Fiction logo

My Mistake

Dainty Dairy Narratives, Family Page 4

By Arjun SahasyaPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
3
Image created in Night cafe studio and edited in Canva

“It hurts more when someone gets scolded because of your mistake than you are getting scolded, and the pain increases when they are your loved ones.”

⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙

Originally published at https://medium.com.

⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙⸙

⸙⸙⸙

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.

⸙⸙⸙

Hello, I am Ishaan continuing the previous page- Ow!

“I am forgetting something” did you really forget me? You stupid brother.

I’m sorry, but how many times do I have to say not to hit on my head.

I decided to narrate since my dear brother forgot to mention me on the previous pages.

Wait, I said I’m sorry-Ow!

Don’t interrupt.

Page 4: My Mistake

Amma got a high fever and fainted during the celebrations. The doctor said it was due to overwork, and she will be fine soon. Since then, Nanna has been doing all the household work, and Ishaan was a big help. They didn’t let Amma do anything until she was fine.

I’m sorry I haven’t introduced myself yet; My name is Sitara, but everyone calls me Joy. Ishaan is my stupid brother. Since I am his blood-related sister, the relations (or the character names) will not change so there will not be any confusion for you.

To tell you more about me, I am a student. Nanna adores me so much, and Amma never gives me any work. Even Ishaan started helping out ever since he became unemployed, and I don’t want to say this, but I am the most spoiled kid in the house. I sometimes feel bad, but I am also lazy, so there is no helping it.

A lot has happened in these few days. Ishaan quit his job, he and Nanna had big arguments, Amma helped settle things between them, then Ishaan started a new business, and Amma had a high fever. While all those things were happening, I couldn’t say that I wanted to go on a trip with my friends.

It’s been a few days since Amma’s completely recovered, and now my trip is only a month away, and I already promised my friend that I would definitely come. Normally, I would tell Ishaan about these kinds of things, but he has become busy ever since he started his business.

Anyway, everything became normal again, but both him and Nanna became busy with their work. So, I am waiting for both of them to come home, to tell them, but why does it look like Amma is also waiting?

Both of them came eventually, and freshened up, but I didn’t get the chance to talk since Amma said she had something to talk about, just before dinner. The atmosphere changed a little, Nanna sat down, and Ishaan came to and asked what happened, and I didn’t know what Amma wanted to tell, does she know about my trip?

Amma first thanked Nanna and Ishaan for doing all the work during her fever. Even before they could reply, she stopped them and said that she had some demands in the house with anger, it had been a few days since we saw Amma’s furious form.

We all became curious thinking about what Amma would ask, but only I was shocked by what she asked.

Amma said that she is thankful for what they did while she had fever, but it would be a waste if they don’t do it now. I didn’t understand why she said that, but Nanna and Ishaan smiled while continuously apologizing. Ishaan hugged Amma and said she should take a day off during their day offs and that they will also do their work in the house. They both easily accepted Mother’s wish even though they had very little time for themselves.

They said the household works, as if they were their work. Then there is me, who is only thinking about me. I didn’t even think of helping Amma when Nanna and Ishaan were busy, but they understood Amma without her explaining what it was. Even when Amma had a fever, both of them worked and never asked me to do any work, and I didn’t even care to help them.

Even now they are not even blaming me. Am I not worthy to do work in my house? No, that’s not it. For them, it is an obvious thing not to tell me to do work. While they care so much about me, why am I not thinking about them? This is all my fault. If only I had helped Amma when they were busy, she wouldn’t have scolded them. They both wouldn’t have apologized. Why am I not even apologizing?

No, I will not apologize; instead, I will learn to do work, and I will help my family even when they don’t ask me. After that, both of them kept their promise, and I also started helping out Amma. I also decided not to go on the trip but to stay with my family. But I am still wondering, since when did my dear brother become this responsible and mature.

Hello, I’m Ishaan again. I want to clarify one thing before I say this, that I’m always responsible and mature.

Joy has decided not to go on the trip but forgot to tell her friend that. Coincidentally, she met Nanna and asked if Joy had done her preparations for the trip. Nanna, who didn’t know about the trip, couldn’t reply. He misunderstood that Joy became distant from him.

Written by

Arjun Sahasya

Short StorySeriesLoveHumorfamily
3

About the Creator

Arjun Sahasya

Writing in different genres✍️,

Dreaming to create The Greatest Fantasy 🌌,

Join me on this journey! 📚

Support 🤗 | Suggest 🧐 | Bless me 🙏

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a book 📖 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.