Fiction logo

Mini Story Collection Part 3

Song titles made into stories part 3

By Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)Published 2 years ago 34 min read
Like

Foreword

The following is part three of three of a collection of mini-stories I have written to request songs to be played on the English-speaking program of Arirang Radio, Sound K. Sound K is a Korean hip-hop program that I have been listening to for almost four years at the time this has been published. Sound K is like a family, welcoming to all while being loving and encouraging to everyone. This collection is dedicated to all of the staff who works so hard to bring us the programming, DJ Ashley, the weekly guests who are still with the show as well as those who have gone to pursue other opportunities, and my fellow listeners. Every story is based on a song title, not the song itself and a few of the stories use actual names of people associated with Sound K. Each story is marked with the date it was requested and the song it is based on followed by the story. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed writing them, they have been touched up slightly for punctuation and spelling. If anyone is interested, you can tune into Sound K from 8 pm-10 pm Korean Standard Time (KST) daily via the Arirang radio app for mobile, Ariring Radio Youtube live stream, or channel 144 on Sirius XM. Arirang radio had programming running 24/7.

November 19th, 2021 Day By Day by T-ara

Sam sighed heavily, he wanted nothing more than to crawl into bed and hide for at least a week. Beth looked at him with a mixture of pity and contempt. "It's already been a month since Shelly dumped you, are you going to spend the rest of your life moping? That's why I dragged you out man, you gotta live a little!" Sam snorted as he replied "ya, live a little at a theme park! I will be alright Beth, thanks for sticking by my side." Beth smiled brightly as she teased him, "you couldn't get rid of me even if you wanted to. I'm like a bad penny and you're like gum on a shoe." Sam laughed, the first time in months. "I am going to pull out of this Beth, I promise. I just gotta take things day by day right now."

November 22nd, 2021 No Jam by Kisum

Parker's mom heard him in the kitchen, rattling things about when things got quiet for a couple of minutes. About to go check on him, she relaxed when the noise resumed. Parker wandered out of the kitchen a moment later, a sandwich in hand. "Is that a PB and J?" She asked with a smile. Parker grimaced, "no, just peanut butter. No jam, couldn't find any."

November 23rd, 2021 Hip by Mamamoo

Paul watched the college kids at the roller rink dancing to their favorite songs with enthusiastic rhythm. After an hour of sitting on the sidelines, he slide onto the dance floor and performed several out-of-date dances moves that made the kids laugh at him. Paul stopped in his tracks and feigned hurt. "What? Am I not hip or cool enough to chill with you homeboys?" He teased. The kids laughed harder, seeing through his act with ease, and offered to update his dance style. By the end of the night, Paul had learned 20 new moves and had made some new friends as well.

November 24th, 2021 Saturday Night by G.O.D.

George stepped out into the cool autumn air and breathed deeply. "Do you smell that gentlemen? Freedom! What shall we do first?" He asked spinning around to face his two friends. Clyde shuffled and feet, as he looked up the road and Roger, stared at George blankly. "I just wanna go, home dude! That make-up test was killer on my brain." George scoffed, "nonsense! It's a Saturday night and we are young! Let us have fun now and regret it later!" Clyde and Roger shared a look before waving George off. "You watch too many movies, you aren't Cary Elwes ya know!"

November 25th, 2021 Rumor by Kard

Penny looked left and right with wide eyes as she hurried to Bianca's side. "Girl! You won't believe what I just heard! Justin and Alexa were caught kissing behind the bleachers!" Bianca's eyes narrowed, suspicious and anger burning deeply in them. "Justin? My boyfriend, Justin?" Penny nodded, as Justin came around the corner. "Hey babe, how's it going?" He asked nonchalantly. Bianca turned to him, the anger within her boiling over. "I heard a rumor about you and Alexa, maybe you can explain later but right now I don't want to hear it!"

