Fiction logo

No Way Back

What everyone must learn, sometime

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
7
Photo: Pixabay

"Out or in, Gabe," I called from the kitchen.

He stood astride the threshold to the front yard, grubby little hand swinging the screen door in an arc of indecision. A fluffy golden streak shot by his legs.

"You let Kip out!" I scolded, drying my hands and heading to the entryway. Gabe pouted and let the screen door bang behind him.

A screech. A thump, a yelp.

A wail.

Running, I snatched Gabe before he reached the street, turning his horrified face away from the bloody tangle of fur and bone.

A young woman stepped from the car, wide-eyed, cell phone still in her shaking hand. An apology was welling. I carried Gabe inside and shut our front door.

He clutched at my shirt as he hid his face in my neck. “Can you fix him?” His muffled voice was desperately hopeful. “Take him to the doctor?”

I hesitated before letting out the words. "Kip's gone, honey." I stroked his curls. “No one can fix him.”

The force of this shocked Gabe out of my embrace. His face twisted in his struggle against the crush of immutability.

My son looked at the screen door in anguish. His sobbing pleas arrowed mercilessly.

"Make time go back, Mommy! Make time go back!"

Microfictionfamily
7

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    A very intriguing story...

  • If only we could, what would we change?

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Oh my heart!😭❤️ this is so good!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    I loved this the first time I read it, and I love it more now, with a few lines changed (if memory serves). "A young woman stepped from the car, wide-eyed, cell phone still in her shaking hand. An apology was welling." I love that, "an apology was welling." The way you broke your paragraphs is very impactful. You keep the flow perfect, grounded, and emotionally strong. "The force of this shocked Gabe out of my embrace. His face twisted as he grappled with the crushing impact of immutability." -- Damn. You don't make his reaction seem forced in any way, all the more realistic to me. And a fantastic ending, to boot. Did you enter this? It's absolutely incredible, Sonia. Heart-wrenching in multiple ways.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    ayayay hard lesson learned! this was written with a brilliant subtlety that made the scene feel everyday right until the fatal moment! well done!

  • Test7 months ago

    Heartbreaking, but a lesson we all learn in some way... the fragility of life💙Anneliese

  • Cool 👍 📝😉

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Fantastic! Great work! 💙❤️💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.