Fiction logo

Outside The Window

Land of Others and the Forgotten

By M.K JonaePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

My Mother's hair sprawled wildly. Eyes filled with pride as my Father ranted about changes coming our way.

“Landers was beautiful, lively, and filled with financial opportunities for the Others. The Forgotten, what they call us, the less fortunate ones. We became complacent to a society that did not benefit us. The Forgotten were lost. Working underpaid jobs and barely paying their rent. Beaten down mentally, they, we, were losing". He paused harshly.

I broke away from the floor and looked up at his cold eyes. His eyes were pouring out pain and regret.

He proudly continued, "They fought and put their lives on the line for a better future. The ones originally in charge, called the Others by the Forgotten, refused to share. They could not fathom a world where everyone was equal,” He said.

He looked at me with hope now.

“I am sorry, I do not want to throw this on you, but things will get worse before they get better. You deserve the future we are fighting for.”

I tried to gather up the thousands of questions I had when my mother lightened up the conversation, “We got this for you Winterr, happy birthday. We can hardly believe you are ten already! ”I snatched it open with excitement.

My eyes lit up when I saw it contained a heart-shaped locket. On the back, it had my initials WD for Winterr Dalin. I've never seen something so beautiful. I jumped up and fit myself between their tall bodies.

Winterr

I woke up early and crawled into my Parents' bedroom.

My Mother’s kind eyes were at the brink of dropping tears. I saw beside her thin frame was my Father holding her wide hips tightly as if his life depended on it.

“ Oh good, you are awake uhm happy 18th birthday”. My mothers' words shook as they left her mouth. She looked terrified.

Before I could say thank you, she started rambling. “The Others in our community are starting to feel riled up again,”

I noticed my fathers' gun hanging loosely on his hip. He had been staring at the frame placed in the center of the bedroom wall. Its holes revealed the outside. It was a humbling reminder that we still have not won.

I followed his dead glaze and saw the Others grabbing guns and supplies. Throughout the night, more moved into our community.

It did not look like today was going to be a celebration.

They carried a dead look in their eyes. Their patchy skin rough and raw. It was nice seeing the Others like this. I let out a harsh chuckle. After all, this is what they deserved.

“ Do you think they are going to attack us? ” I broke away from the view of the outside.

“I wish I could say no. From the looks of it, they are ready for another battle in this town.” My Father let out an annoyed sigh. “ We are going to call the Forgotten fighters.” He grabbed our shared small collapsible phone and walked into the hallway with my Mom stuck on his hip.

"I hope you guys did not forget Winterr is coming today!” I yelled. I attempted to hide my excitement. Today I just wanted to have someone hug me, kiss me, and make me feel something other than this consistent curse of worry.

The Forgotten have been hiding out in their homes for a while preparing for this day. For two whole months, I haven't been able to touch her. Smell her long locs or press my lips against her smooth cheeks.

With this local battle starting soon I knew I had to see her. I had something important to tell her. Besides, it is still my birthday.

I picked up my heart-shaped locket. It was cold, stuck in my jewelry box for protection. I loved the way it looked. Its gold reminded me of strength.

Tabitha

Every day I struggle to wake up. This world is ugly. I guess what we had was no better but the only thing we have now is dust. I despise this constant sight of rubble, burning bodies, and lost people.

I sat up and avoided looking out at the view outside from the living room. Since our parents left to fight, we have been sitting here waiting. Not sure what we are waiting for anymore.

I wish I knew if they were okay.

“We will be out in five minutes," I said to Sierra who was half awake in her shared pallet with Mikey.

When my parents went to fight, they assumed our town would be safe. They were heavily mistaken. New boats of the Others have been coming in our town. They walk slyly through, peeking into our homes. Luckily we have gotten good at hiding around the frames of glass.

We left before the sun rose to hide in the night. We hid in between the corners of the dark road. I was afraid that the wicked Others would attack if they saw we were vulnerable. We carried weapons that we did not want to use.

As much as I care about Winterr, this whole war is exhausting. I want it to be the way it was. Even if it means losing everything the Forgotten has fought to gain.

"We there yet?” Sweat formed above his furrowed brow. I looked down at him and nodded. Mikey was sixteen, Sierra seventeen. They should be going on dates, hanging out with friends, and going to school.

Image from IStock Photos

Winterr

I grabbed my weapon and slid to the doorway avoiding the frames with glass.