November 26th, 2021 The DJ Is Mine by The Wonder Girls

Raela twirled her finger in her hair, a dreamy look in her eyes. She took a long drink from her glass as she drank in the sight of the DJ spinning records and having a great time. "I need a man like that in my life. Tall, dark, and handsome with a great sense of music," she told the girl next to her at the bar. Tina turned, a smile on her face. "Oh yes, I highly recommend a DJ for a boyfriend. Just not this one, he is mine." With that, she got up and gave the DJ a big kiss before shooting Raela a scathing smile.

November 29th, 2021 Wish by Dreamnote

Tim lay under his blankets, his eye still stinging from the sucker punch the bully at school gave him. "I wish I were stronger." He whispered into the darkness as he drifted off to sleep. The young boy dreamt he was a giant, which he loved at first but as the dream went on the people he loved feared him. Tim sat up in bed, breathing hard and drenched in sweat. Maybe he wasn't the strongest or the biggest, but he had people who cared about him. Maybe that was better than any wish he could have thought of.

November 30th, 2021 Wash by Cherry Coke

I couldn't wait to get home, the grime of the day's activities had taken a toll. The day started with breakfast, then proceeded to a 5-kilometer hike through a forest. At one point, I tripped and fell into some muddy water. It was all worth it to stand here to take in the miraculous view of the twin waterfalls cascading down the jagged cliffs. Having had my fill of the view roughly 10 minutes after arriving, all I wanted was to go home and wash up.

December 1st, 2021 Dolphin by Oh My Girl

I stood on the edge of the cliff, watching the waves of the ocean crashing into themselves leaving white caps in their wake in the semi-darkness. The first rays of sunlight blinded me as the sun rose slowly over the horizon, I raised a hand to shield myself from the light. I stood in awe as a pod of dolphins swam and played their way through the sparkling waters. I raised my camera and snapped as many pictures as I could, even if I don't get the prime spot in the nature magazine this was still going to be a great story to tell other people about someday.

December 2nd, 2021 As Friends by Une

Chuck was waiting for me at the bus stop again as I approached, he is a nice enough guy but I don't have any feelings for him. It was painfully obvious he had thoughts of us being a couple, however, no matter how many times I rejected him. "Hey Yvonne, how's it going?" He asked as I drew closer. "Not bad Chuck, how are you?" I responded, looking up the street for the bus. "I'm good, I was wondering if you'd like to go to the Ladies' Code concert next week? I just happen to have two tickets," he tried so hard to be nonchalant about it, but he knew that was one of my favorite groups of all time. "Heck yeah, I wanna go!" I practically screamed with joy, then calmed myself enough to clarify "but only as friends. It's not a date!"

December 3rd, 2021 54 Reasons by Kik5o

I sighed heavily, I just couldn't shake the feeling that something was off here. "Hey, what's wrong, babe?" Henry asked me with concern etched into his expression. I sighed again before responding "I dunno. I can't put my finger on it. Can I ask you why you love me though?" Henry's expression darkened a bit at the question. "I could give you at least 54 reasons, but why would you ask that, Jill? Are you having second thoughts about us?" I shook my head wildly, "no! That's not it at all! I just take comfort in knowing that you have reasons to love someone as imperfect as I-" Henry cut me off with a deep kiss, when he finally pulled away he looked deep into my eyes and said "you are perfection. You are the best you that you have ever been, you will continue to grow, learn and change as time goes on but you will ALWAYS be perfect to me. It won't matter if you never mess something up or if you mess up everything you try. You are you, that is what makes you perfect."

December 6th, 2021 Crayon by G-Dragon

Harold raised his sword and shield, staring up at the massive gold dragon on its nest of shining gold. The dragon thumped a huge claw down and growled "well? Are you here to fight or not?" Harold stood perfectly still for a moment before responding can we be friends, Mr. Dragon?" The dragon reared back in laughter, "do you mean to tell me that you came up here just to ask me that?" Applause rang out from the classroom as the boy bowed with his crayon drawing in hand. "That was wonderful Harold, maybe we can hear the ending next week?"

