical stories. I can tell many fateful sagas of kindness, goodness and the savage nature of beasts and men".

Firestorm was a large orange red bird, with shaded green hues flexed along the tips of his magnificent wings and down to his powerful legs. One eye was a brilliant shade of yellow, and the other like a shining sapphire which seemed to pierce through to your very soul. He sounded tired and worn out.

DALLE*2

"The Phoenix, known to have regenerative powers and to be both invincible and immortal – except at the end of our natural life cycle, was known to be a symbol of fire and divinity often used by powerful leaders. The tears of the bird is thought to have regenerative abilities that can be harnessed by humans. It is impossible for a person to tell a lie if the creature is nearby.

Additionally, it was considered good luck in many cultures to spot a Phoenix. It could signify that a good leader who was very wise, had been given ruling power, and also to be the sign of a new era". The great bird paused for a moment.

"Does that mean that I am to become a great leader in a new upcoming era". I asked, even though I had no aspirations of that sort at all.

'Yes. I believe you will be. I see great things in your future".

"Wait, you can tell the future. I was awfully curious about that.

Firestorm made what sounded like a laugh but evaded the question.

"All in it's own time". I must finish my tale before my time comes. The bird replied.

"Phoenixes have a different diet than the birds of this world. Instead of eating fruits and nuts, the Phoenix consumes frankincense and aromatic gums. This plays into our impressive lifespan. We collect normal herbs or spices when preparing for our cycle to come to an end, and the new Phoenix to emerge. When it is time for this, the bird will gather cinnamon and myrrh to construct its funeral pyre, we may or may not consume either of these materials before our death".

"Is that what is in front of you now". I had seen him collecting things all day.

"Yes. It is my time. You came at a very opportune time. Goodbye my friend".

I watched in amazement as Firestorm suddenly burst into flames. He had reached the end of his immortal phase and must die in order to rise again. The light was blinding to the frail human eyes of Mayella.

DALLE*2

Young Firestorm's head was the first part of the phoenix's body to emerge from the ashes.

New phoenix rising

She was magnificent!

HistoricalFantasyFable
4

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • aly suhailabout a year ago

    Interesting choice to write using phoenix, and great story telling.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a really interesting concept! I love that the animal you chose to talk to is a Phoenix, one of favourite creates of all time!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.