Fiction logo

Mystery light

Strange case 97#

By Dawson DavisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Mystery light
Photo by Michael Browning on Unsplash

Still don’t know to this day if I was dreaming on that night...to realistic feel as if I was awake, yet, strange as a dream.

My eyes opened wide, wide enough to make me look like I saw a ghost, I didn’t of course. I slowly lifted myself up, looked at my alarm clock, the red light off of it said 3:00 AM. That is only three hours of sleep, which feels more like eight hours of sleep. Slamming myself down hard onto the mattress, even being a little scrawny I bounce a bit.Gazing up on the ceiling in the moonlight light shining a milky white into my room. Slight amount of purple light that faded into a green and back to purple , this pattern keeps continuing.My curiosity lifted myself up, got me out of bed and walked to my window where I saw the barn, cracks in the big red barn is telling me that the purple and green lights are coming inside of the barn.

Even more curious than before, I grabbed my all black hoodie, didn’t even close my bedroom door out of excitement, already out of the house I rushed over to the barn. When I peaked I thought I might have gone crazy, what I saw was a silver orb floating in mid air making a humming sound not too loud or too quiet and the size of a basketball. The silver orb started floating towards the family's pet horse and flashed a bright purple and then green as it did before, oddly that bright flash of light didn’t hurt my eyes at all, not even the slightest.

The silver orb hovered back to the center of the barn and stopped humming. Completely still, all I heard for the longest five seconds in my life are the crickets. The orb started making this color I have never ever seen before in all of my life and I am very much sure no else has. This new color is glowing brighter and brighter. It filled the whole room and then it disappeared, the only thing the orb left behind was this big hole on the upper top of the back wall. It looks like somebody shot a bowling ball through the damn barn and my dad is going to be angry when he sees it.

I ran back upstairs and didn't look back. I couldn't believe what I witnessed, it was so bizarre. I made it back to my bed and threw the covers over me to try getting sleep, hoping this was a dream, how could I explain how that hole got through the barn? If I told him what I saw he would send me to therapy. I shut my eyes and prayed to high heavens that this was all just a dream.

I woke up, the sunlight pouring warm heat over my bed sheets looked as if it was only a dream, it was only nine in the morning, I got up and stretched, legs feeling a little sore like as if i did some running, maybe I am growing? I headed downstairs and my dad looked angry.

“What's wrong dad? You look almost as red as the barn.”

“I'll let you know what's wrong, there is a basketball-sized hole in the barn!” he snapped back

I couldn't believe it, was it not a dream or a coincidence should I tell him? A million thoughts ran through my head all at once. It is worth a shot just to be honest.

“Dad this may sound crazy, but um….I am sure it was just a dream.”

Short Story

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dawson DavisWritten by Dawson Davis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.