December 7th, 2021 The Last Holiday by Ladies' Code

The party was in full swing, laughter rang out among the guests as Christmas music played gently in the background. People milled about the large room, eating, drinking, and dancing until a woman in a bright red dress walked to the front of the room with a champagne glass in hand. "Excuse me, could I have your attention, please? I want to thank every one of you for all of your hard work, but as I hate giving speeches I will finish by saying enjoy this, the last holiday of the year before we ring in the new year!"

December 8th, 2021 My Everything by Lena Park

Grace picked up the ringing telephone with a til greeting of her name and listened for a moment before the receiver slipped out of her numb hand She stared into space for a couple of seconds before grabbing her keys and heading straight to the hospital. The head nurse informed her that her husband was in room 204, that he had been struck by a car and was in critical condition. She walked into his room, fighting to hold back the tears as she looked upon the frail-looking man in the bandages upon the bed. Sinking to her knees beside the bed, Grace squeezed his hand tightly. "You can't leave me, Bert. You just can't. You're my everything, I would be lost without you." Grace couldn't hold back the tears any longer and they streamed down her face to fall upon his hand as she leaned forward to weep. A hand touched her head lightly, she looked up to find Bert staring at her, a smile on his bruised face. "You're my everything too, Gracie."

December 9th, 2021 Childish Adult by Gummy

Bob popped into the toy store, looking for his kids. He resisted the urge to look at the calendars, the blocks, even the miniature castle sets. Before he found his kids though, he found his greatest weakness. Three hours later, his agitated wife and grumbling kids found him in that toy store, still playing with the model trains. "Robert! What do you think you are doing?!" The lady hissed. "Playing with the trains. Do you think we have some room for them at the house?" Bob responded, so distracted that he didn't pick up on how upset his wife was. His oldest son shook his head, "You're in trouble now Dad, sometimes it's cool having a childish adult for a parent though. It lets us get away with more stuff!"

December 10th, 2021 The Moment by Lim Kim

I stopped mid-step, the church was decorated perfectly. Everyone knew exactly what they were supposed to do and when to do it, so why did I stop? I ran through the list in my brain a couple of dozen times, I checked each thing off every time. I proceeded to the front of the chapel, aware that I was being watched by everyone in the pews. The preacher gave the signal and everyone stood to face the doors. My bride-to-be stepped into the doorway, her white lace veil covering her face. Her white dress was adorned with silver pearls, she looked like she should be attending a coronation rather than a wedding. As she reached the steps and took my hand, I realized what had stopped me before. This was the moment that would mark the rest of our lives together.

December 13th, 2021 Dream by Joonand

I wandered through a forest of purple trees and rivers with pink water. The jade birds chirped merrily and the daffodils danced to the music they hummed. I followed the silver grass path to a tiny village, the height of the tallest building came up to my big toe. As I stood there wondering how I was going to talk to the people, the village began to grow into massive buildings that towered over me. An orange hippo stepped out and looked down at me, smiling. "Look what rolled up and decided to visit!" The hippo exclaimed brightly. He began to sing Answer by Ashley and I danced the choreography perfectly. I woke up, Answer still playing. "I should have known that was a dream, I don't know any dance moves!" I said with a laugh.

December 14th, 2021 Starry Night by BoA

I slipped out into the night, my breath visible in the crisp winter air. I walked without much thought, I just had to get away from the house for a while. After some time, I found myself in the park. I sat on a bench and looked up at the sky just as a cloud revealed the moon. Bathed in the light, I sat on the bench for a long while, drinking in the starry night before returning home.

December 15th, 2021 Home by Ailee featuring Yoonmirae

The airport was bustling as Ashley pulled up in the cab, but she expertly weaved her way through the crowds with her luggage in tow with a huge smile on her face. She was going home, finally, to be reunited with loved ones separated by oceans. She handed her ticket to the nice lady at the gate, settled into her seat for the long flight, and ordered a noodles cup. She didn't usually eat them, but the last time she flew home she passed it up and couldn't get one on her journey back. She didn't want to make that mistake again.

