Fiction logo

My Greatest Fear Was

Fear Of Not Succeeding

By VirituosoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

My greatest fear was always a failure. I was constantly worried about not being good enough, about not living up to my expectations or the expectations of others. I was a high-achieving student, but even with my hard work and dedication, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was constantly one step behind.

It wasn't just about grades, either. I was afraid of failing at relationships, my career, and anything I set my mind to. I was scared of letting people down, of not being able to measure up. And so, I worked harder and harder, trying to compensate for this fear by overachieving in every aspect of my life.

But despite my efforts, I couldn't escape the feeling of inadequacy. It followed me everywhere, lurking in the shadows, ready to pounce at any moment. I tried to push it down, to ignore it, but it always seemed to find a way to surface.

It wasn't until I was in my mid-twenties that I finally decided to confront my fear head-on. I had just received my college degree and began working as a minor company marketing coordinator. I was excited about the opportunity, but I was also terrified that I wouldn't be able to live up to my boss's expectations.

I sought a therapist's assistance because I realized I had to take action. It wasn't easy admitting my vulnerabilities and insecurities to someone else, but I knew it was necessary if I wanted to make any real progress.

Through therapy, I could examine the root of my fear of failure. I realized that it stemmed from my perfectionist tendencies and the pressure I put on myself constantly to be the best. I was so afraid of making mistakes or falling short that I was continually striving for an unattainable level of perfection.

I also understood that my fear of failure wasn't just about me. It was about my relationships with others and the belief that I would let everyone down if I failed. I realized that this belief was not only irrational but also unfair to myself and others.

With the help of my therapist, I began to focus on altering my perspective and acquiring the ability to tolerate my flaws and defects more. It wasn't easy, but with time and practice, I started to see a shift in my thinking. I realized that failure was a natural and necessary part of learning and growing.

I had always thought I had to do everything alone, and seeking help was a sign of weakness. But I understood that it was a sign of strength and that admitting when I needed a hand was okay. I also learned that it was okay to ask for help and to lean on others for support.

As I continued to work on myself and my mindset, I saw improvements in my personal and professional life. I was more confident and self-assured and could handle challenges and setbacks with a newfound resilience.

I still have moments of fear and insecurity, but I now have the tools and the mindset to face them head-on. I've learned that failure is not the end but rather a stepping stone to something better. And most importantly, I've learned that I am enough, just as I am.

As I continued to grow and work on myself, I started to see the benefits of my efforts in my personal and professional life. My relationships with others improved, as I was able to be more open and honest about my feelings and vulnerabilities. I was also able to be more present in my interactions, rather than constantly worrying about the future or dwelling on the past.

In my career, I began to take on more responsibility and tackle new challenges with confidence. I was no longer afraid to make mistakes or to speak up when I had an idea or a suggestion. I contributed to the success of my team and the company and was recognized for my hard work and dedication.

But perhaps the most significant change came in my personal life. I had always put my career and goals first, often at the expense of my happiness. But as I worked on my mindset and learned to prioritize myself and my well-being, I could make space for other things that brought me joy and fulfillment.

I started to pursue my passions and hobbies and made time for the people and activities that brought me happiness. I even began to think about starting a family, something that I had always been too afraid to consider before.

It wasn't always easy, and there were still moments of fear and insecurity. But I was able to approach those moments with a new level of self-awareness and self-compassion. I learned to acknowledge my feelings and to give myself the space and time to work through them.

Looking back on my journey, I am amazed at how far I've come. My greatest fear was a failure; I overcame it through hard work and self-reflection. I am no longer held back by my insecurities and doubts, and I can pursue my goals and dreams with confidence and resilience.

I am grateful for the journey and am excited to see what the future holds. I know there will be challenges and setbacks, but I am ready to face them head-on, armed with the tools and mindset I've cultivated along the way.

Young AdultShort Storyfamily

About the Creator

Virituoso

I am a short story writer who loves reading and watching movies. I have five kids, a wife, and a dog. I try to live life to the fullest and enjoy every moment. I am a virtuoso when it comes to living life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VirituosoWritten by Virituoso

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.