Fiction logo

Mother

Home is where the heart is.

By Mandolyn LeaderPublished 3 years ago 6 min read

It's different than we once imagined it would be. It is not a desert, it doesn't look like mars, and there are no crumbling buildings. The sky is a light emerald color, not grey or black. There are so many animals. Everywhere you look, life seems to be flourishing. With one exception... there are no humans.

I wash my face in a beautiful shimmering stream. The water is cool and smells of eucalyptus. This is no surprise, the water comes from a spring surrounded by massive eucalyptus trees. They tower overhead like all-knowing giants who have seen more than you could imagine. I smile up at the giants and bask in the warm sun slipping in between their thin leaves. I am thankful for where I am. For the comfort, quiet, and peace. If you could ask the trees, I am sure they are thankful too.

I do not reminisce much these days. It is hard to recall hundreds of years even with the technologies and capabilities of our modern evolution. Besides, most of my time spent on earth was with my inadequate Homosapien brain. But while I am here I promise myself to take the time to remember and to be filled with gratitude. If it was not for this tiny planet and all it has to offer, I would not be who or what I am today.

It was not until the end of the 22nd century that Earth became so quiet. Most of the Homosapiens had died off by then. There was no war, no mass tragedies, nothing too exciting. It was a simple genetic mutation. If you did not have it, you lived your fruitful life and died around the age of 90. If you did have it, like me, you continued to live.

As you can imagine, Earth became boring after a while. We had already colonized Mars and a few other planets. So once the others left I lead the clean-up crew for Earth. Restoring every last rock to its natural state. To say I was proud would be an understatement. It looked as though Homosapiens never existed. That they had never drilled holes into the ground looking for useless oil or spewed their trash into the depths of the ocean. Although, I cannot take credit for it all. We only cleaned up, nature took care of the rest. It is amazing what a planet can do for itself.

I come back every so often to check up on everything but also to check in on myself. To remind me where I came from. Who I am. Also to remember those who were. If I don't do it, no one else will. Although, they would argue it is not necessary either. All of Earths and human history is recorded and saved in an energy clip that could never be altered or destroyed. Not to mention you could just travel to the light-year which you wish to view and watch any part of Earth like a film.

As I breathe in the warm air swirling around me, it helps me gather my thoughts. I smile and pick myself up from my spot next to the stream. My body hovers a few inches from the ground. Apart from the freshwater, I do not wish to touch anything else here. I slip through the forest and koo at the passing fauna. They too have evolved. With no humans to run or hide from, the megafauna have returned. They are kind creatures, turning to look at me with a hint of curiosity then recognition. Even if I only visit every couple hundred years, these animals are hundreds of years old themselves. So they recognize me. With some, I even communicate. But I did not have time for that now. There is a more dire reason for my visit.

I make my way to a clearing. Through it, a salty breeze passes and greats me. The ocean is my favorite place. I skim across the sand and directly into the water. But it doesn't touch me. I am surrounded by an aura that keeps the water inches away from any part of my body. It also allows me to breathe wherever I am. The sea creatures make way as I descend deeper. It is uniquely quiet down here. A different kind of peace. I stop right before I reach the depth where there is no longer light. Then I let go, no longer controlling my movements. I allow the water to move me without touching me. Letting myself relax and my thoughts run free. It feels so safe here.

A small heart-shaped locket materializes in my palm. It is the only momento I still keep from my time on Earth. I close my eyes and squeeze it tightly, till it hurts. I don't need to look at it, every detail is etched into my minds eye like a tattoo.

I wait for the currents to take me to my destination. Slowly, I open my eyes again. A reef the size of Russia sprawls out in front of me. I open the locket and a small flat gem falls into my hand. The gem is smooth and warm. I bring it to my mouth and carefully place it under my tongue. After a moment I whisper, barely audible, "Hello Mum."

By the time the immortality mutation was discovered, telepathy was already quite common. It had always been possible but it took training and dedication to learn, like any other skill. Although the few immortals did not have to learn, they were born with it. The only unfortunate part was that they would hear things they did not necessarily want to. The communication was always flowing between them. We decided to call it the greater conscious. It took training and willpower to stop the flow.

In this moment, I slowed the flow running through my mind until it eventually ceased. Complete silence.

Once I had fully relaxed a distant voice called out to me, "Hello my child." The voice was quiet and smooth, like the sound of wind rustling through long golden grass in an empty field.

Although I was old, I was nowhere close to the age of Mother Earth. I was one of her children after all. She knew more than most planets. She nurtured and destroyed many beings. To my luck, she shared everything with me. Lovingly, she taught me lessons, gave her knowledge, and told me her stories. Stories that could not be written or captured visually. They must be felt.

Sometimes when I visited I would stay for days, weeks, even months. Other times, I would stay for hours or minutes. It depended on what she was sharing with me. Some of it was easier to handle. Some of it took me years to process, to understand.

The gem allowed her to communicate with me. To help me to feel the energy. It also let her hear and see my thoughts. And the greater consciousness.

The quiet depths of the ocean enabled me to focus. I felt the smooth surface of the gem heat up under my tongue.

"You know I did not want you to leave, right?" she breathed.

"I know Mum" I responded softly.

"I am happy you still come back to visit me. I miss you all dearly."

I smile softly and close my eyes again. "You should see what we have discovered" I respond with excitement.

Then I release the flow in my mind and allow her to see my thoughts and the ones flooding in from the others. New planets, solar systems, other beings, and unimaginable creatures dance in my mental images.

I feel her smile. Warm joy and love spreads through my blood. "I am so proud of all of you" she whispers.

Once we had realized that everything, including ourselves, were merely energy, it became easier. We learned how to manipulate energy. To travel with it and through it. The gene of immortality eliminated our worry for time but did not stop us from evolving. Our minds continued to expand. And the greater conscious helped immensely. We learned quickly and developed extraordinary mechanisms. We were young pioneers of space and little stood in the way of our explorations.

I slowed my mind and brought the flow to a stop once again. The temperature in my veins cooled. I felt Mother sigh.

"There is still so much I need to teach you" Mother murmured.

Adventure

About the Creator

Mandolyn Leader

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mandolyn LeaderWritten by Mandolyn Leader

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.