December 16th, 2021 Mafia In The Morning by Itzy

My life is boring. Every day is the same thing, wake up, go to work, come home to relax before going to bed to do it all over again. I crave adventure and excitement. Now I am lying in my bed, staring at the ceiling as I am contemplating the biggest decision of my life. Should I stick with my boring life or...? I nod to myself, my mind is made up. I roll over, flip off the light and settle down for sleep. I decided to go talk with the men in the mafia in the morning.

December 20th, 2021 Don't Forget About Me by Girl's Day

Paige stood up, her mind was made up. She turned to Polly, her childhood friend. "It's time to say goodbye, Polly," Paige told her, her voice cracking from the pain in her chest. Polly smiled sadly, tears welling up in her eyes. "I know, Paige. I am glad I could be there for you through all of the tough times, like when your parents got divorced or when your puppy ran away. It's natural though, for a child to outgrow their imaginary friend. Just please, don't forget about me?"

December 21st, 2021 No More Drama by Mamamoo

Molly and Karen glared at each other across the dinner table, the tension was super thick. Clearing his throat, their father Al demanded to know what was going on. "Karen borrowed my favorite sweater without my permission" Molly sneered. Karen rolled her eyes "I can't help that it looks better on me. Besides, you took my earrings." Molly started to retort but Al cut her off. "Enough! Karen, you are to return the sweater. Molly, you are to return the earrings. Both of you are to return anything else you took from the other and there is to be no more drama from here out. Is that understood?" Both girls stared down at their plates as they conceded to the demand.

December 22nd, 2021 Remember by S.E.S.

I stared blankly into space, trying hard to refocus on what I was doing. "Remember!" A voice whispered in my mind. Yes, remember, but what should I remember? I sighed as I leaned back and stared at the ceiling. "Remember!" The voice echoed through space and time, distorted and reverberating. Throughout the day, the voice told me to remember but I couldn't. I laid down to sleep when it seemed a voice whispered "remember" in my ear. I bolted straight up, wide-eyed. How could I forget? I picked up the phone and called my girlfriend, "happy birthday and anniversary!" I said as she answered the phone.

December 23rd, 2021 Chocolate by Max

"Welcome back to the Food Lover's Show ladies and gentlemen, didn't that lemon pepper chicken look divine? Speaking of looking divine, just wait until you see what we are preparing for dessert!" The sharp-dressed tv chef proclaimed brightly. "We have chocolate mousse, french silk pie, and brownies. Which shall we make first?"

December 24th, 2021 Come To Me by Cherry Filter

I sat up in bed, the stillness of the darkness was deafening. What had woken me up? I thought I heard a voice...."Come to me" there it was again, crystal clear, but twinkling like glass. "Come to me, child" the voice whispered again. Slipping out from under the covers, I crept out the door and down the hall towards the voice. When I reached the landing, I looked down at the front door and saw my departed grandma floating there. "You forgot to lock the door, quickly now, lock it!" She told me as she faded away. I ran down the stairs and flipped the lock just as a man's snarling face appeared in the small window, trying to look in. Police lights flooded the porch and the man was apprehended, "good thing your door was locked ma'am" the officer told me.

December 27th, 2021 Seoul Witch by Walrus

The old woman wrapped in a ragged shroud carefully walked down the street to an old apothecary. She chose a few ingredients and asked to use a pestle and mortar. The shop owner agreed, skeptical of her intentions as he watched her grind and herbs together. "What do you think you're doing?!" The shopkeeper demanded as she struck a match. "Becoming young again!" She laughed as she dropped the match into the bowl. The mixture burst into bright blue flames and the shopkeeper shielded his eyes from the blast. When he looked up again, a beautiful young woman stood in front of his mirror admiring herself. "Who...who are you?" He asked timidly. "I am the Seoul Witch," she flashed him a smile. "Thank you for your assistance, what do I owe you?"

