Fiction logo

Oscuro Lluvia

The Beauty Behind The Madness

By Justice JudgePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Oscuro Lluvia
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

There she was, standing on top of the roof. Her beautiful hair flowing in the wind. The rain falls gently around her. Buildings burn around her. The night falls around her. Bodies lie beneath her. Blood flows around her.

She didn't want my help. She didn't need it either. I just wanted to be there. To be with her. She still wears the locket I gave her. The fire dances off the locket.

Blood stains her skin around it. She protected it. The heart shaped locket to match her heart shaped face.

"Never open it," I said. "Unless you see me dead."

I gave her my heart. Quite literally. Inside that locket, is a piece of my heart. Always and forever. Only for her. And she doesn't even know.

As the world crumbles around her, she is the most beautiful, dangerous, powerful woman to ever live. To ever walk this earth, or the next.

She is what the world needs.

She is what I need.

She believes that I will always be there to save her.

But she has always been there to save me.

The rain washes her skin. Her beautiful skin becomes clean of all of the blood of her enemies. I am now her enemy, Yet she still wears the locket.

She could've killed me if she really wanted. None of her enemies are alive.

Except for me.

Maybe she doesn't want to know what's inside the locket.

She moves along the rooftops with such elegance and grace. She slips into on open window, disappearing into the shadows. I slip in after her, sure to be silent. There she is, in all her beauty and grace.

She is a different kind of beautiful. The kind of beauty that is comparable to rain. Even after all of this bloodshed, and murder. She is truly as beautiful as rain.

Lluvia.

Her name even means rain. She finally speaks.

"Why?" Her voice, a sweet poison. A whisper.

Why what?

Why did I betray her?

Why did I torture her?

Why did she love me after it all?

Why did I still love her?

"Why what?" My voice is hoarse.

"Why did you have to break this world too?"

I had broken this world. And maybe the next.

The secret clans of assassins, the clans of archers, the clans of warriors. All crumbled because of me.

Born of an archer mother and a warrior father, in love with an assassin. The most powerful one. The one destined to destroy me.

"I was bored." She didn't take kindly to this half-hearted joke.

Her face flashes. A kind of hate that I had only seen before she killed my father.

I hear her draw her weapon. I hear her planning. Which concealed weapon will be used when. I can hear her breathing change. The same it always does before she fights.

"I will not fight you." My voice breaks. I am trying to be defiant. Trying to remain calm.

"Then this will end soon." Dark. No forgiveness.

A cliché scenario too.

I put my hands behind my head and kneel. She didn't want my surrender. She wanted a fight. She wanted to watch me try to fight her.

She doesn't love me anymore. I can't blame her. My father murdered her entire family based on a false piece of information I had given him.

I had created this hell of a world. Where only the people with sheer strength and wits survive.

I had ruined any hope of being able to love her the way we wanted.

"We could've changed the laws. We could've been able to marry if it hadn't been for you and your selfish ways. Now, the world will rebuild to what it once was. And people like us, who love outside of the ordinary, will never be heard. We will never be allowed to love each other."

She was crying now. She really did love me. She wanted to be able to still love me. She had wanted to marry me.

She took off the locket and even as she was about to kill me, I still loved her. She's still the most beautiful person. Oscuro Lluvia. Dark Rain. The most beautiful wonder of nature.

She put the locket in my breast pocket. Right over my heart.

"I don't know how you gave me a piece of your heart. I wish I would've never had to give it back." Her heart is breaking. I can see it in her eyes. The most merciless assassin can't kill me. Because she loves me.

She's quite close now. I could kiss her if I wanted. Slowly, I reach for her. I put my hands on her hips carefully, as to not startle her.

I feel the hilt of a dagger against my finger tip. I bury my face in her neck. Breathing her scent one last time. I feel my tears run down my face, resting on her skin. My body is hunched. I am trying to appear small. I always was taller than her. She was always slimmer than me. I can feel her relax. She is allowing me this. My love.

I have burdened her for too long. She shouldn't have to see my greatest failure. With a final inhale of her soft skin, I pull the dagger out of her belt.

She has a look of shock on her face. Sadness too. Or maybe she's frightened. The blood spreads and drips onto the floor. I remove the blade from where I had stabbed it in and watched the blood drip a little more consistently.

The tears are moving down her face like a stream. Breathing is a little more difficult. I start to fall. I feel my head connect with the stone floor and in an instant, she is there. She is over me, screaming and crying. Asking me why.

It always was "why" with her. She needed an answer for everything. This time, I didn't have one. I was causing her pain so the simple solution was to do what she couldn't. Kill me.

I had saw the blood on my clothes before I felt the felt the pain. Everything became much worse after I took the dagger out though.

She hears the laboured breath. The soft wheezes. She is trying to slow down the bleeding but it is too late.

She takes the locket out of my pocket and puts it back on.

She leans closer to me, our lips nearly touching. I want to touch them. To trace their shape one last time.

I lift my hand up and she grabs it, pressing it to her cheek. I move my thumb along her lips and she cries harder.

With my last bit of strength, I move her face closer to mine. She looks into my eyes for a second before she closes them and presses her lips to mine.

Her lips are as soft as her skin. Her scent as sweet as her voice. Everything feels heavy. The locket hangs on her neck, resting on my chest.

"I love you."

The last word she said to me.

The last words I heard.

My heart in the locket stops beating.

Everything goes black.

Peace.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Justice Judge

She/ Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.