Fiction logo

Failure’s Success

Dainty Dairy Narratives, Family Page 3

By Arjun SahasyaPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
6
Image created in Night cafe studio and edited in Canva

"I don't know why bugs gather around a light, but people gather around failure to suppress and around success to seek favors."

⸙⸙⸙

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.

⸙⸙⸙

Page 3: Failure’s Success

“Why did he leave his job when he is already settled? Is he an idiot?”

“Why would anyone quit a better job like that? I thought he was intelligent.”

“Did he really quit, or were they fired him?”

“Quit? I bet he must have done something there, and they terminated him.”

Many people said many things about me after I quit my job, and these are the things that bothered Nanna and led to arguments in our house.

I am the type of person who thinks thinking about what other people are thinking is a waste of thinking, so I don’t think about it.

I know Nanna listens to other people’s opinions, and I can understand it. My only fear is that, does Amma think like that too? I know she doesn’t, but if she says that the business is a bad idea, I am not prepared to face it. I do not care what tens of thousands of people say about me, but if Amma says it’s bad, then I will be crushed.

At first, I thought if I tell Amma first, then she will convince Nanna, and I still think it is a good idea, but now the thought of Amma rejecting it is scaring me.

I gathered courage to tell Amma, I prepared tea, bought biscuits, and sat her down and started explaining to her about the business, its preparations, the idea behind it, and everything about it. She listened to it until the end, asking a few questions here and there. When I completed telling her, she didn’t say a single word, she stood up, walked to her mobile, and made a call.

I was relieved after she made that call, and I knew Amma liked my plan because she called Pedda-Amma (Amma’s elder sister). I don’t know about other countries, but in India, when mothers are excited, or sad, or they have some news, they will call their sisters to share that news. They are like free therapists, best friends, or good partners sometimes. You can never guess what they are talking about or when their call will end.

In my case, Amma had a proud, smug face, so I called it a success, but it didn't end here because now Amma has to tell Nanna about it.

Nanna came home at night, after he took a bath, Amma served him food first, and then it is now time. I was in my room, and Nanna was watching the News on TV. Amma said she has something to tell, and that didn’t get Nanna’s attention. She turned off the TV, and Nanna started listening with an annoyed face as his TV was cut off. I thought Amma would explain everything, but she simply said, “Ishaan is starting a business.”

In a million years, I could have never guessed his reaction. Nanna was so happy and also offered me financial assistance. I politely declined and showed my savings, and they were quite surprised. Despite that, Nanna has given me some money for coming preparations, and he also said he will also help me with it. I was dancing with excitement when no one was looking. I don’t want it to be late anymore, so I increased my pace with preparations.

I feel like I am forgetting something…. Anyway, where am I?

Ah! About the opening, after Nanna gave the green signal, I didn’t waste a single second; I concentrated completely on it. I completed all the preparations within a few days with the help of my family and friends. There is a lot to tell about my friends; I will save it for later. Amma said she was happy to see the sight of me and Nanna working together after a long time.

I was scared a little but also confident. Customers came in one after another; this small event turned into a grand opening. To me, it looked like a sea of people; it was a big hit. The number of customers was increasing hour by hour; a lot of people we know came in at the end, they were the same people who said things about me behind my back to my father.

Generally, I don’t care about them, but when they said that they never doubted me, Amma and I laughed a bit. Nanna tried to cover for us and took them to show around. Most of my family members couldn’t join us because it was all too sudden, but they all called me and blessed me. It was a big hit. We went home to celebrate the success, which exceeded our expectations.

It was a great day until Amma suddenly said to Nanna to take her to the hospital and fainted.

Written by

Arjun Sahasya

⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙

Click here for previous pages:

|| Introduction | Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 |Page 4 coming soon ||

Click here for a better reading continuity on Medium.

⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙

Have a coffee while reading "Dainty Dairy Narratives Part One Family" and Buy me a coffee ☕️so we can both drink it and You enjoy my work while I will enjoy your coffee.

Your contributions go a long way, and I appreciate you being a part of this creative adventure.

Thank you!🌟

Arjun Sahasya

HumorShort StorySeriesLovefamily
6

About the Creator

Arjun Sahasya

Writing in different genres✍️,

Dreaming to create The Greatest Fantasy 🌌,

Join me on this journey! 📚

Support 🤗 | Suggest 🧐 | Bless me 🙏

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a book 📖 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    So glad Amma and Nanna were supportive of Ishaan's desire of starting a business! Also, oh no, I hope Amma is okay. Wonder why sue fainted. Can't wait for chapter 4!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.