Fiction logo

MY Cab

My heart

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
14
MY Cab
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Every Saturday night was about the same. Downtown Boston was full of young couples. The young ladies urged their significant others to wave me down. The guy usually mumbled something about how he could have looked out for her on the subway. But my fare tonight was different. He appeared to have not been drinking. He didn't seem to even know where he was going. He just told me to drive, away from the center of the city. I headed toward Brookline, and then Somerville before he broke the silence. All he said was "She died, and I wasn't even there. I was forging our business when I should have been by her side." I was silent, feeling his pain. Then he continued "She promised me to go to the meeting and close the deal. So I did, and right before I waved you down I got the call that she had passed. Tonight I gave her her dying wish. but I feel dead."

I just listened. I felt like crying, but I asked him,"Where is home, would you like to go home?" He seemed startled " Home without her ," he mumbled. Then I understood there was no place that he did not have memories of the night haunting him. I turned off the fare box and drove him to a hotel on the waterfront. It was where I would want to stay. "Can You afford it." He said yes and moped out of my cab

Excerpt
14

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    This writing was outstanding.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Oh that is terribly sad 😔

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    It’s amazing how your story was able to portray a melancholy feel to it from the moment he enter the taxi, bravo

  • Catherine Nyomenda8 months ago

    I get emotional reading deep-rooted stories like this. My tears are held back. This is a good story

  • Test8 months ago

    This was heart-breaking and wholesome at the same time. It showed the heartbreak of humanity and how important it is to be there for each other.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler9 months ago

    Antoinette, this says so much about how humans should connect with other humans. Bittersweet but thoughtful and addressing our roles to look out for each other. Love it!

  • Gosh this was so heartbreaking! The vab driver was just so kind!

  • Sarah urffer9 months ago

    So sweet and yet very sad at the same time. Beautiful story!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Ugh so sad, so much pull at the heartsrings!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Beautiful work Antoinette! Very heartfelt!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.