Fiction logo

Myth of the Archer and the Nightingale

explaining the origin of man's embarrassment in the face of nature

By Rob AngeliPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
10
the common nightingale [campaign for the reality of birds]

There was once a certain Archer who, rather than bagging his preferred game of venison, captured a small bird in his net, named Philomela [Nightingale], and was going to kill her without a second thought; but the bird had been granted the gift of gab, and thus spoke out:

“What good do you get, Oh Man, in killing me? I would not even come close to filling your greedy stomach, and the little flesh I have is tough and coarse. However, if you release me, I will give you three bits of advice which, if applied diligently, will be highly useful to you.”

The bowman, truly stupefied to hear a commonplace nightingale speak such perfect phrases and clear-cut clauses, promised immediately to release the loquacious featherling, if she would divulge her advice.

“Then hear me!” said she, perching upon a branch. “Never seek to acquire a thing that cannot be acquired: this is the first piece of advice I offer. Hear the second! Never allow yourself to sorrow over something that is irrecoverable; this is nothing but fruitless fretting. And at last, hear the third! Never believe words that are unbelievable, no matter how desirable they seem. If you guard well my three maxims as if they were your greatest treasure, then good will come to you.”

The man then, as promised, released the sagacious little Philomena to fly free through the woodsy air with a taunting flutter, singing:

“Hahaha! Shame on you, foolish Man! What poor counsel you’ve taken and what a great Treasure you’ve lost today, thanks to your foolishness: know, that I have in my belly a Pearl, greater in size than the egg of an ostrich. But I'm lost to you for good. Too bad for you!” And she continued flying in circles around the tree where she had been snared.

The Archer, upon hearing this, was filled with rage and sadness over this loss. He spread his net again between two branches of the tree in attempt to catch the nightingale again.

"Come," says he in a soft voice, "I will take you to my home and I will show you all hospitality; I will feed you from my own hands as much as you want to eat, and allow you to fly about at will."

“Well,” said Philomela, “now I know you for certain to be an idiot, retaining none of the lessons from the counsel I first gave you. Firstly, because you whined and bemoaned my loss, irrecoverable—and then, you tried to re-catch me in the same stupid net, not really knowing how to re-catch me. Oh, and as to the huge size of this Pearl you believed I could contain in my belly—when my whole body is not so large as the egg of an ostrich! Pretty unbelievable. The conclusion is that you are an Idiot, and will remain forever ensnared in your Idiocy. Now go away!”

The man gave up, having met more than his match. A shameful, nearly nauseous sensation welled-up from his heart and into his esophagus like a foul belch. This was EMBARRASSMENT.

And so, the beaten bowman slunk away to his domicile, Philomela undefeated, chirping poetically. A force of nature.

THE END

Young AdultShort StoryMicrofictionFableClassical
10

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Katherine D. Graham10 months ago

    you are gifted at writing fables -- la Fontaine has a companion

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Excellent! The narrative is just right for a fable and the story is well thought out. Well done!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    LOL! This cracked me up. Really cool story. Is this based on folklore? I love the voice you've given to the Nightengale. It's unique, witty, and sophisticated.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    OMG I am stealing "featherling"! Great word. This is so clever! I love the history of nightingales coming through in your myth, specifically "Philomela and Procne," which seems to have had a greater influence. It’s like a version of Philomela is getting a lighter form of revenge on Tereus (or the archer here). The prank she pulls on the archer is an hilarious take on classic myths that have a sagacious bird, even a trickster bird, but don’t quite show this cheekiness in proving their own advice or mis-advice, as you do here. What a clever scenario and a super fun origin story to the feeling of embarrassment. And I love how the core of the message is that you must fail in order to fully learn. You can’t just hear good advice and act it out; you have to hear it, forget it and fail, then feel that shame in order to fully grasp the ramifications of the best way to go about life. I thoroughly enjoyed this! I hope it places in the challenge, R. Minor critiques, just to support you! * "venaison" should be spelled "venison" * "prefered" is spelled "preferred" * "was granted the gift of gab" — is this to mean that she’d previously been gifted or that all of a sudden, the gift was bestowed? Grammatically, it’s confusing for me. Either "granted with" or "had been granted" would clear it up. :D * "course" here should be "coarse" * "greater in in size" — delete the second "in" * "Philomena undefeated" — Make format consistent, either commas to demarcate the phrase or em dashes (I see both here). * A question from me. I know "Philomela" is one titular character in "Philomela and Procne" (Greek myth) where the gods turn her into a nightingale after her brother in law rapes her and cuts out her tongue. (I’m sure you’re fully aware of this!) Did you mean to spell "Philomena" as you did? Just curious, because Philomena has a connotation with the Sainted virgin martyr who is patron of infants and certain miracles.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    The story has a great moral to it.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    R, I love the fable-like feel of this story! It feels very classical with the narrative voice you chose for it! I loved the harshness the Nightingale, as she spoke to the man. It was humorous to me how blatantly she insulted him! Great work!!

  • Looks like I'm an idiot as well for I too believed the Nightingale had a huge pearl in his belly 🤣🤣🤣

  • Gerard DiLeo10 months ago

    This was wonderful. So familiar in the tone of lore. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.