December 28th, 2021 Savage by Aespa

A couple was hiking on a mountain, enjoying the crisp fall air. They decided to take a break next to a small stream, munching on granola bars and sipping water when a bear wandered into the area making a fuss. The bear was standing tall when a figure jumped in front of the bear yelling, waving a fish in front of its face, and tossed the fish over the bear's head. The bear lost interest in the humans and followed the thrown item back into the woods. "Th-thank you" stuttered the couple. Turning to them, the man grinned. "You're welcome. I hope the stories from the village didn't make me sound like some kind of savage," as he wandered back into the wilderness.

December 29th, 2021 Fly High by Budy

I soared over the clouds, weightless and free as the sun lit them up in golden radiance. I flipped over on my back and could feel the warmth as I slowed to drift there in the heavens. I slowly opened my eyes and knew with certainty it was time. My alarm on the table erupted in its annoying beeping and I sighed as I turned it off. "Good morning dear, sleep well?" My mom asked as I entered the kitchen. "I was having a dream where I could fly high in the sky, it was peaceful and beautiful but my alarm ruined it," I groaned. Mom smiled "that's too bad, school is important though!"

December 30th, 2021 Falling by Lim Kim

I opened my eyes, feeling the wind pushing against my head and shoulders. I tilted my head up, watching as the ground rushed towards me at an alarming rate. I smiled, there is plenty of time. I spread my arms and twisted my body to slow my descent as I began to dance in the air. It was exhilarating, to dance freely while I fell to my certain doom. A chirp from my watch interrupted my joy, I pulled my parachute string with a sigh. As I set down on my target, I looked at my director. "Did you get what you needed for the shot?" He nodded and smiled. "Yes, we did. However, if you wanted to have another go.." I didn't even wait for him to finish "YES!" I shouted as I ran towards the plane to jump again.

December 31st, 2021 Butterfly by Loona

I raced home from school, burst through the door, and charged up the stairs to my room where I dropped my book bag on the floor beside my desk. I crouched down to look into the jar with a cocoon inside, as I stared I could see movement from within. It was hatching, finally, after a very long week and a half. I took a seat and laid my chin down on my crossed arms to watch. A few minutes later, the butterfly rested on the shell flapping its new green and gold wings to dry them. I smiled, happy to have witnessed an event so beautiful.

January 3rd, 2022 Elvis by AOA

"You can't go," Holly's mother told her sternly. Holly stared at her mother with horror and protested "but Mom! It's the King! It's the first time in five years!" Her mother grabbed her apron strings to tie them together before starting to bake a pie. "I don't give a single hoot if Elvis Presley is here for his twentieth time, you can't go!" With a glance out the window, she confirmed her husband was mowing the lawn. "You can't go without ME and don't you dare breathe a WORD of it to your father!"

January 4th, 2022 Fantasy by Pink Fantasy

"Presenting, her royal majesty, princess Dahlia of Starland!" The steward declared loudly, tucking his trumpet under his arm as he bowed fluidly as she passed in a flowing gown of silvery white. Princess Dahlia walked straight up to her parents, who sat upon their thrones wearing looks of curiosity. "To what do we owe the pleasure, my dear?" The King asked perplexed. "I wish to go and live freely, your Highness." Dahlia declared. "I wish to leave the castle walls and travel the world to gain knowledge books can't offer." The Queen scoffed "I am truly sorry, but what fantasy world have you decided to live in this time? It is unbecoming of a lady to traipse around the world, as a lady of noble blood it is even less becoming. Request DENIED." The queen stated flatly. The princess fled the throne room in tears. Later that night, a messenger knocked on the door of her royal chambers. She handed the girl a tightly bound scroll and scampered off quickly. Puzzled, Dahlia unraveled the scroll and laughed in glee as she read "In the interest of what is best for this Kingdom and Your Royal Person, you have my permission to roam the world to your heart's content so long as you are accompanied by at least two royal guards in disguise. Live your 'Fantasy' as your Mother so brashly put it. Your loving Father, The King."

