Fiction logo

Migraine

24th May, Story #146/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 29 days ago 3 min read
Migraine
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Every time I get a migraine, I know someone is going to die.

I know how that sounds, but I swear to you, it's true.

It happened again the other day. I walked out of the coffeeshop, macchiato in hand. Hurrying, because my train was already there. The woman in the pink silk scarf jostled against me. As soon as it happened, the headache hit me in a flash.

Headache is a weak word. It's agony.

The more it hurts initially, the sooner it's going to happen. Once, it lasted weeks. Don't hate me, but even when it didn't last that long, I've willed for them to die. Just to make it stop. I'm not a bad person; that's just how intense it is.

This one was really bad immediately, but no matter: it always gets worse, and builds to an unbearable crescendo. I'll vomit. I'll cry. I'll be unable to tolerate light. I've blacked out from the pain. I've lost my sight completely. I've wished to die.

Sometime shortly after it's got so bad I'm in bed in the dark, whimpering... I start seeing them. I watch their death on a loop, a hideous video inside my head. I can't escape. It's always horrible. A violent end; an attack or a gruesome accident.

If I saw that vision in the brief moment of contact, could I tell them? Would they believe me? Think me crazy? If they listened, would it help? I mean, yes, it'd help them. But would it help me? Or would I still suffer until they died? What if, thanks to me, they lived for decades...? Might my skull actually explode? It feels like it.

Another thing that makes the initial pain worse, is skin contact. The weather has been so warm, I couldn't wear gloves like I normally would. So the initial flash of pain was really awful, and I knew it was only going to get ten times, twenty times worse. I almost burst into tears on the spot.

So you see, Doctor, that's why I pushed her in front of the train.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +


Word count: (excluding author's note): 366


Submitted on: 24th May at 22.50


*Quick Author's Note*


First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.


If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to
share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 146 day streak since 1st January!


Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!


Rachel Deeming


Gerard DiLeo


Leave a comment: Please do leave me a comment. It makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read.

The story behind the story: I think, at their worst, migraines are so bad that if you could hit a button to make it stop, knowing someone (some random person you don't know) would die, you would.

Thank you

Thank you again, most especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed! 😁


+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Short StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Murali27 days ago

    This is completely surprised me!

  • This one was really intriguing. I kept thinking throughout that a migraine isn't a dream, but maybe the pain is kind of a nightmare and this story would be great for the 3 a.m. challenge. I don't think I'm a bad person, but I might give a shove, too, to make the pain stop.

  • Joe O’Connor28 days ago

    What a twist!!

  • Awww, that ending seems like something that I would do hehehehehehehe!

  • "Migraines" Haha. You are wonderful.

  • Mark Gagnon28 days ago

    I think your protagonist should find a work-from-home job and have all their deliveries left on the front porch. Great twist L.C.!

  • Caroline Craven28 days ago

    Dang L.C! Savage! Glad I’ve never suffered from migraines! I love this one.

  • Well-wrought! Ending like a punchline with emphasis on the punch! Oof! I suffered from migraines from my teens into my thirties. Only remedy was sleep. After I blacked out. However, I think if I would have known another would die if I hit that button I'd have to have offed myself instead. Well... depending on who that other was... there are some folks... like, to give the most cliche example: how supreme would one's satisfaction be to know they offed Hitler and rid themselves of a migraine at the same time?

  • John Cox28 days ago

    Shoulda, woulda, coulda seen that one screeching down the tracks. But where’s the fun in that? The Dead Zone on steroids. Great work, LC!

  • Cathy holmes28 days ago

    Oh damn. That ending though. 😬

  • Jeez! Well written LC! Dark on so many levels. Truly a terrible "Rock and Hard Place" story.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)29 days ago

    This is so great!! You had us feeling bad for the MC and then all of the sudden, the rug is pulled out and we lose that empathy!! Great work here LC!! I love what you did here!!

  • Matthew Fromm29 days ago

    Nice twist!!

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.