Fiction logo

My Adventure Under The Sea

Underwater exploration or a dream?

By Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Adventures under the Sea

As I sat on the white sand beach, staring at the crystal blue water of the ocean where it meets the horizon at the point when the sapphire waves turned to a soft but vibrant dusty baby blue with puffy clouds of various shapes floating lazily in the sky. My mind began to wander through some of life's mysteries and absurdities as I half dozed in the warm midday sun and gentle breeze. What lies beneath the glass surface of these waves? Fish and other marine life were a given but what if there was an entire civilization down there, living under a dome or something? Would they be friendly? Would they be grotesque with sharp fangs and claws?

The water began to churn not even twenty feet from the shore, snapping me out of my peaceful trance and entrancing me in a world of fear and wonder. Faster and faster until a whirlpool roughly eight feet wide opened, rotating in a clockwise fashion. Staring with my mouth open, a dark green figure poked its scaly head out. Looking about and only seeing me, it came a bit further out, holding a golden trident in a clawed fist and grinned rows of sharp teeth at me. Dancing seemingly happily in a small circle, it pointed the trident at me then beckoned. It seems like the creature wanted me to follow, but that's impossible, isn't it? The creature repeated its actions, cocked its head to one side as if to say "are you coming?" then sank back into the whirlpool and was gone.

Feeling more than a little dumb for even considering what I was about to do, I got to my feet and I dove into the whirlpool head first. What a ride that was! First I went left, then I went right, then I spun like a top for 30 seconds and I couldn't tell which way was up. The whole time I felt something pulling me in all directions but it ended as suddenly as it began and when I opened my eyes I was standing at the bottom of the ocean as easily as I would stand on the ground above the water.

The first thing I noticed was how beautiful it was here with little schools of fish of various breeds and colors swimming everywhere. Plants of all kinds like the ones I had learned about in science class dotted the landscape, corals, and rock formations too. I let out a bubbly breath of wonder, how is this possible? With a start, I realized I could breathe normally as if I were still on the beach, my mind racing at the thought. I looked around for the creature that led me here, but it was nowhere to be found.

I started walking after randomly selecting a direction, with no particular plan in mind. Climbing up a rather large rock cluster, I looked around. I could make out what looks like a sunken ship not far from where I am and a sharks' den in the opposite direction. Feeling more adventurous and not wanting to become lunch, I set out for the sunken ship. As I drew closer, the dark oak wood of the prow pointed majestically toward the sky with the figurehead of a ghostly white angel leading the way. The rest of the ship had been roughly ripped apart, more than half of the craft lay on its side silently with huge gaping holes caused by what I only guess was cannons and time spent in this watery grave. The broken mast half-buried in the seafloor still bore the tattered remains of a Jolly Roger, this had been a pirate ship.

As carefully as I could, I climbed into the belly of the beast so to speak, what I would imagine was the cargo bay. Within the dim light, I was able to see chests scattered about. Most of the chests were filled with strange gold coins, a rack of weapons lay spilled all over the floor as well. I take a couple of the coins and put them in my pocket, if this isn't just some kind of crazy dream I wanted some kind of proof that wasn't crazy. As I turned to leave, a glint of silver caught my eye. A silver ball, roughly the size of a marble, lay alone in the middle of the floor.

Picking it up and looking at it closely, it seemed unremarkable. I put the ball in my pocket and left the ship. Upon jumping back to the ocean's floor, a massive tornado suddenly flared up around me reaching the glassy surface of the water far above my head and the scaly figure from before stepped into the center with me. Getting a closer look, it was roughly the size of a child, dark green scales glinted in the eerie light of the ocean. It held out a scaly clawed hand and made the "gimme" motion. I reached into my pocket and pulled out the coins as a peace offering. The creature shook its head, pointed at my other pocket, and made the “gimme” gesture again. Pulling out the silver ball, I held it out to the creature who immediately took the sphere and held the object close to its chest for a moment, then handed me a small pink crystal. With a wink and toothy smile, the creature shoved me hard, flipping through the twister.

I awoke with a start, looking around in a panic. I was back on the beach, the sun was setting the water on fire as it lowered into the horizon. Was it all just a crazy dream? As I stiffly stood up to head for home, I realized I had something clutched in my left hand. Prying it open with my right hand, I looked in wonder at the pale pink crystal. Digging a hand into both pockets, I found the coins from the shipwreck as well.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.