Fiction logo

Arguments

Dainty Dairy Narratives, Family Page 1

By Arjun SahasyaPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
5

"Anyone can start an argument in the house, but only Mother has the power to stop it and resolve it."

My name is Ishaan. After college, I immediately joined a company. My parents, especially Nanna (my father), were very happy, but I always wanted a normal life. So, I quit my job after two years and decided to start a business in my hometown so that I could stay with my parents and take care of them.

However, I haven't had the chance to tell them that. Since I quit, I can feel Nanna's anger towards me. So, I decided to tell him when he cools down. Until then, I am making the necessary preparations for the business. This is what I thought, but my daily life changed drastically during these few weeks.

Now that I have no job, I don't want to rush things. I want to plan everything perfectly before I start my business and enjoy life a little. It increased Nanna's anger even more. He scolds me when I wake up late, when I go out, and even if I don't go out.

Sometimes, I think Nanna wants me to work under someone; maybe he wants me to always do hard work for a living. I think Nanna doesn't like it when I am happy. He thinks I am playing with my laptop, even when I explain that I am working, and Amma (my mother) always takes Nanna's side if I complain. Being unemployed sure is hard work.

There were only two reasons for me to wake up late until I became unemployed. One, if I am tired, I like to sleep more like everyone else. Two, if I do work late at night or if I was awake late at night. Another reason added for me to wake up late, that is to avoid Nanna in the morning before he goes to work. So, I sleep until Nanna goes to work or act like I am asleep until Nanna goes to work. If I was awake in the morning, I have to listen to Nanna's class until he goes to work. 

After Nanna goes to work, I go out to meet my friends or to collect any materials needed for the business or to expand my network. I totally mistimed it today; I woke up to brush my teeth, and Nanna was in the hall eating breakfast, and I had to listen to his class about waking up early and doing something productive. 

After Nanna went to work, I ate breakfast, and as I was getting ready to go out, I couldn't find my belt. When I asked Amma, she told me that Nanna took my belt as his belt was broken. After scolding me early in the morning, he also took my belt. I went out murmuring about Nanna taking my belt, as Amma will scold me if she hears me saying anything bad about Nanna.

My morning schedule is completely different on Nanna's Day off. On that Day, I should wake up as soon as possible to go out or else Nanna will become a motivational speaker. I was getting ready, and I took my belt, and at the same time, Nanna also took the same belt from the other end as he was also getting ready to go out. 

I don't know what got into me; I didn't leave the belt, and suddenly the atmosphere completely changed, and a big argument started between us. I didn't want to talk back to Nanna. Thankfully, Amma stopped us, but now she became furious. 

She gave us a list of provisions to bring together, and I have no chance of telling Amma that I don't want to go when she is that angry. I acted like I was angry with Nanna, and Nanna looked naturally mad at me. We bought all the provisions from the list, and we saved some money from what Amma gave us. After shopping, the air between us somehow cooled down, and I suggested to Nanna to buy a belt. Nanna accepted it quickly. So, we bought a belt with the rest of the money. 

After that, we went home, but surprisingly, Amma didn't ask for the remaining money that she always inquiries about. Normally, she would ask about the details of the buys thrice, but she just took the provisions and walked away with a smile, maybe she was in a good mood.

The next day, I was getting ready to go out, and I couldn't find my belt again. Amma repeatedly told me to search. Then I found the belt, but this is the new one, which we bought yesterday for Nanna. Seeing it, I laughed. It was always like this; he takes the old ones, and we get the new ones.

I realized how foolish I was to think that Nanna was angry at me when he was just worried. He never was a strict father; he always kept family first no matter how small the things are or how big the sacrifice was. That is my father. How can I ever become like him? I am thankful that this incident with the belt brought me to my senses. 

I have to tell about the business to my parents. But it's always better to tell Amma first; she will tell Nanna at the right time.

Written by

Arjun Sahasya

Dainty Dairy Narratives, Part One: Family Page 2

Coming soon

HumorShort StorySeriesLovefamily
5

About the Creator

Arjun Sahasya

Writing in different genres✍️,

Dreaming to create The Greatest Fantasy 🌌,

Join me on this journey! 📚

Support 🤗 | Suggest 🧐 | Bless me 🙏

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a book 📖 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox3 months ago

    Lovely and heartfelt writing. I love how you have captured the social dynamic of your family. A gentle suggestion, however, in English the word "class" is more formal than how you use it in this story. Class would be a formal block of instruction, typically delivered in a classroom. When I was young and upset my mother, she would lecture me rather than give me a class. Your use of 'scolds' later in the story is correct.

  • Lol, this is an accurate depiction of what happens in an Indian family! Loved reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.