Horror logo

Day of Tomorrow

Survival day 432#

By Dawson DavisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Running, Panting, Wheezing, I am sick of it, I just need to relax, I can do that when I am dead.I dropped myself down next to a banged up abandoned SUV and took a massive deep breath even with this gas mask I have on it’s still hard to breath as if the gas is to strong and thick. I looked around, on my right I can see a lifeless corpse staring into an opened heart shaped locket, her body looks like a skeleton with a slab of skin on her, looking up and the sky looks as orange and green to it with a slim of purple streaks here and there. You can see a few streaks of oranges and greens in the air right in front of me.

I picked myself back up to continue this dangerous mission. I will use every bit of strength I have for my journey to get the documents I have left behind for a possible cure for the whole world. I can see the lab. It's not far,neither close, big white building the size of a football field, bright white bricks looking strong, white stone path to the dark blue door, shrubs on the side of the stone path, green as the grass. If the door is locked shouldn't be a problem since I know almost every access code by heart.

I passed by the final run down cars and stores and right up to the white sidewalk, looking as if it had never been through the apocalypse.Same as all plants in the world the only beautiful thing to remind us of the past. Made it to the first step to the stone path, out of curiosity I turned around and heard a loud hissing noise like it came from a hundred snakes at once. I didn't see any snakes, it was much more frightening.Two pitch black creatures on all fours with their knees bending awkwardly, the front knees bending forward and back knees bending the other direction, no tail, bat-like ears pointing directly to the sky, and by head shape it looks more human than dog.

Frozen like a statue, trying to unthaw myself from my fear, I stood still barely able to turn my head and back to measure the distance from how far the lab is from the creatures and I can tell the lab is a little bit further and I bet the creatures are faster than I am. I gazed at the big white building looking like heaving in hell. Looking back at the creatures of hell, I took off, the fear I have is giving me the ability to run faster than I have ever run before, passing the shrubs, looking like a blur, already drenched in sweat. I have to be inside the lab now, I can't waste a split of a second, my life literally depends on it. Without looking behind me I know and promise myself those hell hounds are only a few feet behind, damn, the door is so close, legs about to give out on me, made it to the door i used my small amount of strength to swing the door open halfway open and slip my body through and closed the remaining half, and locking the door.

Backing away from the secured door I let gravity do the work and slammed me to the ground. Breathing deeply and heavily, I feel someone is inside of me trying to punch through my chest. I slowly closed my eyes, the last thing I heard before I passed out was the scraping on the door of the hell hounds trying to get their lunch and wont stop trying until they have eaten.

fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dawson DavisWritten by Dawson Davis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.