Fiction logo

MYSTERY BOX

Exhaustion can be your worst enemy.

By May sanz Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
1
MYSTERY BOX
Photo by Kevin Grieve on Unsplash

I'm so tired!...

I got home late from work today. I'm glad it is Friday, this has been one of the most brutal weeks of this quarter, and my boss has been on my tail every second, not so much of a "Perk" for my role. I made it to the top, but I must ensure I stay there. -"I should shut down my phone,"- I grumble to no one in particular while opening the door of my house. I am about to turn the dam phone off, but I remember my sister is pregnant. I need to be on call every day -"Jezz, can I have a break?"- I blow while rolling my eyes and hanging my coat inside my house.

I decided to turn on my computer and look for online classes because I needed to polish some of my management skills now that I got that promotion. Still, I got hooked on videos about "enchanted boxes" some people buy those things online to record themselves while unraveling the dark secrets of the weird content inside. Some are said to be hunted or cursed. For the record, I'll never have the balls to get one myself. My eyes were so heavy that I didn't notice when I fell asleep.

"...Guess what's in the box, what's in the box. It's a toy mixing colors one by one mixing colors it's so…" My phone rang, waking me up. Yes, the ringtone for my sister is a baby song. "Why?" because she is not only pregnant with her first baby but also decided to not know the gender beforehand. Hence, it seems fun to have this song as her signature ringtone because we don't know what is inside her womb.

I know what this call meant. I feel it in my bones. I knew it was coming, but I wasn't ready for it. "Shit!". I pick up the phone on speaker while running to get my shoes.

-" Hey, Sis! How are you?"- I asked as calmly as I could.

-" Omg, it is happening, it is happening…"-she screams, excited and nervous.

-" Ok, what is the plan?"- I ask, knowing I'm the plan because I am the only person available to pick her up. We are alone in a foreign country. I come here escaping from my past, looking for new beginnings, and she? She just followed due to a job opportunity before knowing she was pregnant.

-" What is the plan? Are you asking me what the plan is? I am already at the hospital and will be waiting for you here,"- She screams, losing her temper.

-" On my way,"- I replied, trying to sound all cheerful, and as soon as I hung up, I felt a panic attack rushing through me.

I took deep, calming breaths, trying to relax, my sister needed me, but I was also so tired. Today was my night. "Why did the baby decide to come today and not on Monday when I can use it to my advantage?" I know. It is what it is.

I'm on my way to open the door when my phone rings again "oh no, it is my boss!"- I froze -To be responsible or not to be, that is the dilemma. I knew the answer before asking the question, so I picked up the phone and opened the door. I linger there, listening to my boss talking about: responsibilities and date lines; about being consistent and going the extra mile; and a whole lot more bla bla bla, that I do not need after five days of twelve-hour shifts on what is supposed to be an "8 to 5" job. I disconnected the call and exhaled in frustration, and that is when I noticed the drone dropping a package right in front of me.

-" What is this?"- I asked myself.

The drone just left the package and flew away. That is odd about this delivery, but I need help grasping what it is. I watched the drone for a couple of seconds, and it hit me. The drone didn't ask self-identification questions or signatures, nor did it scan the front or take a picture of the package on the floor.

I quickly grab my phone and check my delivery app. "I wasn't expecting a package, was I?". Nothing on my delivery app. Nothing on my sister's delivery app. With the whole baby situation, she uses my house as storage. According to her, her apartment is too tiny for so many boxes. "mmmm…." I'm thinking, "Who else might send me a package?". "My boss?" I said tentatively to myself. Yes, speaking out loud helps sometimes. I verified my email; no notification from work and nothing on my boss's particular file inside my overcrowded work email.

-" Was this delivered to the wrong address?"-that drone did seem a little odd. I checked the package for delivery information, but there is no shipping label, address, delivery name, returning address, tracking information, or anything. I started panicking again. I left the package outside and ran into my house. I hate Panic attacks, so I need to control this tornado of emotions building inside me before it is too late. I have no other option but to breathe. Due to my sisters' current situation, I don't think I can take my medications and be supportive of her. Too many responsibilities, but I need to push forward; mental health will need to keep waiting.

-" Breath Ann, breath, you got this….calm down, long breaths,"- I repeat to myself.

I grabbed my phone, looking for a distraction -" EUREKA"- I opened my web search and typed in "Drone + no scan + no delivery information." It came up with several articles which ranked from "Mystery boxes" to "Dark magic" and "do not open." A more interesting one that says "Personal drones" I clicked on the last one because it sounds like it is the most sensical of all.

