Fiction logo

Missing - Movie Review

A Decent Film

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Introduction

Missing or searching it's missing searching is the movie that came out in 2018 cool so missing is a missing person film like the movie searching that came out in 2018. it stars storm read for about well I mean it starts her for 100 of the film but she is the one on screen for easily about 90% of the film and like the movie searching I just checked this this is going to bother you and I apologize for that I have gotten missing and searching mixed up in my head all day long I feel like it's just not gonna stop missing is formatted like the film searching where the entire investigation it's through screen shares and Screen recordings and apps which makes sense because directors Nicholas Johnson and will Merrick were editors on searching before I get to the execution of the film I will say storm read did an excellent job it's heartfelt it's emotional and she has to convey these emotions single-handedly to the audience she was excellent you don't have a lot of actors bouncing off of each other as I mean they do in the sense of Skype calls and whatnot or other FaceTime or phone apps that my old man energy ass doesn't I don't know about it has supporting actors in it but if she didn't stick The Landing the movie wouldn't have worked on the other hand if the investigation isn't interesting also if this movie wouldn't have worked it enthralled me to the point where I couldn't take my eyes off of the screen and then I was baffled that it was even that interesting I don't know why because missing was nope searching this is why I check 2018 searching was every bit as enthralling so I shouldn't be surprised that missing was as well and a lot of it is in the hands of the editing again the directors of this film were editors on Miss.. Missing ah searching the directors of missing were editors on searching and in both cases the editing is just it's actually quite incredible the editing the jumping in between apps when they're doing things that we all hate to do like recovering a missing password who likes doing that nobody but they either Fast Track through it or use it as there's a moment of humor in there it's just personality in the editing it makes the characters relatable and all we're seeing is what they are doing on a computer also she's typing she's texting someone trying to get information and there's that person is responding text on the bottom and it goes away and then it comes back and it just shows the pause that the person on the other end had.

Detailing

Moments like that make you feel like she is talking to a human being and you're thinking to yourself like did she freak him out are they going to give her bad information now it keeps attention alive it makes people we're not even seeing on camera feel human could have just had you know text come up and that was that but that wouldn't feel human got to give props for that the devil's in the details this is a film that thrives with detail and yeah the twist turns the mystery it keeps coming it keeps unraveling you're really watching this thing unfold you don't know what the next move is going to be she feels lost at times you feel lost because she feels lost but I watched an entire film of someone talking through an app and their screen recordings I was engaged the entire time there was a point in this film where I was like did this movie just jump the shark yeah I feel like it did give it a couple minutes and it makes sense it works itself out I don't tell you this as a critique I tell you this so when you're watching this movie you can be like what wait Jeremy said give it a couple minutes we'll see or you won't and you'll be like yeah he's wrong about that that's why I'm not subscribed to this guy I don't know if that's the case um thanks for checking this out but in the end I thought missing was great I'm surprised more movies horror or otherwise haven't used this format you know we never saw that true saturation of the market like we did with found footage you could use this format to show movies where people hunt for UFOs or investigate corrupt and crooked politicians you can do a hundred things with it felt like I gave Hollywood the green light like yeah you know the elevation of found foot yeah just go ahead and run that into the ground until you make complete and trash with it and people get sick of it and tell you to stop I'm just spitballing that's what I do I spitball and I ruined genres I thought this was an incredibly gripping and engaging mystery I was interested and I always wanted to see what happened next I had myself a great time no alcohol required.

Conclusion

The real mystery is the transformation of January it's been a pretty incredible month in terms of entertainment which makes me wonder in a world where everything has a price wins the ax gonna drop on this when are we gonna get this week's months-long dry spell?

I don't know but for now, this is a January of a different tune I like it so missing have you seen it what did you think about it what's the elevation of the found footage genre for you whatever it is whatever you think comment below to let me know.

Sci FiHorrorClassicalAdventure
1

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.