Fiction logo

"My husband insulted me when I was blind"My husband insulted me when I was blind

The Struggle of Adjusting to Blindness: A Test of Patience and SupportThe Struggle of Adjusting to Blindness: A Test of Patience and Support

By Abd AzisPublished about a month ago 5 min read
By azis

When I lost my sight, everything changed. The world became a blur of sounds, textures, and emotions. I had to relearn how to navigate my life, and it was tough. But what I didn't expect was how it would change my relationship with my husband, Mike.

Mike and I had been married for six years when my vision started to deteriorate. At first, he was supportive, driving me to doctor appointments and helping me around the house. But as my blindness became permanent, his patience wore thin.

One evening, I was in the kitchen trying to make dinner. I could hear Mike's footsteps behind me, and I knew he was watching me struggle. I accidentally knocked over a glass, and it shattered on the floor.

"For God's sake, can't you do anything right?" Mike snapped.

His words stung more than any physical pain. I had always prided myself on being capable and independent, and now here I was, feeling utterly helpless. But more than that, his insult cut deep because it came from the person I loved and relied on the most.

"I’m doing my best, Mike," I said quietly, trying to keep my voice steady. I could hear the anger and frustration in his sigh.

"Your best isn't good enough," he muttered as he stomped out of the kitchen.

That night, as I lay in bed, I couldn't sleep. My mind replayed his harsh words over and over. I felt like I was failing not just myself, but him too. But I also felt a spark of anger. I was blind, yes, but I was still me. I deserved respect and kindness, especially from my husband.

The next day, I decided we needed to talk. I waited until Mike came home from work, then asked him to sit down with me.

"Mike, we need to talk," I began, my voice firmer than I felt.

He sat down, looking wary. "What is it?"

"I know this isn't easy for you," I said. "But it's not easy for me either. I'm doing my best to adjust, and I need your support, not your insults."

He was silent for a moment, and I could hear the tension in his breathing. "I'm sorry," he finally said. "I just... I don't know how to handle this. It's so frustrating."

"I understand that," I replied. "But taking it out on me isn't going to help. We need to face this together. I need you to be patient and kind, even when it's hard."

He nodded slowly. "You're right. I'm sorry for what I said. I'll try to do better."

It wasn't a perfect resolution, but it was a start. Over the next few weeks, we both made an effort to communicate better. Mike started going to therapy to deal with his frustrations, and I joined a support group for people with vision loss.

It wasn't easy, but we found our way back to each other. We learned to navigate this new chapter in our lives with patience, love, and understanding. And while my blindness was a challenge, it also brought us closer together in ways I never expected.

In the end, it taught us both the power of empathy and the importance of standing by each other, even when the road gets tough. And for that, I was grateful.When I lost my sight, everything changed. The world became a blur of sounds, textures, and emotions. I had to relearn how to navigate my life, and it was tough. But what I didn't expect was how it would change my relationship with my husband, Mike.

Mike and I had been married for six years when my vision started to deteriorate. At first, he was supportive, driving me to doctor appointments and helping me around the house. But as my blindness became permanent, his patience wore thin.

One evening, I was in the kitchen trying to make dinner. I could hear Mike's footsteps behind me, and I knew he was watching me struggle. I accidentally knocked over a glass, and it shattered on the floor.

"For God's sake, can't you do anything right?" Mike snapped.

His words stung more than any physical pain. I had always prided myself on being capable and independent, and now here I was, feeling utterly helpless. But more than that, his insult cut deep because it came from the person I loved and relied on the most.

"I’m doing my best, Mike," I said quietly, trying to keep my voice steady. I could hear the anger and frustration in his sigh.

"Your best isn't good enough," he muttered as he stomped out of the kitchen.

That night, as I lay in bed, I couldn't sleep. My mind replayed his harsh words over and over. I felt like I was failing not just myself, but him too. But I also felt a spark of anger. I was blind, yes, but I was still me. I deserved respect and kindness, especially from my husband.

The next day, I decided we needed to talk. I waited until Mike came home from work, then asked him to sit down with me.

"Mike, we need to talk," I began, my voice firmer than I felt.

He sat down, looking wary. "What is it?"

"I know this isn't easy for you," I said. "But it's not easy for me either. I'm doing my best to adjust, and I need your support, not your insults."

He was silent for a moment, and I could hear the tension in his breathing. "I'm sorry," he finally said. "I just... I don't know how to handle this. It's so frustrating."

"I understand that," I replied. "But taking it out on me isn't going to help. We need to face this together. I need you to be patient and kind, even when it's hard."

He nodded slowly. "You're right. I'm sorry for what I said. I'll try to do better."

It wasn't a perfect resolution, but it was a start. Over the next few weeks, we both made an effort to communicate better. Mike started going to therapy to deal with his frustrations, and I joined a support group for people with vision loss.

It wasn't easy, but we found our way back to each other. We learned to navigate this new chapter in our lives with patience, love, and understanding. And while my blindness was a challenge, it also brought us closer together in ways I never expected.

In the end, it taught us both the power of empathy and the importance of standing by each other, even when the road gets tough. And for that, I was grateful.

Psychological

About the Creator

Abd Azis

I, an amateur writer, compose heartfelt stories that explore identity and the human experience. Its charming characters and touching narrative are inspired by life everyday, very popular with readers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Abd AzisWritten by Abd Azis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.