Fiction logo

FEAR - Movie Review

Are You Scared?

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Introduction

what is this like the 47th movie with the title fear I feel like they come out with a fear every couple of years I feel like I should have a 2023 fear 2023 movie review in the title of this I don't know if I will we'll see...

Plot

So fear is what happens when January has actually been really enjoyable in terms of entertainment you have that walking on eggshells feeling you're like we're gonna have to pay the pipe or hard for this thing eventually that is this week a week that looked pretty bone dry I was like what do I watch any meaning yeah sure that one the January horror film that had no press screening where I live me embargo lifted today none of this looks good so this is a low budget horror psychological Thriller film about a group of friends they come to this crickety-ass old hotel and this place is making them visualize the fear they're coming increasingly paranoid and then you see the concepts which could have been interesting before the end game bad CGI starts up now out the gate I will say this movie does feel like straight to DVD I say straight to DVD because this feels like a straight to DVD movie before Blu-rays were a thing you know 2003-2004.

Problem

The thing about this movie is the script it's the screenwriting it's the classic case of it feels like friends who are just sitting around they thought of really interesting or cool things that could be in a horror movie we've all done that with our friends because that's a really fun thing to do with your friends but if you're gonna execute it if you're gonna actually do it you have to take these Concepts and put them in a movie that works or you end up having what this movie is which the horror movie things that are going down are actually cool in concept but we're not looking at the concept we're looking at execution the execution..hmm. Right down to how the characters are acting with each other alone which is this dude because a drop of water on his head when he's sleeping he was like I'm gonna go into the attic and figure this thing out or you can call the front desk I mean granted probably wouldn't do you much good in this hotel but at least show the audience you're trying a film's job is to be a tour guide to guide the audience with the characters of the audience can actually buy or believe that the characters are acting and reacting in the way they are in the film now this dude's just kicking open doors in the Attic like hey I'm gonna figure this out I'm probably gonna run across some really sketchy rating material and some pictures to show the audience what's happening almost like I'm in a movie right it just comes across that way there's this weird coveted side plot in the movie tube which to be fair to the film it's never called covid it's just a variance which again on paper makes sense your film is about fear paranoia what can the audience relate to and yeah you're right the audience will be able to watch this and be like what the heck do you think I want to be taken there for my escapism horror film the audience knows about isolating social distancing and everything the characters in this movie were not doing in this movie TI's character might have the not covid variant he's in his hotel room his own hotel room alone in bed, doors closed we know that is isolating but all the characters in this movie were like all right he's isolated let's say we go get him and throw him into the basement so he can be isolated again! I know a scared group of people the theme of the entire film is fear and fear makes people act irrationally but I feel like in this case to be like yeah that scares the hell out of me but he's in his room for the time being so let's just leave him there let's I'm so afraid I'm not going to go near him the whole virus for the sake of fear and paranoia thing just it just felt awkward and out of place.

The Movie was much more interesting when it left that and then went on to focus on other people's demons that's where the movie thrived I'm using thrived very Loosely when the movie was at its best I'm using best Loosely it's when I saw the potential and then yeah at the end there's this weird swirly bad CGI monster thing it just doesn't look good.

Conclusion

look in the end there were a couple of ways people got dispatched when you actually see the fear going down what they see versus what's actually happening that was actually pretty cool giving credit for credits if you could have those moments in a script and in a film that worked that complimented it could have had ourselves a pretty badass time here this is a film actually I haven't said this too often I'm gonna go ahead and say it now this is a movie I hope gets remade there is something here in the concept the horror element in here it fell flat for me the psychological Thriller elements I actually did like again in concept I walked out of this movie knowing one thing that I'm not gonna remember in T minus one day yep! already forgot all right so fear you know what any of them any of the movies titled fear doesn't have to be this 2023 one what do you think of fear whatever you think comment below to let me know and as always if you like what you've seen here and you want to see more click right here to see more

Short StoryMysteryHorrorFan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.