January 5th, 2022 Signal by Twice

Two women in black leather suits and dark sunglasses walked in sync up to the abandoned factory. They looked at each other, then at the door. "Are you ready for this, Cherie?" One asked the other. "Born ready, Gabby. Just remember the plan, you take the catwalk, I enter the front. When I signal, pounce." With a nod, Gabby went to take her position. Cherie walked into the darkened building a few moments later and found her target was engaged in a poker game. "What's this, then? Did you get lost, little girl?" One of the men sneered as he stood up. Cherie scoffed, "Lost? No. I heard there was a high stakes game here, but all I see is poor losers playing with their lunch money." She turned to leave when the mark called out "Oi! Why doncha put yer money where yer mouth is then?" With a smile, Cherie turned and took a seat at the makeshift table made from a giant wire spool. An hour later, all of the men were penniless and angry. "You cheated, somehow!" The ugliest man growled. Cherie shrugged and said calmly, "the wind blows hardest before the storm." The men wore looks of bewilderment at the statement as Gabby dropped behind them from above and quickly knocked them all out using pressure point blows before they even knew she was there. "Took your time, didn't you?" Gabby snarled. Cherie held up her hands in surrender "Sorry, sorry! I wanted revenge for the little girl crack. What better way than to take their money before handing them over to the authorities for their thieving ways?"

January 6th, 2022 Why Don't We by Rain

Darrel took a sip of his beer at the bar, looking at Suzanne as he carefully considered his next words. Suzanne raised an eyebrow and smiled. "What is it? What are you thinking of, silly man?" She teased. Darrel gently set his glass on the counter and turned back to his date. "Why don't we take a stroll over to the jukebox, select a song that will irritate the younger crowd, and show them what real dancing looks like?" He proposed. Motioning towards four twenty-somethings that looked like they were trying to imitate a monkey war party or something as they bounced along to the song they had selected he continued "we can't possibly be worse than them." Suzanne laughed, "we could. But why don't we take a walk down the boardwalk instead? It's a beautiful night and I would like nothing more than to stare at the stars with you."

January 7th, 2022 Flash by X1

I walked down the road, slightly tipsy as I headed home from the bar. I crashed into a garbage can, giggling slightly when a flash of light blinded me. When I could see again, three tall and slender figures stood before me, silhouettes against the light. They extended a hand towards me and my body froze, I was suddenly sober as my mind panicked at all the possibilities these creatures would do to me. The closest one touched a finger to my forehead and all of my fear vanished, a serene feeling took its place. "Fear not, child of man. We mean you no harm. We ran out of fuel for our vessel and require citric fruits to replenish our supplies." With a smile, I acquired the fruits they required and watched them fly off until they were but a twinkle in the sky.

January 10th, 2022 Hate You by Ladies' Code

Sam peeked from behind the curtains of the stage, growing more nervous with each passing second. Her family was sitting out there, waiting for her part in the school play. "Samantha, get ready, please. It's almost time for you to go on," her teacher whispered. Nodding, Sam picked up her prop and stood at the edge, waiting for her cue. "And who is this, but my daughter who comes to the betray me?" The boy dressed as a king proclaimed loudly, Sam's signal to enter the scene. Raising her rifle as if to shoot, Sam stepped out and proclaimed loudly "yes, father, 'tis I, your flesh and blood that has come to stand against your madness! For the past year, you have worked against your people to bring them misery and famine! The palace food reserves are overstuffed yet you do nothing to ease the suffering of the people! For this, I hate you father. For this, the people hate you. For this, you must be overthrown, be it by prison or by death!" The king stood silently at the proclamation, then uttered "so be it" as he reached for his pistol. Sam raised her rifle as fired, a spot of dark red burst forth as the paintball exploded on its mark for the dramatic effect and the king fell to his knees as the curtains dropped, signaling the end of act 3.

