Fiction logo

My Island Dream

A person awakes to find themself on a beach

By Iris HarrisPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - November 2023
19
My Island Dream
Photo by Lopez Robin on Unsplash

I sit in the beach lounge chair, enjoying the sparkling, crystal blue water of the ocean in front of me. Though the waves were inviting me to dive into them, I opted to sit in the chair. Sunbathing suited me better than swimming in the ocean. The waves gently caress the shores; the breeze whispering in my ears.

“Garçon,” I called out, waiting for the beach staff to trot over.

A stocky male glided over wearing typical beachwear. White polo shirt and shorts to match. “Oui, monsieur?”

He looks familiar, but I dismiss where I have seen him and decide to place my order. “Yeah, I would like one of those fruity drinks with the fancy umbrella. Surely, you know what I mean, right?” I shoot out. He casts a confused look at me before nodding respectfully and walking away.

It was a vacation I needed the most. Thrusted in a dog race of day to day operations, I decided to make an escape from reality for much-needed rest and relaxation. Away from the humdrum of my mundane professional life. No cell phones. No paperwork. Just sunshine and beach. I booked a flight and somehow landed on a remote island. I forget how long I have been here, but I am enjoying the view.

The beach staff returns carrying a tray with a single drink on it. “Monsieur, your drink,” he says with his French accent and places the glass on a table beside me. He turns and flashes a grin. It triggers a memory and I try to place where I have seen him, but my quench for the drink supersedes my desire to recall his identity. I return to the serenity of the ocean.

Minutes later, the identity of the beach boy begins pounding on my mind. I begin thumbing through images in my head, determined to figure out why he is so familiar. The location I have seen him, remains a blur. A literal blur. Like a static infested monitor, I see him fade in and out. His perfect teeth flashing and sporadically a panicked expression. Maybe he is a retired actor. I resign and lean back in the chair. Truthfully, I still ponder while watching the waves. I close my eyes and rely on the rhythmic waves to lull me to sleep.

The world is spinning, flashing lights all around me. My hands are covering my ears in an attempt to block out the disturbing noise that engulfs me. My eyes shoot open as thirst grips my throat. The fruity drink sitting on the table next to me. Calling me. Beads of condensation fall like teardrops down the face of the glass. My hand reaches over and grasps the glass, and my lips kiss the brim. I want to sigh in relief as the liquid pours down my throat, but relief seems absent. Before I realize it, the liquid in the glass has vanished, and I am holding the glass goblet, wondering why my thirst has increased.

“What?” A quizzical expression grips my face. “Garçon!” I scream in anger. The crashing of the waves supply a response on the silent treeless beach. I call for the wait staff again and again, but nature is the only ally that surrounds me.

“Where is everyone?” I shout, desperate for human companionship, fearing I may have been forgotten under the blazing sun above me. A thought lands on the sandy beach, thrusting fear into my stomach. I can’t remember when I came to the beach. Had I been sitting there for hours? The whole day? Why was I the only person on the beach? Where were the other beachgoers, or tourists? Furthermore, where the hell is the beach boy from earlier.

My throat supplies on obvious answer: I need a drink more than ever. The fruity cocktail that evaporated down my throat failed to quench my thirst. When was the last time I had a real drink? I can feel my hydration leaving me. Urine! According to many survival shows, urine could also be used to keep a person hydrated. I decide this may end up becoming an option, on this beach of solitude. I go to rise from the chair, but my legs refuse to obey. The strength has been sapped from them. Panic fills my heart. I need to pee. I need to hydrate. The words repeat like a chorus. Reaching desperately for the glass that held the fruity cocktail, I position it under me. I wait for my bodily fluid to disperse and fill the glass but nothing pours out of me. Impossible! I just drank the cocktail! I wait a few minutes, willing any type of fluid to begin pouring out of me, realizing my life may be at stake. My bladder fails to answer the imminent call and for the first time since I sat on the beach, a deathly thought runs through me: when was the last time I urinated?

Confusion starts to swirl around me, becoming the winds of a forming hurricane. The heat from the sun above beats down, as if gradually rising, baking me on the shore I sit. My head swirls, riding a nightmarish carousal. I close my eyes to regain steadiness, but the visions from my previous dream reemerge and are slightly more visual. Colors spinning, like colored water being sucked down a drain. I hear voices this time. No, not voices, screams. Tears. People are frightened. I feel the pressure placed on my chest, keeping me trapped. And then my eyes reopen.

The chair holds me. The serene ocean that was in front of me has vanished. Evaporated. The table where my glass once stood is replaced by some metallic debris. The glass, itself, is stolen by the sands that surround me. Pain shoots from my legs, calling me to glance down. When I listen, horror strikes my eyes at the realization for the first time. My legs are twisted out of shape and immobile. The beach lounge chair has become an airline cushioned seat, with me still strapped at the waist by the seatbelt. The scorching heat of the sun nibbling away at my skin. A treat it has enjoyed for what feels like hours. I try to scan the sandy area and catch more glimpses of metallic debris. The memories gush back to me.

On my flight to France from Hong Kong, I heard a loud explosion outside my window. Seconds later, the cabin was spinning with everyone strapped in and clutching their heads for survival. The crunching sounds of the plane crashing is the last thing I heard before darkness engulfed me. When I regained consciousness, I was alone; separated from the bulk of the debris and unclear how long I had been trapped in my sandy tomb. With dehydration sucking my soul away, I knew I was hours away from death. I had no voice to scream, even if I had, it would go unheard. The gentle flow of the wind blew only malice. There I was imprisoned. Engulfed in the desert's parched silence, I was nothing but another grain of sand in the wind.

thrillerHorror
19

About the Creator

Iris Harris

An aspiring novelist. I enjoy writing ghost, horror, and drama. Occassionally, I dabble with some essays. You can find more of my work with the link below:

Learn more about me

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Terrifying experience this one. I hope you get rescued. Congratulations on TS.

  • J. Delaney-Howe5 months ago

    I love a good twist! Well done!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    A very creative take on the challenge. Congratulations on Top Story, and good luck!

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    Nice! A chilling piece. I felt cold as I read this.

  • KJ Aartila5 months ago

    Oh my gosh! That's a terrifying story! Well done - an enjoyable and creative take on the challenge.

  • Great take on the challenge and love the beach / desert relationship concept

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    I guess their mind decided to take that vacation anyway. Wild story, well told!

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Ahhhh that took a major turn 😱😱😱😱. This was so suspenseful!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.