Fiction logo

On Lover's Lake (Pond)

True love never dies. It's just frozen...

By Francis Curt O'NeillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

"To the lake my love!" Sarah calls.

"It's a pond..."

"Uh actually- That doesn't sound NEARLY as romantic, does it?"

"I didn't say 'uh actually'" Noah objects. "And being correct is sexy."

"Always the facts with you, huh?"

"Reality. Anything else therein danger lies."

"Enough with the faux profundity... It's not like fiction has a high body count."

"But it's honest. That's enough of a warning. Only fools get hurt."

"So are you a fool?"

"What?"

"Well are you? A fool?"

"..."

"You love me right? So, how much does it hurt?"

"...It kills me every damn day."

"Aww baby you know just what to say."

"That you bring me uninterrupted physical and emotional pain? I got you boo."

"Physical?"

"You know I bite my nails..."

"And I wish you'd stop."

"But then I'd be too powerful. We need some flaws. It keeps us grounded."

"Speaking of which."

"Yeah yeah, no air time. And I've been practicing my pirouettes for nothing...Loud and clear."

"So are we gonna do this?"

"Well it's not like it's getting any warmer?"

"Not even now?" She breathes into her hands and slips it down his collar, warm fingers against a cold neck tensed with shock.

"Come to think of it. YOU may be too powerful."

"What can I say? Real and dangerous. It's why you're going to marry me." She spins for his benefit, holding the pose, letting him linger.

"Marry you?"

"Aww you finally said it."

"No no. That wasn't me..."

"What was?"

"You know I hate this."

"Hate what?"

"Oh my god you are insufferable!"

"Come out here and say that." She skates effortlessly onto the maw of the frozen pond.

"Yeah?"

"Yeah."

"If I catch you?"

"Well then you win. Greatest prize there ever was".

"Mighty high opinion of yourself there. Easy work!" With that Noah tumbles, slamming hard into already compacted ice, and Sarah stifles a giggle. He flushes with visible embarrassment, but she doesn't mind. "Easy when my ass isn't stuck to the floor. You could help..."

"I could."

"But you wont..."

"That's my little bird. Just a few fledgling steps more. Then we soar!"

"I'm already sore."

"That's a good one! Want these magic hands to rub it better? Just a little further. That's it. Hold onto me. There you go."

"So now we're in the middle of the massive frozen lake. Perfect."

"Thought you said it was a pond."

"I've recently suffered a pretty massive trauma."

"Ah I always forget your head is up your ass. Explains a lot honestly."

"So did you bring me out here just to insult me? Or was it to make it that little bit harder for the police to find our bodies?"

"Oh boo hoo. It's romantic."

"It is?"

"Sure. Look down."

"To certain doom?"

"No. You didn't tie your skates properly."

"Uh actually I did."

"You did?" She kisses his lowered forehead. He raises with a smile. "Uh actually..."

"Hmm, well... I guess I caught you. Where's my prize?"

"I LET you catch me..."

"Sure you did..."

"Want me to leave you in a flurry of shaved ice?"

"Not really. Plain doesn't sound that appetizing."

"Yellow snow more your deal?"

"You're right. This is so romantic."

"Shut up."

"Make me."

"Ok." They lock lips, hold each other in this moment frozen, his grip a little too tight, for balance, devotion. Love unspoken, just felt... By hands warmed on the heart of another.

A faint crack. A distant shearing. Below. Of bone.

"You hear that?"

"Over your lip smacking? I'm only human..."

"I'm serious. Sounded like the ice broke."

"It does that. It's just... breathing."

"Breathing? That's comforting. You really feel at home here, don't you?"

"In your big strong arms? Is that what you want me to say?"

A lightning strike fissure splits between them. They push away. Entirely silent save rapid exhales. Eyes lower into the growing pit.

"Oh my god. Theres something under here. Look. Is... Is that a body?"

"You sure it's not just your reflection?"

"...I'm sure. Oh god... I think there's more."

"Like a mass grave?"

"I don't know! I... I think we should call 911... Yeah... yeah... They'll know what to do..."

"...WHAT DO I SAY? Iluvvivik lake or pond?"

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Francis Curt O'Neill

Writer and artist based in the north of England, passionate about all forms of storytelling.

@curtoneill on most socials

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.