January 11th, 2022 Yes I Am by Mamamoo

Shay sauntered down the hall of her high school, feeling particularly proud of herself for telling Chad off for the way he was checking out other girls. It didn't bother her at all, but she had to make sure he knew who was the queen. Prom was only two weeks off and she was going to win, Shelly didn't stand a chance. Rounding a corner, Shay stopped dead in her tracks. She couldn't stop the look of disgust as she thought 'speak of the devil.' Shelly looked up from her conversation as if Shay had spoken out loud and walked straight up to her. After a moment of glaring at Shay, Shelly finally spat "what is your problem? I heard you are spreading rumors that I live in the sewer!" Shelly laughed, harsh and cruel, "how can you say that's a rumor if it's true? Now if you'll excuse me, I am going to be late for class." Shay smirked and walked away as Shelly yelled after her "do you know what you are? You are a real-" a locker slammed shut, cutting off the last words but Shay laughed, waved her hand in the air, and called back "Yes I am. Proud of it too, sweet cheeks!"

January 12th,2022 Doodle by Punchnello featuring Yerin Baek

Billy pressed his forehead against his bedroom window, watching the other kids in the neighborhood playing soccer in the cul-de-sac. Sighing, he pushed his wheelchair from the window over to his desk. Pulling out some paper and pencils, he decided to doodle. A couple of hours later, his mother came up behind him. "Are you doing ok, buddy?" Billy sighed, setting his pencils down. "I guess. I am mostly just bored, so I drew these pictures that show me playing before I broke my leg climbing that tree." His mom gave him a reassuring smile and left him to his art. Twenty minutes later, his dad came into the room and without a word picked Billy up and carried him down the stairs while he protested loudly. When his dad set him down in the living room, Billy found he was surrounded by his friends. Mark stepped forward and said "Hey Billy, how are you doing? I hope you ain't too mad, but there isn't enough room for us all in your room."

January 13th, 2022 Damaged Lady by Kara

Crystal sighed heavily, she was on a date for the first time in ages and completely failing. Greg was a great-looking guy, funny and intelligent but why was he interested in her? He had gone to the restroom, leaving her to these thoughts and she made up her mind. She took a sip of her drink as she saw him approaching the table. "Listen, Greg, I'm sorry. I feel like I am completely botching this date, I don't know why but I do. You're a great guy, but I need you to know that I have been in some seriously bad relationships in the past. I am a damaged lady so please, be gentle?" She pleaded with him, her eyes staring at her drink, not daring to look at him. For a long moment, Greg was silent. "Crystal, we all have baggage. I have three kids and two ex-wives. I was nervous to come out with you because I like you, a lot. We can take this relationship as slow as we need to, it's not a problem. I just want to enjoy your company, okay?" Crystal looked up, searching his face for any trace of lies. She couldn't find any, and smiled "I think I can do that."

January 14th, 2022 To My Boyfriend by Fin.K.L.

After her first date with Leo, Lily ran upstairs to her room and happily sat down at her desk as she grabbed a notebook and pen. A couple of hours passed and her sister Molly tapped lightly on her door. "Is everything OK, Lil? How was your date with Leo?" Molly asked apprehensively. Molly looked up from her writing, a dreamy look in her eyes. "My date was wonderful, Leo is wonderful, everything is wonderful," she sang, returning back to her book. "We met at the park, then we went to the carnival, he tried to win a stuffed bear for me but failed. It was cute, watching him beg for my forgiveness. After the carnival, we went to Frankie's for spaghetti where we split a giant meatball." Molly tried hard not to laugh at this crazy story but had to ask "if your date went so well, what are you doing now?" Lily looked up in surprise "I am writing a letter to my boyfriend, do you think a single notebook will be enough though?"

January 17th, 2022 Roller Coaster by Chungha

Hector bounced on his heels, trying to see over and around the other people in line for the greatest ride in the world. He had to beg his parents to permit him to come to the amusement park. He played a few games, rode the teacups, the Ferris wheel, and took a spin in the bumper cars. For the last hour, he has waited to ride the Mamba Rumba Grumba, the roller coaster with the fastest speeds and the most loops. The length was like a small town on its own. Twenty minutes later, Hector stepped off the roller coaster with his hair blown everywhere, wobbling legs, and a big smile on his face. His friend Megan happened to be passing by and spotted him. "Hey, Hector! How was the coaster?" She yelled. "Amazing! I am going again! As soon as the world stops spinning!" He yelled back.

