Fiction logo

Magical Realism? UMMM...

Joining all the folks who have no clue to finding the illusive answer to the question about such a thing.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2023
39
Magical Realism? UMMM...
Photo by Hulki Okan Tabak on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky.

Wait....back up. I reach quickly for the phone.

Meanwhile, I too am Googling, Wikipedia-ing and paging through the Encyclopedia (you young ones may not know what that is) to read up on Magical Realism. Never heard of it before, never even knew that it existed. My Cauldron had yielded no answer. If Cauldron couldn't help, then I really must need a stronger power.

First of all, I didn't see much magic in the stories that portrayed Magical realism. A few made up cities, a really wonderful story of a young girl's plight and such stories. Where was the magic. No fairies, no pixie dust, no witches that made for fantasy and wishes for wings to fly.

How exactly does dancing purple clouds and blushing sky fit in here?

Magic realism or magical realism is a style of literary fiction and art. It paints a realistic view of the world while also adding magical elements, often blurring the lines between fantasy and reality. Magic realism often refers to literature in particular, with magical or supernatural phenomena presented in an otherwise real-world or mundane setting, commonly found in novels and dramatic performances. Despite including certain magic elements, it is generally considered to be a different genre from fantasy because magical realism uses a substantial amount of realistic detail and employs magical elements to make a point about reality, while fantasy stories are often separated from reality. Magical realism is often seen as an amalgamation of real and magical elements that produces a more inclusive writing form than either literary realism or fantasy

There you have it. So, despite being called magical, one must just add a teensy bit of magic and a lot of realism.

I dial the telephone of Sultan Zoltar of Spears.

If anyone could help me, it would surely be him. He dealt in this stuff every day.

Ringgggg, ringgggg, ringggg. Answer the bloody phone Sultan.

"Hello, who dis, who u be wantin'."? It is your phone, so chances are, I am calling you dude.

"Hello, Sultan. Can you help me with my story of Magical Realism"? I ask hopefully.

"Magical what, what you talking about. Is this Zelda"?

"Yes, it's Zelda. Can you look into the crystal ball, amulet or skull or something. I am writing a story and need some help".

"Zelda, you a witch, why you asking me"?

"Just look into your crystal ball and tell me what you see". I replied in annoyance, if I knew I certainly would not be bothering this cranky old wizard.

"Ok, ok, hold your horses a minute there Zelda. I will take a look".

Zoltar grudgingly reached for the Skull and wand. He passed the wand over the skull, chanted, mumbled and sprinkled some eye of newt, and wing of bat on the skull. He drew the crystal ball forward and gulped in fear.

"Zelda, help". I heard over the phone.

"Are you ok Zoltar"? I shouted.

Out of the crystal ball poured purple clouds and blushing sky. Zoltar and his whole castle were lifted up, up into the sky.

"I know what it is Zelda. It's........."! The phone went dead.

The castle flew high over many lands, the cloud and sky showed Zoltar the true meaning of the Magical Realism of stories. He wished Zelda could see it for herself.

No sooner had the thought crossed his mind, when the castle spun in the air and flew far towards the west, headed for Zelda's coven. She was not home, so the clouds headed back to Zoltar's place.

Meanwhile, being quite worried, I had driven with great speed to Zoltar's castle. Neither the castle nor Zoltar could I find.

Now I had lost my mentor and his castle. I was no closer to solving the puzzle of Magical Realism, and time was running out.

Suddenly a great bird appeared in the sky. On closer inspection however, I saw what seemed like a very large house flying towards me.

Zoltar, I said to myself. He must have learned some new tricks.

Finally, I can get some answers about my question.

HumorFantasy
39

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Adam Stanbridgeabout a year ago

    Awesome work, perhaps I should have read this before making my submission... although I think mine passes, lol. still, yours is exceptional. :) Heart, comment, insight and subbed.

  • This story is a delightful and whimsical take on the concept of Magical Realism. The author does a great job of weaving together elements of fantasy and reality to create a truly magical world. The sentence "Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky" is a beautiful description that perfectly captures the essence of the story's magical atmosphere. However, the story could benefit from a bit more clarity and structure. The plot jumps around quite a bit, which can be confusing for readers. Additionally, some of the dialogue could be tightened up to make it more engaging and effective. Overall, though, this story is a fun and engaging read that will appeal to fans of magical and fantastical fiction. The author's use of imagery and description is particularly strong, and they clearly have a knack for creating imaginative and enchanting worlds. Feel free to read my take on this challange: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-purple-tempest

  • Nikki Clamabout a year ago

    Wow, I loved your piece on magical realism! It was so engaging and really drew me in. I can't wait to read more of your work!

  • Lol, this was soooo funny! The dialogues were hilarious! You outdid yourself, Novlet! This story was both very entertaining and informative!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This was delightful :). It is so tricky writing magical realism but you wrote yours well. ❤️'d and subscribed :)

  • Earnings money online about a year ago

    Love

  • Sarahmarie Specht-Birdabout a year ago

    Hehe. Creative take on the prompt. I love it!

  • Benjamin Leeabout a year ago

    beutifull

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Very creative! I enjoyed the read.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great story. Congrats on the TS

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This was a hoot! Great job. Reminded me of this girl on tictok that scams the scammers as an old lady, confusing intentionally what they are asking. It was a fun, fun story

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This was awesome and I loved the self-referential nature of the story. Would definitely keep reading if there was more, well done!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Seeeeeeee!!! Great things were coming and here is one of them!!! Your hard work has payed off!!

  • Nicely done!!

  • aly suhailabout a year ago

    Great, seems you enjoyed writing this.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This is terrific! Giggled all the way through. Smart.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This is the most confusing challenge ever 🤣. I kinda like it now though! Camaraderie in frustration 😁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I saw a minor mistake. Missed a quotation mark in the line “I know what it is Zelda. Its………!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    You have so much fun with your work and its apart on the stories you publish! I love your ever evolving fresh take on challenges!

  • Tiffany Joanneabout a year ago

    lol, I enjoyed this thoroughly. great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.