Fiction logo

Rose

The fear of tomorrow was here. As if yesterday never existed or mattered.

By M.K JonaePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
2
Image from IStock photos

I lifted my eyelids and shortly heavy tears rushed down. I had to be the strong one for us. I had to keep going.

I could not help but notice my dreams were becoming as dark as my reality. My arm felt heavy from the internal battles in my sleep.

My nightmares were drenched with my worst fear, dying alone. I lifted myself, barely wanting to. I felt terror rip through my body as I prepared to face another day.

The fear of tomorrow was here. As if yesterday never existed or mattered.

“Just stop your crying

It's a sign of the times

We gotta get away from here

We gotta get away from here

Stop your crying

Baby, it'll be alright

They told me that the end is near

We gotta get away from here”.

Sign of the times by Harry Styles played through my dying phone as I gathered my tiny extinct strength. I picked up a few essentials for my terrifying trip. I picked up my journal.

It has been my only friend these days.

I longed for a companion in these moments. Voices other than the vicious one that flowed through my anxious mind.

I slowly opened my door and checked outside. I was shocked to see a heart-shaped locket placed carefully on my doorstep.

It was shiny, beautiful and it seemed to be a sign. A sign that I am crazy, maybe but, It is still a sign.

I looked around for whoever left the rusty locket. At this point, I think I will take anyone. I can not help but wish it was Antwon coming to my rescue. I deeply miss his smile and hugs. I need a savior. To my despair, no one was there. I felt relieved and afraid at the same time.

I grabbed my lightly packed bag and began my search for a new home. Until I was able to get to the safe place of course. I pushed my bushy curls into a ponytail and allowed my swollen feet to guide me. I wish I knew where to go. I only knew I could not sit in this house anymore. By the days, I am getting bigger and bigger. I need help.

As I walked my thoughts began to race. It distracted me from the inevitable.

This world of mine was not always this lonely. I had friends, family, even a lover. None of it was perfect but, it was something. I only wish I appreciated it when I had it.

You see, a few months before this day. I woke up alone. My lover ran and took the love and happiness we shared. Unknowingly he did leave one thing. He left a raging flower in me growing by the day. In our old medical terms, I am growing by the trimester. I want to call her Rose. Naming her now seems stupid. Maybe even ironic since I should not worry about such petty things.

I have no idea how I am going to do this on my lonesome.

My family and friends evacuated this dreaded land. While me and my lover Antwon waited to leave the following day. We had to be sure it was safe for travel. I guess he was safer on his own.

I tried to leave a few days later but, the smoke and burning got worse. Now I am stuck running from fires attempting to save our body from burning.

It's now been around seven months. Seven lonely months running from the flames by jumping from house to house. From the looks of the dust and shattered burned down homes. The fire was approaching my way quicker than ever.

After a few minutes of walking my feet began to throb. The shoes I had were worn out and old. I rested behind a tree and tried not to think about the worst-case scenario. I looked up at the nature around me with pure disgust. I miss simple things such as watching the sunset. I missed the lakes being a place of peace. I miss going on lovely adventures instead of this forgotten Hell.

I try to think about how there has to be a safe place. I need to find it. I need to know where everyone went. I daydream of days where I reunite with my loved ones. Antwon never shared the destination with me. I was always down for the journey as long as he was with me.

Now Antwon is not, no one is. I am not ready!

I held my breath when I heard the sounds of others. Only to peek and see a family of squirrels that moved as urgently as my thoughts. I wondered if those squirrels worried about death too.

Image from IStock photos.

I noticed a small cabin that looked safe. I grabbed my small bag of things and wobbled to the Cabin with slight caution.

I heard a loud whoosh behind me. I turned my head and my feet picked up a quicker pace. The heat behind me pushed me. Fire guided me until I was behind the wooden doors. Everything was red smoke shot up, hitting the sky. Tears built up in my eyes as I thought about the world I was left alone to live within.

I grabbed a bottle of water left in the fridge. In the Cabin, there were pictures of a family. I saw a Mom, Dad, and three daughters. In this picture, they were on the beach. I felt their happiness as my tears hit the frame.

After I got done crying for the third time today. I grabbed out my journal and let my words spill onto the paper. I placed the locket down beside me and wrote about the tragedy of the times.

I turned on the Radio and the lyrics smoke to me.

"Just close your eyes, the sun is going down

You'll be alright, no one can hurt you now

Come morning light, you and I'll be safe and sound

Don't you dare look out your window, darling everything's on fire

The war outside our door keeps raging on

Hold onto this lullaby even when the music's gone, gone"

Taylor swift "Safe and Sound" played loudly through the speakers.

I wrote in my journal...

In the beginning, before the end, we tried. We worked, battled our internal demons and embraced the beauty we were allowed to enjoy.

I wish I could tell this paper that it was someone from the sky or another planet. I wish so badly for that to be true. Instead, this tale was inevitable.

It was Man-made like most things in this world.

Millions of poor citizens decided they were not going to work anymore. They decided to not contribute to the rich getting richer.

First, they destroyed the money systems. They burned banks, technology, and company buildings. The goal was to create a better community. One that did not only benefit the rich.

A society containing wealth for all of us. One that did not take up most of our time and energy. None of us ever had enough money it did not matter how much we worked.

I guess they asked for too much.

The rich wanted it all.

In defense, the rich, including our leaders, went to war against us.

The rich decided that nobody deserved to live free if it was not on their terms. Therefore death, destruction, and worldwide terror reeked upon us.

Some escaped, they had to have. I only wish I knew where so I could go there too.

I sat the pencil down in my dramatic fashion. I am drained and beaten down by this tragedy. This life was not for Rose and me.

That is what she will be named, Rose.

I pulled out the heart-shaped locket and placed it on the paper. I put my hands on my enlarged belly and drifted into a deep sleep.

Written by Kya.Jonae

Short Story
2

About the Creator

M.K Jonae

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.