January 18th, 2022 I Love You by EXID

Alice sighed as she leaned again the cracked gray wall outside of her apartment. It was a rough day, she had to pull a double at the hospital. There was nothing unusual about working double shifts as a nurse in an understaffed hospital, but today she had to deal with an irritable and violence-prone older lady for both shifts. The old lady had thrown bedpans at her head while cackling during the first shift and green jello at dinner during the second. With a groan, Alice pushed herself from the wall and unlocked the door. A strong scent of delicious food hit her first, followed by the sight of rose petals leading to the kitchen. Following the trail, she found Roger standing by the set dinner for dinner with a single rose in hand. "Welcome home," he said with a smile. "I thought you might like something a little different tonight since your job has you working so hard." Alice touched her cheek in shock, she didn't know what to say. She didn't feel like she deserved this wonderful man. "I love you," she said, the only thing she could manage.

January 19th, 2022 Shampoo by After School

Holly quickly shut the door of her house, closing her eyes and breathing a sigh of relief. It had been a very long week, she needed to relax. She opened her eyes and went to the kitchen, opened a bottle of wine, and poured herself a big glass. With the glass in hand, she wandered into her bathroom and turned on the steaming hot water. Grabbing the handle of the showerhead, Holly got her hair wet while giggling. She took another sip of wine as she reached for her favorite lavender shampoo. Flipping open the top, she inhaled deeply, allowing the scent to relax her mind on so many levels. Applying the shampoo to her hair, she left it to sit while she finished her wine. So much better than incense in her opinion.

January 20th,2022 Fall Asleep by Kik5o and Forever by Kik5o

Kim fell into her bed, super exhausted from her busy day preparing to interview for a top executive position. She fell asleep quickly, falling into a deep and restful sleep. She traveled through deserts with floating fireballs and ice fields with angry snowmen. Each time she got to a new land, something bigger and angrier tried to stop her from reaching her goal until she stood at a field of light and a towering shadow blocked the plain door behind it. "Why do you seek this door?" Rumbled the Shadow. "Wouldn't you rather just remain here forever?" Kim crossed her arms "no. I wish to go back to my life, busy as it is, it's mine. Everything I have I have worked for and a figment of my imagination isn't going to stop me from returning home." Kim broke into a run, heading straight for the door. The shadow stomped his foot in her path and she ran straight through, a piercing cold enveloped Kim but she open the door and stepped through to wake up. She had conquered her dreams, now it was time to conquer her reality.

January 21st, 2022 Garden In The Sky by BoA

Terry sat up slowly, looking around him. He sat on lush grass, pink and purple flowers swayed in the breeze. Standing up, Terry walked to a flower and smelled the sweet scent of the flowers. Exploring a bit, Terry saw roses, daffodils, lilacs, and other plants. It was a beautiful garden, but it was time to go home. He followed the path to the end of the garden and stopped in his tracks. "Beautiful view, isn't it?" A voice spoke behind him. "Truly breathtaking, just be sure to watch your step. It's a long way down, as you can see." Terry turned toward the speaker and saw a beautiful woman in a white robe. "Who are you and how did I get here? For that matter, what is this place?" The woman gazed at him with sharp eyes for a long moment before answering, "I am Raelyn, this is my garden in the sky and you aren't really here. You're dreaming, but this is all real. Would you like to visit me sometime so I can prove it?"

This concludes the final part of the mini-stories, my thanks to everyone who has supported me so far and those who will support me in the future. I am only able to write now because of the support and encouragement I received from Ashley, a fellow listener who became a friend, and a dear friend whom I have known longer than I have known Sound K. The smallest of actions or words can encourage and inspire people in a variety of ways. I will continue to write mini-stories for my song requests, compiling them for future reference. Perhaps more collections will be compiled and released, perhaps not. Only time will tell.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.