Fiction logo

Omnihyperpologizingexpealidocious

Free-ranging multidirectional constant apologizing for everything (commonly known in the Midwest as OHP {pronounced ‘oop’} )

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
26
Screenshot by author

Dharrsheena woke with a start to find, of all things, a singing Mary Poppins standing at the foot of her bed, belting out a new version of a familiar tune.

Omnihyperpoligizingexpealidocious

Now you know the the word for it! you know it's not psychosis-

Even just defining it will help you find your locus-

Not merely omnihyperpoligizingexpealidocious!

Fixing her eyes meaningfully on Dharrsheena, she began to gamble about the room with a beckoning nod and, brandishing the umbrella, hit the chorus with an emphatic:

Oop-diddle iddle iddle Oop-diddle-aii!!

Oop-diddle iddle iddle Oop-diddle-aii!

Dharrsheena pulled the blanket about her shoulders and thought about making a run for the door. That thought was quickly quashed by the appearance of ten tiny chimneysweeps that popped out of the still glowing laptop on her bedside table.

With maniacal grins and horrific accents they swirled around the magical nanny and joined in the next verse:

Omnihyperpoligizingexpealidocious

Overly apologetic people just provoke us

Then the urge to reassure feels liable to choke us

When they're omnihyperpoligizingexpealidocious!

As the chimneysweeps accelerated their dance and swooped dangerously closer and ever closer to her, Dharrsheena wondered if the cause was the extra serving of nachos she'd eaten as she read Vocal posts, or the lighthearted challenge she's left on Judey's Challenge entry.

Either way, she mused throwing off the covers and joining in the chorus, this was a heck of a dream and it was time to sing.

Oop-diddle iddle iddle Oop-diddle-aii!!

Oop-diddle iddle iddle Oop-diddle-aii!

-

Comments welcomed!

Microfiction
26

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧4 months ago

    This was a fun story that had me both singing and laughing. Well done, Judey!

  • Time to sing, indeed. No apologies needed.

  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    I feel like this is a universal issue! I loved this so much 🌟

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Nachos! 🤣

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Supercaligragilisticespialidocious. Simplyperfectineveryway.

  • Ahh Judey! What fun and brilliance 🩷🩷 this really made me smile to read 💕💕

  • This was so freaking hilarious! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I'm never eating nachos again, lol! That word was definitely a mouthful! You are brilliant! Thank you so much for that word and story!

  • Cute and clever!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Yep this will be stuck in my head all day today! Constantly in awe of your cleverness, Judey. What fun!

  • Addison M6 months ago

    Absolutely wonderful! Great word, catchy tune.

  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    Loved this! Had to nod to the music in my head!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Ok, I needed that laugh more than you can know. Thank you Judey and Dharrsheena. Now off I go with a catchy little tune in my head.

  • I love this! Plus, what a great way to learn a new word - through song!

  • Excellent word, probable top story, great to find inspiration like that

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Thank you for the Ear worm Judey. Lol Love this creative, fun, and well written story.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    This was fun. I've kinda' been waiting for someone to use those last um - 14 letters.

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    The fact that this was the biggest, yet easiest mouthful one could ever say just shows how true and relatable this story is. 🤣🤣🤣

  • Delightful!!!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Just brilliant!

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    *fighting urge to start comment with “sorry”* 🤣🤣 this is hilarious!!

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Simply wonderful!! I sure hope Dharrsheena appreciates this as much as I do!!🤣🤣 I know not everyone has seen Mary Poppins.❤️🌹❤️ Oops, did I say that? I don't believe I have any trouble with Omnihyperpologizingexpealidocious😉 It can be irritating for me when a group member apologizes repeatedly for taking over the group!🤣 As maybe I have let it go too long, as then I can sit back and relax and not do my job??🤣🤣 I would rather they not point that out with an apology!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Omg. This is fabulous. What a joy to read. Well done, indeed.

  • Scott Christenson6 months ago

    Im from Milwaukee and we definitely do that. “Sorry if you have a different idea,but…” “Sorry to hear youre having a bad day” “Sorry but I can walk through (you people rudely blocking me)” when i lived on the east coast was “hurry up” “coming through” but usually with a smile,

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Love this, Ms Judey. This is great. Dharrsheena will just be tickled pink.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Very cute and I enjoyed this creative piece

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.