Fiction logo

On The Brinks of Disfunction

.

By Tony BacaPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
On The Brinks of Disfunction
Photo by abi ismail on Unsplash

Desperation had infiltrated my entire body and began to spread like a cancerous rust on an old '57 Chevy. I ruminated on the thought of opening the night stand drawer of which the contents would open the flood gates to a life of uncertainty, and perhaps the total loss of freedom.

Finally, the thrill of infused adrenaline superseded common sense and I opened the drawer, secured the clip, and headed downtown. Thoughts floated in my mind like autumn leaves slowly descending from a Japanese Maple tree. Each one of them representing a moment in my dysfunctional life that had once held a shred of opportunity and hope.

The city bus had its typical vagrant passengers mixed with a few working stiffs that chose public transportation as their efforts in saving the planet. I wasn't one of them...

Sitting near the middle exit doors embracing the cold Blue Steel pressed tightly against my appendix. A few more signals and there would be no turning back as $600,000 in cash would be coming out of the front doors of the Bijan Designer store on Rodeo Drive.

The 50,000 pound Brinks truck nervously idled as I quickly intercepted the bag from the rookie.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Tony Baca

Just gathering inspiration along the way in this thing we call "Life." I prefer to write about the trials and tribulations of societal issues, but will immerse myself in a few other genres as well. Please drop by and say Hello! Cheers..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Cool, Heist. And very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.