"Great ideas to surprise your loved ones! Rent one of our drones and deliver a special package to them. Forget about the shipping fees, the damage on the road, or the stealing…."- I keep scrolling with my eyes. I found an old Halloween promo:

"The spooky season is here. Prank your friends by delivering one of the so famous Mystery boxes, and let them wonder what is inside, as seen on youtube".

-"A prank? Can this be a prank?"- I question myself.

I opened the door and sat between my door and the front porch examining the package. My heart is a little out of control. I guess it is normal after trying to calm myself for two possible panic attacks, the hard week I just had, my sister's pregnancy, and...yes, the list goes on. The box is a medium size one, an 11 x 11 x 11. It is a perfect square, which is odd for any freight company, and that supports my recent discovery of a possible "Prank," but who would prank me? I barely have time to socialize due to my work responsibilities, the only person I know in town is my sister, but she is….. OMG, she is in labor now; I should have been going to the hospital.

I stood up and almost rushed down the threshold when I noticed the color of the paper covering the box and a little note sticking out. The wrapping paper was pink dust, an odd color and my favorite one. Fun fact: everyone thought my favorite color was burgundy in my new life. One of the slightest changes I made from my previous one, so this is a weird coincidence or this "Mystery Box" is from someone from my past. I grabbed the note and headed inside my house, taking a last suspicious look at the box on my threshold.

"...Guess what's in the box, what's in the box. It's a toy mixing colors one by one mixing colors it's so…" My phone rang again.

-" Shut"- I scream to will, hitting my forehead with my palm; it is my sister.

-" WHERE ARE YOU?"- she screams at me from the other side of the line.

-" Well…"- I began, but she interrupted me.

-" Doesn't matter, please go back to your house. I need the yellow satin dress I bought, so you can take pictures of me. The nurses are nuts if they think I'll keep this awful hospital gown"-

I didn't argue (I'm still at the house, even if she doesn't know it). I dropped the dedication note on top of the table and went upstairs to search for the gown.

-" Ok, sis, I'll take it to the hospital; it will take me longer to get there. Do you need anything else?"- I asked.

-" No, that is fine. Well... bring my red lipstick too,"- She said

-" Okey dokey, later"- And with that, I disconnected the call.

I grabbed her yellow gown and red lipstick (I hope I selected the right one, she has hundreds).

I am more interested in the note than my sister's baby's birth. I know it sounds awful, but I tend to accept many responsibilities and try to escape them. I keep doing this to myself, taking on more responsibilities and committing to datelines to meet others' expectations. I don't know when to stop. I feel tears running down my face. This anxiety/panic attack is not willing to stay at bay.

I focus on the task, go back downstairs, put everything in my backpack, and grab the note from the table. I unfolded it walking toward the door, and I froze when I read the name on the message, two simple words that shook my world.

"To Puchy"

That is what my abusive ex called me: the man who had killed three women before me; the man who mentally, verbally, and physically abused me; the man I put behind bars, and why I needed to change my identity.

I stood up and decided to put an end to it. I walked towards my door and grabbed the box. I'm fueled with anger, frustration, tiredness, and pain. I drop the package on my table and proceed to open it. I didn't open it all nice, and carefully, I tore the gorgeous wrapping paper and stabbed the carton with my scissors. Suddenly the world disintegrates around me, and I'm falling down the rabbit hole: My ex, my past, my current responsibilities, my sister, my job, my title, the tiredness of all of it coming to me at once, the anxiety is not longer at bay, and a panic attack is imminent; I was served a box full of the responsibilities I've been trying so hard to ignore. Everything is spinning. I see flashes of my all life, scenes from my current job, and my sister in the hospital. I'm not feeling the ground under my feet. I am just freefalling, surrounded by my mistakes, my fears...

"...Guess what's in the box, what's in the box. It's a toy mixing colors one by one mixing colors it's so…" - I can hear my phone ringing in the middle of the chaos. It is far, but I can hear it; it is my sister.

"Whmmmmmmmmm!" I inhaled as if it was the first time I had breathed in my whole life. My phone is ringing at my side, the table is full of drool, and my computer is still playing the "Mystery boxes" videos. OMG, it was just a dream, all this time, the box, the drone, my sister…" shit!" my sister. I grab my phone and return the call.

She brought me back from that horrible place and woke me up, and now I should be there for her because I want to and not because it is expected of me.

I open the notes on my phone and type:

"NOTE TO SELF:

Take vacations, and STOP watching nonsensical dark magic/spooky videos before going to bed".

Mystery
1

About the Creator

May sanz

Welcome to my Vocal page, I am a deep soul looking forward to put into words the ideas and shorts stories that cross my mind, hoping that people like you enjoy it and help me to improve my craft.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.