Fiction logo

Mother Nature

Who Decided that?

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
6
Mother Nature
Photo by Evgeni Tcherkasski on Unsplash

There is no definitive answer to whether Mother Nature is a god, as different beliefs and perspectives may have different views on this question. However, some possible ways to approach this question are:

*Mother Nature is a healing goddess and a global consciousness that encompasses all life on this planet, as proposed by the Gaia hypothesis.

*Mother Nature is not a god, but a part of God's creation that humans have a responsibility to steward and dominate, as suggested by some Christian views.

*The word "nature" comes from the Latin word, "natura", meaning birth or character. In English, its first recorded use (in the sense of the entirety of the phenomena of the world) was in 1266. "Natura" and the personification of Mother Nature were widely popular in the Middle Ages. As a concept, seated between the properly divine and the human.

Here is my take on the relationship between the two, as a couple. (human).... seems about right.

*****

*

A soft white snowflake tumbles, from a bright azure sky.

Shooting stars and moon beams scatter, as seen from an eagle's eye.

The first tears from a newborn, makes a mama’s glad heart cry.

At the edge of all creation, you can hear his soft and gentle sigh.

*

It's not what was intended, as the world came to be.

A few simple rules were “bended,” when the final picture, seen.

She had a few opinions, like - whether the grass should remain green.

He had to see that coming, if you know what I mean.

*

No one would be the wiser, (he thought) if a few corners were cut.

He was a happy little miser, before she asked him, “What...?!”

*

Tell me, just what were you thinking, when you made the sun rise in the East?

Maybe you were blinking, when you chose green - to paint the trees.

How come you never asked me? I would have said, to use them all.

And tell me, where the sun will go, before each night can fall?

Where are you going to put the moon, for the wolves to sing their calls?

I'm beginning to believe, you were not thinking much, at all!

*

When did you decide, what kind of song the birds would sing?

Why the leaves fall from the trees,

or the oceans salty breeze?

You promised yesterday, that would be solely up to me.

But here we go again,

just words you use, trying to appease?

*

You know it was my idea, to dapple the flowers in the fields,

like the stars up in the sky, and give the elephants, those ears.

You decided it was best for them to walk, and never fly?

(It was you; it wasn't I, I will never know, just why)

*

Tell me why you chose to spot the leopard,

while the tigers all got stripes?

Would it have really been too hard,

for you, to ask for my advice?

*

***He hesitated for a moment, and then took her hand in his, erasing the void he'd put between them, looked in her eyes and softly said **

*

You're right my dear, I should have seen,

it was your feelings I would hurt.

Won't you find it in your heart, to forgive -

and help me change the world?

*

***She tipped her head and smiled a bit, to let him know, all was cool**

*

Actually, my love, she cooed,

it's really great the way it was.

I only needed you to prove,

you cared and gave me your applause.

A few tweaks made here and there, and it will be perfect, just because,

we learned to work together, and you came to me with pause.

*

Another day in paradise

Fable
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh my goodness! This was magnificent! So marvelously stunning!

  • The pairing of this music with your words, Kelli, is almost indescribably perfect. The grandeur mixed with such great intimacy, the indigenous with the modern, all of it together moved me to tears.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Kelli, I liked the note you made at the beginning to help us grasp the direction/ journey you were about to take us on. The music video you chose was also very mood setting and such a great touch! I love this take on the Mother Nature myth/ legend. It’s insightful and mind changing. You tell such a beautiful tale and did a great job brining the reader along with you! Great work Kelli!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.