Fiction logo

Mine

It's not obsession, it's love...

By Isabella WalkerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The room darkens as she begins to collapse and I catch her falling into my arms. I know this feeling. I knew it was coming sooner or later. I know it’s the end. It's the last moment, the only moment, the one second that I wanted for so long.

I pull her now limp but warm body in close to me. My whole body loosens and I finally relax. I slowly fall to the ground, her gorgeous presence blessing my soul, giving me all the pleasure I had been dreaming of. I bask in the calm of this moment. Realizing I'll never get this again, I begin to smell the mesmerizing scent of her hair. I caress my fingers, which are covered in the dark substance that seems to be spreading along the floorboards, along her precious skin. Soft and beautiful, just as I’d imagined. Her body was everything I wanted. The main reason I started watching this beautiful soul, was because of how absolutely stunning she was. Even from across the street. And now, I finally got what I have been working for all of this time. Her in my arms.

All the planning, the protecting, the watching, it had all paid off for once. A smile appears softly on my face. Finally, I was able to feel as if my purpose had been fulfilled as I brush on her light pink cheek. The moonlight shining along her pristine body through the thin blinds made her look angelic. Almost as if this was her purpose too. As if maybe, just maybe, she was sent to me, my guardian angel as I watched over her. Ironic.

That fulfillment didn't last long.

My heart drops as the sirens begin to ring in my ears, bringing the sickening conclusion to light. My life is being pulled away from me.

Thoughts swirling, heart beginning to pace again, I keep a hold of her intending on keeping her in my arms forever. I pull her chin up so I can look deep into her hypnotizingly beautiful eyes. I wanted to feel like I’m falling into a never-ending ocean of murderously extraordinary love. But, her eyes are closed and always will be now. Instead, I try to kiss her delicate lips, hoping the moment would last forever, but knowing it could be the last. Shaking, I pull her gently away from my lips and look over my angel again.

I sit against the wall in the motionless room as the silence and sirens pound in my ears, the tears begin to flow. I can’t help but think all of this is unfair. I had her first. Anger starts to bubble. I could feel the heat of fury rising in my throat as I watch her lay on the floor next to me.

It wasn't supposed to happen this way. She wasn't supposed to be scared. She wasn't supposed to run upstairs, away from me. She was supposed to embrace me, love me, as I've loved her. That's what got her in this predicament. The fighting, the screaming, it wasn't supposed to happen this way.

That’s when I see them. Red and blue lights paint the walls around me, warning me of the dangers right outside. I stand. Heart pounding in my chest, I look at her glowing beauty and remember how much I have given up. How many days I have been right there, watching over her, protecting her, and loving her?

“Forever…” I whisper into the darkness, knowing there would be no answer but hoping that the world knows. We’ll be together forever. I pick her up, take a deep breath and walk to the edge of her balcony. This moment, this second, was all I wanted.

MysteryShort StoryLoveHumor
Like

About the Creator

Isabella Walker

Just a girl looking to get her foot in the door... i'm trying my best :) so if you're reading this, thank you! Check out what I have going on for me with my work. It's a slow start but it's something...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.