Fiction logo

Misinterpreting

for RM Stockton's March Madness Challenge

By Heather HublerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
16
Created with NightCafeStudio

This piece of chat fiction was written for RM Stockton's March Madness Challenge! I did a slightly different take on the idea. This conversation just popped up in my head. Not sure what that says about my own state of madness, lol :)

~

Do you reckon I'm mad?

What do you mean, like angry?

No, I mean crazy. Off my rocker. You know...mad.

Well I dunno, are you?

I'm not sure. That's why I came to you, isn't it?

No need to get angry, mate. I see now why you asked.

I didn't ask if I was angry! For fuck's sake, never mind.

Now just calm down a minute. I forgot you changed the question.

I didn't change anything!

Well, I'm not going to respond until you get your temper under control.

Humpfffff.

That's it, let out all your frustrations. Breathe in. Breathe out.

Huh, that was actually quite helpful. Thanks.

No problem, mate. Now what was the other question you had?

For the love of all things holy, THERE WAS ONLY ONE QUESTION!!!

(Pointed staring and tapping of foot)

(Disbelief and internal swearing)

(Continued staring and silence)

Fine! I'll ask my other question...again. Do you reckon I'm mad?

What do you mean, like angry? Yeah, I think you are.

Well, this has been enlightening. So glad we had this chat.

Me too, cos I really think you could do with some therapy.

I'm leaving now.

Okay see ya, mate. Let me know how your anger counseling goes! I'm here for you, man.

(Middle finger salute, walking away)

Poor guy, he's lucky he has me to help sort things out.

____________________________________________________

That's all my crazy for today folks!!

HumorPsychologicalMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit7 days ago

    Great job congratulations

  • JBaz21 days ago

    Love the banter, I believe I may have had conversations like this in the past,(Or was it this morning with my wife?) this was funny and gave me the boost I needed today

  • I nearly snorted my tea out my nose reading this, Heather! Hilarious! Your 'state of madness' fits right in here! :D

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    This piece is hilarious! OMG so funny!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hahahahahahahhahaha this made me laugh so much! It was so relatable. I can see myself as the person who asked the question 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • What? I didn't say anything. I mean before that. What comes before anything? Not in the dictionary. Who said anything about a dictionary? You implied it when you stated that "what" comes before "anything". There are lots of words that come before "anything" in the dictionary, but "what" isn't one of them. Actually it does anytime it's used in part of a definition for any word that comes before "anything". It's true that "any" comes before "anything" but "anytime", while close, still doesn't come before it. Yes it does. What? Not what. It. "Anytime" comes before "it". What are you even talking about? I didn't say anything. You were the one who started in with "what". Are you sure about that? Not really. I'd have to go back to the beginning to figure it all out. BTW, What's on second. Who's on first.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Annoying, for sure!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Creative and humorous!!! Cleverly written!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    It seems the dude is the mad hatter here, yet are we not all mad in some way. All writers are mad, it stands to reason. Where else do the ideas emanate from, I ask?

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Okay, that was mad. And yes you are. That's why I love ya, you Nerd.

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    I talk to myself all the time but generally, I'm more supportive than accusatory. It reminds me of a quote from popular British comedy "Blackadder" where the hero of the piece states that he talks to himself as it is "the only way to guarantee sane conversation."

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I am losing it with you Heather; let's do an interview, a psycho-duet, a pirouette of madness! I will get out my old cassette player and you can play the shrink. That is, unless you want me to. Psycho rhyming quest que c'est? Background: Talking Heads bobbling in formaldehyde?

  • KJ Aartilaabout a month ago

    Oh! The poor Dude - with friends like that ... right???

  • Yep you are definitely insane Heather 😂🤣

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    bahahahahahahaahahahah. baguette. Loved it. Very clever and very insane lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.