Fiction logo

Open Hands

aren't meant to pry open hearts

By Thavien YliasterPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
43
Open Hands
Photo by Sahand Babali on Unsplash

"There, there, little one," she cooed to the newborn. "You're alright. You're in safe hands. I promise you."

It's dissatisfied little moans permeated the quietness of the room. Rubbing its whiskers this-way-and-that, it tried to search for the warmest spot to rest its weary head. Squirming in the palms of what seemed like a giant to it, the babe tucked its legs underneath of itself, trying to retain as much heat as possible.

"God, he's going to hate me for this, but hopefully he'll come around sooner or later."

As the sound of the door hinge signaled his arrival, he said, "Honey, I'm home! How'd the fundraiser turn out?"

"Oh, just lovely. We hit our mark more than three times today thanks to your advertising skills!"

"Well, that sounds great!" His voice echoed from the kitchen, she could hear him rummaging through the cupboard and the cutlery drawer. "I'm making a sandwich right now. Do you want anything?"

"Nah, I'm good." Then it struck her, "Well, actually, I'd like for you to come here. I got a surprise for ya'."

"Oh really?" His mind immediately raced towards his carnal desires. "What is it you'd like to show me?" His footsteps approached rapidly, eager to satisfy his curiosity.

As soon as he rounded the corner, and saw her holding the babe, he had stopped dead in his tracks. Even his sandwich hung limp in his mouth.

"Now, now, before you begin, I just gotta tell you that I found this little cutey in a box near the dumpster on the side of the building while I was tidying up from the event. I just couldn't leave him there, and I figured that since you've-."

"Stop."

She stammered, "But babe."

"Please, stop." He turned to leave.

She placed the newborn in a laundry basket laden with blanketed pillows before giving chase. "Babe, what's the matter?" She placed a hand on his shoulder.

The sandwich became crushed in his hand, its contents oozing out from all sides of the bread, "I'm just- I'm just not ready."

She began to rub his back, "I know babe, but it's been well over a year."

"Still, I'm not ready. I can't replace her like that. I raised her since she was a kitt in highschool. Dealing with sleepless nights just to make sure that she was well fed. I even broke my perfect attendance record for her."

"Shhhh, shhh, shhh..."

"Then after she passed, I thought I could do it all over again with another one, but-," the words caught in his throat as his eyes began to swell, "after I fed him and he went to sleep on my chest, I woke up an hour later and he wasn't breathing anymore. My shirt was stained red from his button, and I just felt absolutely powerless to do anything. I couldn't do anything to help him."

As his tears rolled, she wrapped her arms around his back and began to sway him from side-to-side, "Well, listen, I know that your heart's still hurting, but that little one still needs someone to love him." She stopped so they could hear the his little mews echo from the living room into the hallway. "Honey, I'm not asking you to love him, but if you wouldn't mind could you please love me through this process?"

Taking in a deep breath, he calmed himself, "Okay. That, I can do."

"There's my big, strong, man." She kissed him on the cheek, "Now, I'm going to need your help, cause I have no idea how to bottle feed."

"Did you buy some formula?"

"Box is already sitting in the kitchen."

Short StoryMicrofictionLoveCONTENT WARNING
43

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Ah, little kitty cat. Heartwarming tale, Thavien!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Poor baby! 😢 where is his mama 😢

  • I love this heartwarming story! Well done!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    This is such a sweet piece, Thavien. Love it

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Thavien, this was such a beautiful and heart warming story about grief and the love we feel for our beloved animals! Also congratulations on Top Story, I see why it was chosen! So well earned, my friend! 😊

  • Catherine Dorian10 months ago

    I love that final line: " 'Honey, I'm not asking you to love him, but if you wouldn't mind could you please love me through this process?' " It's exactly the point and the theme of the story in one line of dialogue, a line which also captures what it means to really love someone.

  • Missclicked10 months ago

    amazing work, love the way it is presented

  • Linda Rivenbark10 months ago

    I could picture each scene in my mind. And feel.the emotions. Great job! Congratulations on your Top Story! .

  • Adrian Moore10 months ago

    Great job and Congrats!!!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Very touching. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Jarosław10 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story

  • ❤️Congratulations on your Top Story🎉✨

  • Dam_e10 months ago

    I love the story

  • Marcel10 months ago

    Nice work Congratulations on Top Story

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Beautiful, Great work Congratulations on Top Story 🎉

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Awww 🥲🥲very sweet and sad. Great work💕congrats on top story!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Rather sweet...

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Well done! I love this Top story! ❤️

  • Wisdom chinenyeze 10 months ago

    What a good story please check mine

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Such a feel good story. I’m glad he came around after the initial shock seeped in. Congrats, Thavien.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    This brought a smile to my face. Congratulations on Top Story! 👏

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Wonderful story. Congrats on the TS

  • Mark James10 months ago

    Cutie!

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    Awwwww .... I raised a litter of 3 newborns once - hard work, but so rewarding in the end when they became healthy adults and found wonderful homes - I was in college, so unable to keep them - but still. 🐱 Wonderful story! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.