Butterflies shot through me when I saw her beautiful locs through the small door hole. I slapped the door open and pulled them inside. “Get in”, my humongous smile cascading my face.

I took in the lovely view I had restricted from me during this treacherous power struggle. I hugged them tightly.

"Are you doing okay?" I asked, looking at Sierra and Mikey.

“ Yes, just a little tired, '' Sierra replied.

“ Okay you guys go to the back and lay down, it is still pretty early”

“ Tabitha, Sierra, and Mikey are here!” I yelled to the back room.

“ Wow Winterr, you look even more beautiful." Her beautiful almond eyes were all I could focus on. My cheeks were hurting. I basked in this happiness that I never wanted to end.

“ I missed you.” I hugged her and gathered the words I've been holding from her. I knew there would not be much time.

“ Happy birthday!” She exclaimed. She pulled away from me and pressed her soft mocha lips against mine.

I allowed myself to get lost in the moment until I heard strange noises from the back room.

“AHHHHHH”

She pushed me behind her and grabbed the weapon on the living room table. I searched for her gaze. She looked sick to her stomach. She nodded her head towards the back and slid carefully to check each crease and corner for intruders.

To our dismay, we crept around the corner and saw the room was empty. Before I could panic, I saw Tabitha's eyes.

I followed her gaze and saw the Others outside the glass frame. They had our families in their grimy, slimy, rough hands. The Others were across the street, they stood in fighting formation. Their heads twisting and turning for trouble. Their faces were harsh. They looked cold even though it was Fall.

I held onto Tabitha’s arm. I looked at my Dad through the view of the outside. He seemed brave even surrounded by people that hated him.

My mom looked as if she was somewhere else entirely.

Tabitha

“Once again ladies and gentlemen, Tabitha was right. We should have never come here, we should have never started this stupid rivalry.” Winter ignored my harsh words. We stared in disgust as the Others poke and prodded at our loved ones.

“ What are we going to do?" I shot a cold stare at Winterr as those dumb words left her mouth. I don't know why she called me here. Her gazed lowered at my cold stare. I let out an annoyed sigh. “If only I had all the answers Winterr, then we would not be here”. I looked at her beautiful thick afro. It seemed like the only thing growing nowadays.

She crawled to the living room. I listened to her on the radio phone.

My head fell into my hands as all these responsibilities filled up my thoughts.

“Winterr, don't you see how stupid this is? Look at where we are at right now”. My tired eyes told a million stories of these past few years of terrorizing events.

“ It’s going to be worth it! It has to be” She sounded annoyed with my complaining. I was annoyed with her hopefulness. How can she see hope in this evil disaster?

She laid her head on my chest. I breathed in the smell of her peppermint-scented homemade shampoo.

After what felt like a lifetime, their bus pulled up. The Others' faces lit up with shock. They huddled together while our families ran towards the bus.

We walked out the long frame with caution.

“ Mom and Dad!” Winterr walked beside the bus and pulled them towards her embrace. I grabbed Sierra and Mikey allowing my baggy T-shirt to drown them in my arms.

The battle on Winterr’s street was going to begin, right here right now. The Others were getting rowdy. They pulled guns out of their house. The forgotten gathered their weapons and after a few minutes, bullets were shooting whisking around the street.

We ducked while Winterr’s Mom and Dad geared up to join the fight.

“ I’m going out there too”. I attempted to ignore Winterr arrogant words and pulled her to follow me. I felt a strong resistance. I whipped my head around and pulled her hands into mine.

“Winterr, please don't go out there. It’s not worth it, I promise! This war is not going to end over battles. How can you not see that?” Desperation was falling out of my mouth.

“Unlike you, we refuse to sit back and allow fear to dictate our lives. We will fight to win.” Winterr pulled away from me and walked towards her home avoiding bullets. I followed behind her and fought back my useless words. I watched her put on her war gear. She tried to not look at me while I watched her the whole way.

After she got dressed, she finally met my eyes.

Loud booms banged through my ears, I winced. “It’s okay,” She said, caressing my cheek.

“Winterr, just come back,” I grabbed her lightly and brushed my lips against hers. When I forced myself to let go, she pulled away with tears building up in her soft eyes.

“ Everything will be amazing”. Her words flowed gently out her small lips. She held onto her heart-shaped locket and let out her hopeful smile.

She will return is what ran through my mind as I watched her scurrying towards the rectangular exit. My siblings and I hid in the corners and waited. Not sure what we are waiting for anymore.

My heart has never beaten this fast.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

M.K Jonae

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.