Fiction logo

Nanna's Realization

Dainty Dairy Narratives Part One: Family, Page 6

By Arjun SahasyaPublished 3 months ago 6 min read
3
Dainty Dairy Narratives Part One: Family, Page 6

"Misunderstandings can break the bonds, but they strengthen the bonds if talked about. In the same way, mistakes remain mistakes if not taken care of."

~~~ Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental. ~~~

Page 6: Nanna's Realization

When I was 7 years old, we got a holiday only for us in my school. Nanna came to our school to pick up me and Joy and even gave the principal a leave letter for both of us for three days.

We were very happy, but we aren't going to Ammamma's (Amma's Mother) House as usual; this time, we are going to Nannamma's (Nanna's Mother) House. It is okay as long as I get to play around.

I haven't seen my grandfather, Dada (Nanna's Father), who usually comes to us to carry us on his shoulders, and I haven't even seen my grandmother, Nannamma, who kisses us even though I rub my cheeks immediately in front of her.

We first went to our uncle's home; Nanna and Amma left us there to play with our cousins as they went to my grandparents' house.

I started feeling uncomfortable as no one was smiling as usual. Normally, they pick us up and talk to us, but it was weird that day. Since no one disturbed me while I was playing, it was great.

No matter how much time has passed, our parents haven't returned. It bothered me as Joy said she was hungry, so I asked her to wait and went to my grandparents' house. There, everyone was crying, my grandparents were sleeping.

I went to Nanna and asked for money to eat something; he called my cousin, who is 10 years older than me, to take us out for a meal.

We ate and returned to Amma. By the time everyone was going somewhere, and Amma asked me if I wanted to go with Nanna, and then I went to Nanna, but he was far ahead.

I ran to him but couldn't catch up; I wanted to shout but there was a loud drumbeat. I pushed through everyone as I slowly moved forward, and then I stopped.

I stopped as I saw something I had never seen; I saw Nanna cry for the first time. I saw a whole other side of Nanna, and I didn't know how to describe that.

I felt tears coming from my eyes; I didn't know why. Was I angered at Nanna? Was I disturbed to see Nanna cry? I slowly walked to Amma crying and asked why Nanna was crying, and then she told me that both of my grandparents had passed away due to a snakebite.

I asked Amma again, as I didn't understand what she said, why Nanna was crying, and she replied, "Your grandparents went to God."

I innocently asked her, "when they will come back".

She said, "Never."

All the memories of my grandparents flashed through my mind, and when I heard that I could never see them again, I couldn't hold back a single drop of tear coming from my eyes.

Joy, who was 5 years old at that time and couldn't understand a single thing but, started crying as she saw me crying.

That day I understood the meaning of death, the weight of death, and learned the value of life. Since then, I have never seen Nanna cry. Today, seeing him cry reminded me of that day.

3 days to go for the trip…

I slowly walked towards Nanna, which I couldn't do when I was 7, to sit down with him. As I walked towards him, Nanna wiped the drop of tear with his thumb and said, "It was nothing beta, I just remembered your grandparents."

I couldn't say that I also remembered them now, so I sat down silently. Then he looked at me and asked, "Nani, why didn't you tell me directly about the business? Why did you tell me through Amma?"

I was taken back by his sudden question and said, "I'm sorry" with a low voice. That was all I could do now; I didn't want to explain myself. I just want to hear what Nanna was saying.

He put his foot down from the swaying chair and looking at the stars he said, "When my parents died, I cried a lot on that day, but when I came back, you and Joy came running to me and told me not to cry. I don't know why, but I felt the same comfort from you that I felt from my parents.

From that day, I worked hard for your happiness; you filled the void that I had when my parents died. It is funny, but I see my parents in you and Joy."

I sat there listening to Nanna as I smiled and didn't disturb him.

He continued, "These days have been difficult for me, the arguments with you. I didn't know what got into me picking a fight with you, and then you broke the news about your business idea through Amma.

I thought a distance had formed between us, but then the small movements when we worked together and talked normally, I finally thought things finally settling down.

Now, Joy, my favorite child. She resembled my mother in many ways, so I pampered her a lot. She never hid anything from me, but now she is leaving on a trip with her friends without even saying a word was a big blow. Now, this awkward distance between us-"

"Wait, wait Nanna, Joy is your fav- not that. She is going on a trip?" I was shocked by the news and immediately ran down and called Joy.

And when I asked about the trip, she reminded me that Amma has said no to the family trip just now.

Then I said, "So, that's why you are going on a trip with your friends without telling us."

"What are you talking about, what trip?" she asked.

"don't - " Thwack!

Why are you making the story longer by adding conversations? Just Narrate, or do you want another hit on your head. [If you don't understand this, then you must have missed Page 4.]

I asked Joy about the trip, and she didn't understand what I am asking, and then Nanna explained the situation by telling her about him meeting her friend.

Then Joy told that she decided not to go on the trip but forgot to tell her friend that.

Listening to Joy, Nanna was overjoyed.

But stopped for a moment and asked why she wasn't going, and she said that she wanted to help Amma, and for that, she decided not to go on a trip but to stay here and learn.

Amma and Nanna both laughed as hard as they could, and Nanna told her to wake up early to go shopping for the trip and went ahead to sleep.

But Joy was still feeling guilty; then Amma convinced her by telling her that the household works are for the people who live in the house since you are going for the trip, the work also reduces, and then you are doing a favor.

My sister being dumb as usual- Thwack!

Sorry, my sister was convinced, and the next day, Joy and Nanna went shopping, and she was ready to go for the trip.

On the day of the trip at Home…

As we are sending Joy off on the trip, Amma told her to come back within a week as we are going to our cousin's marriage next week.

She said she will be back in five days and went to the trip.

Written by

Arjun Sahasya

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dainty Dairy Narratives Part One: Family, Home Arc Ended.

Introduction of DDN: Family series

Page 1: Arguments

Page 2: Homemaker

Page 3: Failure's Success

Page 4: My Mistake

Page 5: Nanna's Misunderstanding

Page 6: Nanna's Realization

Series on Break.

Author's Note: I am thankful for your support throughout the series. I am saddened to inform you that I will not be posting any series on Medium or Vocal Media; I will only be posting short stories here. If I start a new series, I will definitely notify you of when and where. 

DDN: Family will continue… Next arc: Marriage.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You can now download free PDF of All pages of  Dainty Dairy Narratives: Family

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a book 📖 😊

and Make sure to Follow me in Vocal Media.

Short StorySeriesLoveHumorfamily
3

About the Creator

Arjun Sahasya

Writing in different genres✍️,

Dreaming to create The Greatest Fantasy 🌌,

Join me on this journey! 📚

Support 🤗 | Suggest 🧐 | Bless me 🙏

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a book 📖 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Lol, all because Joy forgot to tell her friend, all this happened! So happy that she's finally going on that trip!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.