Fiction logo

My Savior

Compassion for all.

By Andrew PerryPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

There is nothing like an afternoon rain that supports the warm glow of the sun. Clouds dot the sky, but the sun refuses to be hidden. Rays of light shinning through highlighting the rainbow over the hills in the distance. South of the hills stands a church overlooking a graveyard. Here stands a small gathering supporting a mother who is laying her son to rest for the last time. Behind the tombstone a deer mouse glides through the wet grass to join.

Life is a blessing filled with laughter, music, dancing, and the love neighbors share. Even with the hard days, there isn’t much that can bring down those who see the miracles. We often forget the hard work and sacrifice that was paid to reach this bliss. Life is often hard with death lurking around every corner. It doesn’t take much to forget this, life is unforgiving to all those who endure, from the tallest human to the teeniest mouse. The one blessing I had was a stranger show me compassion.

Food may be plentiful, but it is always behind someone or something that would benefit from my demise. The joy of finding the hole under the front door. The house was warm, and I could smell the food in the kitchen floor. Atlas, the meow did send my heart racing. Looking between the floorboards, I spotted a black cat, who seems to have the old women under his spell. She would give him all that he wanted while cheerfully stating “Moonlight, I will always love you.”

I spent the first few hours just watching the Moonlight, learning where his place of rest is, where he feeds, and how perceptive he may be. I could see the counter was covered in dishes, from plates to bowls, a feast was ending. It was a long wait, but eventually I heard the house settle down. Lights were still on, but hunger was setting in. I was unsure of what to expect, so I settled my nerves and began my ascent. The house was dimly lit. You could see the stars out but light down the hall way lit up the kitchen.

The little brown mouse made his way from the hole near the China cabinet towards the fridge. It didn’t take long before the aromas began to overwhelm the mouse. The mouse would climb up the back of the fridge, easily making his way to the counter. Out laid everything needed to make tacos. The residents were tired and made their way to bed without cleaning.

As I approached the feast, nothing made me smile more than the cheese. I was petrified to dash in the open, so I moved towards the toaster to stay out of sight. As I turned the corner, I moved quickly. Next think I know; I stepped in sticky. Unsure of what I just stepped in, I tried to pull out, my heart began to sank as I was unable to break free. I started to move frantically and in a pure panic, fell on my side. I was scared.

Few minutes later, the woman had returned. Screaming real out for you to come here. She demanded I die, and you dispose of my body. I could not believe my ears when you told her no, that I did nothing wrong and deserved to live. She declared with a thundering confidence “I don’t want those diseased things in my house!” Trenda despises the carcasses left around by Moonlight, but she would rather see a dead mouse than hear a living one.

You scooped up the trap and took us outside and went back inside. You returned shortly with gloves on your hand and some wooden sticks. You began to gently move the sticks around me, slowly separating the glue from my fur. You were methodical and gentle, moving cautiously to prevent any harm. It took some time, but then I was free. You set me down and wished me farewell. I was scared of what was next, but I knew you were good I followed you inside. “Thank you” I replied. The look on your face when you realized I could talk. You invited me to stay but warned me of her.

The following days I spend in the floor, watching your mom place more traps. Occasionally you caught me moving about, left crumbs of food lying about. I watched as you set off traps. Hearing your mom say,

“Take them out!” It was joyful to watch the con you ran.

“I am glad to have made you my friend. I look forward to the days ahead.”

You were 16 and you spent the next two years caring for me as your mom cared for her cat. We spent more time hiding, but you built shelter for me in your room. We shared stories and laughs alike. Then one day my heart sank, you joined the army and were on your way. “Don’t go! I don’t want you to leave.”

You knelt down patting my fur, “I will be back. Just you wait.” With a smile on your face, you grabbed your bag and walked out the front door. I never thought that would be the last day I see you.

I always listened in when you called your mom. It was always good to hear you tell her to leave cheese out on the front porch. Oh, how can someone so kind exist in this world. Then one day a knock at your door. Your mom was greeted by soldiers. With a face full of tears, they gave her a flag, you were no more.

As the little brown mouse climbed up the casket full out doubt, it stared at the photo of the soldier and shout “ You saved me from hundreds of traps, why couldn’t you save yourself from one? I will never forget what you did! You saved my life, I wish I could of saved yours.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Perry

I have spent my life reading books, telling stories, going on adventures, meeting new friends, and just enjoying life. I want to share stories and art that bring joy to people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.