Fiction logo

The Day She Smiled At Me

Her Smile Changed My World

By VirituosoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

As I sat at my desk, staring blankly at the computer screen, Desperation overcame me, and I couldn't help but feel it. It had been a long and tedious day at work, and all I wanted was to go home and crawl into bed.

But just as I was about to pack up and call it a day, something unexpected happened. She walked into the room, and as our eyes met, she smiled at me. It was a small, subtle gesture, but it lifted my spirits and brought sunshine into my dull, dreary day.

I couldn't help but feel excited as I watched her walk across the room. She was a beautiful woman with long; she had long, flowing hair and eyes that sparkled in the sunshine. I had always found her attractive, but I had never mustered up the courage to talk to her. She seemed so out of my league, and I was convinced she would never give me the time of day.

But as she approached my desk, I could feel my heart racing. I wasn't sure what she wanted, but I was determined to make the most of this opportunity. So I took a deep breath and prepared myself for the worst.

"Hi," she said, flashing me another one of her warm and friendly smiles. "I'm sorry to bother you. However, I was hoping you could assist me in some way."

I was a little taken aback by her request, but I quickly regained my composure and nodded. "Of course," I said, trying to sound confident and capable. "What do you need help with?"

She hesitated for a moment as if she wasn't sure how to proceed. After reaching inside, she removed a stack of papers from her bag. "I'm working on a project for school, but the formatting is difficult. Could you look and see if you can spot any errors?"

I was a little surprised by her request, but I was happy to help. I took the papers from her and began to scan them, looking for any mistakes or inconsistencies. As I worked, I couldn't help but feel happy that I was able to help her. It was a small task, but it felt good to contribute somehow.

After a few minutes, I identified several errors in the document. I marked them with a pen and handed the papers back to her, explaining where she had gone wrong. She listened intently as I spoke, nodding and taking notes on a small notepad.

"Thank you so much," she said, looking relieved and grateful. "You have yet to know how much this means to me. I was struggling with this project and wasn't struggling did get it done." I shrugged modestly, trying to downplay my role in her success. "It was no problem," I said. "I'm happy to help out whenever I can."

She smiled at me again, and I felt my heart skip. It was a small, subtle gesture that meant the world to me. It seemed like forever since I made a real connection with someone.

We spent the next hour talking and laughing as we worked on her project together. To my surprise, it was so easy to speak to her, and I opened up and shared things about myself that I had never told anyone before. It was a refreshing change from the mundane routine of my everyday life, and I enjoyed every minute of it.

As the evening wore on, I couldn't help but feel sad as the thought of saying goodbye to her crossed my mind. I knew our time together was limited, and I wasn't sure when or if I would see her again.

But just as I was about to tell her that I had to leave, she turned to me and asked if I wanted to grab a drink with her. "I know this great little bar down the street," she said. "They have the best craft beers in town. What do you say?"

"I'd love to," I said, trying to sound as casual as possible. I couldn't believe my ears. Was she asking me out on a date? I barely dared to hope, but I knew I couldn't pass up this opportunity.

We made our way to the bar and spent the next few hours chatting and laughing over cold beers and bar snacks. I had such a good time that I barely noticed the time passing. Before I knew it, it was closing time, and we were being asked to leave.

As we stepped out into the cool night air, I couldn't help but feel disappointed at the thought of our evening ending. But just as I was about to say goodbye, she turned to me and took my hand. "I had such a great time tonight," she said. " I Would love to do this again. I couldn't believe my luck. "I'd love to," I said, feeling a huge grin spreading across my face.

And with that, we said our goodbyes and went our separate ways. As I walked home that night, I couldn't stop thinking about her. I couldn't believe that the day she had smiled at me had turned into such an incredible evening. I knew I had to see her again and was determined to make it happen.

Over the next few weeks, we saw each other regularly, and our relationship blossomed. I fell harder and harder for her every day, and I knew she felt the same way. We were happy and in love, and I couldn't imagine a perfect partner.

And as the years went by, we remained together through all of life's ups and downs. We laughed, loved, and supported each other, and I knew I had found the woman I was meant to be with for the rest of my life. All because of that day when she smiled at me and changed my life forever.

Young AdultShort StoryLovefamily

About the Creator

Virituoso

I am a short story writer who loves reading and watching movies. I have five kids, a wife, and a dog. I try to live life to the fullest and enjoy every moment. I am a virtuoso when it comes to living life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VirituosoWritten by Virituoso

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.