Fiction logo

Within the glass

Discover what lays behind the glass

By May sanz Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Within the glass
Photo by Zachary Spears on Unsplash

People come and go every day to this place, lots of people. I’m here early enough every day to see the maintenance guy mopping the floors, and getting everything ready for the day to come. I used to smile at him when I arrived here, do some trick for his entertainment, tried to make his day a little easier, I thought it was uncomfortable for him to work so hard, so early in the morning with his old arms and short legs; I thought I was been friendly, until one day, the day in which he thought he deserved more than what I was willing to give; Since that day I don’t smile at him, I don’t wave at him, I keep myself on my side of the glass, as far from him as I can, he gives me the creeps, even though he insists on calling me a freak.

Where was I? Oh yes, I was saying that people come and go every day, some have recurrent faces, others are new, everyone comes for different reasons, some to work, some to visit and others like me cause they have no other option or no better place to be.

I’ve been here night and day for a long time, I stopped keeping track of time after day 730, when I was told it was my second year here and it was a big party through on my honor, I didn’t know most of the people that came that day, but I recognized a few so I felt important. After that Celebration, it has been the same day after day. I work hard, I earn every single meal and every single compliment, and I’m well shielded against the critics and awful comments. Some people defend my work, my “Craft”, others hate me because of what I am; I’ve even swum with the sharks and come back alive, for Poseidon's sake, I’ll say that's a great achievement in business! at least that is what Charles will say.

Charles is a tall, dark skin businessman from the city, he comes to visit every now and then with his daughter Clarisse, she loves the aquarium. He has her every two weekends or so and she always asks him to bring her here “She is a fan!” or so he told me every time, he has the most honest brown eyes that I have ever seen and he has always respected me, so it is hard not to believe him, besides he is a seller and I’m hooked on the idea that Clarisse likes me; I don’t know if he can understand me most of the time “I’m not quite fluent in English and not a great speaker either”.

Today Charles and Clarisse are here. She is wearing a purple blouse with iridescent lime pants, with a pattern that emulates the scales on a fish, her hair is braided (just like mine) and she is wearing glitter on her chocolate skin, making her look as if she was glowing, she said she looks like me and that made me giggle, I do a small trick to show her my appreciation and she jumps in excitement calling Charles so I can repeat the trick for him to see, it is something “Simple” and he might not be that impress, but as a good father he pretends he is impressed -he always does that, because he loves Clarisse and maybe because he likes me (who knows, I have the right to dream, haven’t I?)- After my little “private show” Clarisse goes to see the baby whale tank (A new acquisition of the aquarium) while Charles takes the seat in front of me. It is unexpected but he starts talking.

I want to reach him, to touch him, but I cannot move, I cannot focus on Charles's words, I’m mesmerized by his gaze, the lights in this part of the Aquarium are dimmed, the blue of the tanks is reflected on the blue walls, making everything look like the bottom of the ocean. The water from the tanks is reflected on the walls making intricate patterns, the walls are so tall you can fit an Orca inside them with plenty of additional space (I know the reference is accurate because we have Orcas in this aquarium) and there are speakers echoing underwater sounds, it is a magical view, but if you add Charles to the mix, sitting so relaxed, looking straight at me and talking, it is just mesmerizing. Charles suddenly moved and placed a hand on one of the tanks near the edge of the room “Did He get offended? Did he notice I wasn’t listening? Should I say something?” I followed him and placed myself in front of him, making him look at me, then I noticed Clarisse. He moved towards her, not away from me. He removed a weird object from his ear and gave it to her saying “Mommy wants to talk to you, it is time to leave” he grabbed her hand and turns his back to me, they leave the room… and the aquarium… and me, behind my glass tank, filled with water and isolated, with my hand on the glass, a broken heart and cartel in front of the banquettes that reads “Mermaid exhibition, only specimen in the world”.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

May sanz

Welcome to my Vocal page, I am a deep soul looking forward to put into words the ideas and shorts stories that cross my mind, hoping that people like you enjoy it and help me to improve my craft.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.