Fiction logo

Monkey

My Daughter's Favorite Stuffed Animal

By David BrandyPublished 6 months ago 2 min read

My person is a little girl. She is the cutest little girl on this planet, she loves me more than life itself, and is currently leaving me behind....

The day started with a long drive where I was made to talk with various other toys. My person takes good care of me and makes sure I stay social. Yep it was a good time playing and cuddling in the back of the car, and when we got to the park, it got even better! I had never seen my person smile so big and it made my monkey heart happy.

That is where it happened though, my person put me beside her in the stroller... and I fell out. I wish I could have held on as tightly as she holds on to me, but now I find myself watching her and her family disappear into the crowd... For the first time, I am without her.

I would tell you I am brave, and that I don't want to cry, but the truth is, it is almost too much to take. I watch as the people walk by me, and hope I won't be squished. Squished... that's what my person's heart will be when she finds out that I am missing.

I lay here, just waiting, and hoping that my person sees me again. The sun starts to set and I realize that I won't be spending the night with my person... she needs me so much at night. She hasn't ever spent the night away from me. What is she going to do?

It starts to rain, which is good, because the tears break through. I can't stop them any more and it feels like I cry for an eternity, but then something happens. Someone is picking me up?! My person?! I feel them wipe my face clear and I can see that it is not her.

This person is a lot like my little person though, she is short and cute, she just isn't my person. She smiles at my monkey face and gives me a big hug, that's when I hear one of the big people say something. I wish I could understand what the big people say.

No! She is taking me! I have been put in a pocket! I wish I could do something. I wish I could call out to my person but I can't... Wait, something is happening, she is holding me again. She looks me straight in my eyes and says, "We are going to get you to your person."

The next thing I knew I was being handed off to a big person and the nice little person waved good bye. Now I lay here in a box with other lost things, because for now, that is what I am. A lost thing.

I wait, and wait, just hoping she would see me again, then I hear a familiar voice. It is a big person voice, but I know it very well. Suddenly I am being carried by the big people... and then I see her... My little person!!

My stuffed heart almost explodes with joy as I see her little face light up and shout, "Monkey!!" She reaches out with both hands and hugs me like the very first time she has ever hugged me. I couldn't be happier to see her again, just, maybe one of the big people could put a bell on me... or something...

Short Story

About the Creator

David Brandy

My very first story crafting was an imaginary game that me and my two younger brothers would play when I was 12. My love of storytelling manifested itself quickly. Today I am a husband, father, and business owner.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    “I wish I could have held on as tightly as she holds on to me, but now I find myself watching her and her family disappear into the crowd...“ is a great line, and the way the monkey feels in those moments of panic and despair are felt in this! Nicely done:)

  • Beautiful story, David.

  • Karen Cave6 months ago

    Beautiful and heartbreaking. And as is evident from the lovely photo - a real monkey for a real human 😃

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    This was just adorable, and I was so happy it had a happy ending 😁

David BrandyWritten by David Brandy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.